Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Barley malt vinegar extract in Kettle crisps - safe?


rarchy

Recommended Posts

rarchy Apprentice

Just wanted to see if you guys eat or avoid dried barley malt vinegar in crisps etc? I saw it was considered an allergen in the ingredients (http://www.kettlefoods.co.uk/our-hand-cooked-chips/kettle-chips/flavour/sea-salt-and-balsamic-vinegar/ingredients/) and so assumed it should be avoided, however I have since read conflicting information including on Coeliac UK's website - https://www.coeliac.org.uk/frequently-asked-questions/can-i-eat-barley-malt-vinegar/ 

In fact those crisps in question are on Coeliac UKs suitable to eat list in their food directory!

It seems very strange that the general advice is to not eat food such as Walkers crisps which don't even necessarily contain gluten but just have the warning "Made in the same factory as....", but something which actually contains gluten is apparently safe? 

Thoughts?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Ennis-TX Grand Master

We always say check the ingredients, even if it used to be gluten-free manufactures constantly change the recipe and you have to check the ingredient list on foods to be sure. I think that might be the case of why you find the product on the suitable list. Here in the US anything with barley extract or barley malt is not considered gluten-free. We have had multiple cases in the past year of companies trying to label products gluten-free that contain those. These are normally called out by consumers or groups like Gluten Free Watch dog who contact the proper people to have said products pulled from the shelves.

 

rarchy Apprentice

Hi Ennis, thanks for the reply. I don't think they have changed the ingredients, as far as I know the barley malt vinegar has always been there, and the Coeliac UK list is pretty up to date I believe. Its weird as Coeliac Uk actually say on their website that barley malt vinegar is ok! I will give it a miss if this is what others do, best not to take the risk. 

Jmg Mentor
6 minutes ago, rarchy said:

Its weird as Coeliac Uk actually say on their website that barley malt vinegar is ok! I will give it a miss if this is what others do, best not to take the risk. 

Coeliac UK occasionally strike a controversial note. I often saw arguments online about recommendations. I think they're generally guided by the prevailing science. 

My barley malt story is that I joined CUK and the guide became my Bible in the first months on the diet. One item on there was Aldi cornflakes, I like Aldi and some months later I saw them and decided to have them even though they listed barley malt on the box. I felt weird eating something with the forbidden ingredient but they were on the safe list so....

Within a few days I get a very itchy rash on my elbows. It's driving me mad and I put two and two together, the damned cornflakes!  I bin them and the rash luckily goes quickly. I check and on the new guide list the cornflakes have gone. Maybe they changed their recipe or maybe they should never have been listed in first place...

So although there's advice out there that barley malt levels in some cereals are low enough to tolerate I will never again risk it. Others may have a different view.

I would never have barley malt vinegar in liquid form. Thats definitely a problem. There are also salt and vinegar crisps out there without the barley in, I look for the cider vinegar ones although you still have to check the ingredients. With Kettle I eat the salted ones and not the salt and vinegar. 

rarchy Apprentice

Thanks thats good to know, I did think some of what Coeliac UK said seemed to contrast with actual celiacs and their experiences. I am definitely going to stay on the stricter side. 

I have their food guide in printed form and the app, but to be honest I have just been checking the ingredients of whatever I buy, like we discussed my other post if it mentions "may contain..."  etc I will avoid. I am trying to eat less processed food now anyway so that makes it easier. 

In fact I kind of wonder what purpose the guide serves seeing as allergens have to be listed in ingredients (I know this wasn't the case pre-2014), isn't it just easiest to look at the ingredients that check a book/app each time, or is it because the foods in there are safe for cross contamination? 

  • 2 years later...
Ems67 Newbie

Hi

Just saw this post and wanted to add to it. 

Yesterday I had a packet of the Kettle salt and vinegar crisps

Ended up with blood blisters in my mouth which is my reaction to anything gluten as well as bleeding gums when I clean my teeth

So lesson learnt!!!

 

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,794
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    MarciO
    Newest Member
    MarciO
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...