Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Crafted to remove gluten


Jeff A

Recommended Posts

Jeff A Newbie

I'm very recently diagnosed with celiac, and am trying to navigate what I can and cannot consume.  I am curious about Daura Damm beer that states it is crafted to remove gluten, and is still made with wheat.  Anyone know if the claims that it's crafted to remove gluten means it is safe to drink? Thanks in advance. 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master
47 minutes ago, Jeff A said:

I'm very recently diagnosed with celiac, and am trying to navigate what I can and cannot consume.  I am curious about Daura Damm beer that states it is crafted to remove gluten, and is still made with wheat.  Anyone know if the claims that it's crafted to remove gluten means it is safe to drink? Thanks in advance. 

Maybe....maybe not.  I won't drink them.  The main problem is the method used to test for gluten in the beer.  I don't believe any of these beers are actually made with wheat.  It isn't the barley in all beers and malt beverages, that is the gluten issue.  A few beers also have wheat.

 

Open Original Shared Link

Victoria1234 Experienced

There is a whole discussion of Daura here with ppl weighing in both yay and nay. 

 

Awol cast iron stomach Experienced

I don't personally drink it. I am unable to drink alcohol of any kind since my gluten challenge. My husband who is NOT celiac drinks this since my illness sensitivy has made us a completely gluten free home. He tried many Beers gluten-free sorghum based or gluten removed. He enjoys Daura the best. The gluten removed he reports taste better. 

It does smell good to me, but I would not personally try it. My body seems to have a heightened sensitivity to the smell of things I'm sensitive to so this leads me to believe I should not try it. Beer is one of the things I don't miss or crave and pre enlightenment beer use to cause so much urinary output it exceeded what I took in. I now know this to be one of my many symptoms of cc for gluten or another food Intolerant reaction/exposure.

I hope you are able to find something that meets your needs. I would suggest start with the gluten-free not sourced from gluten grain especially while healing then decide if you want to try a gluten removed beer. The GR are perfect for spouses like my husband a victim of my illness to imbibe, but still uphold the gluten free home rules. You may find you don't miss it or crave it. Your body may pick another drink like cider instead. Whatever you pick drink one for me. Good luck on healing and welcome.

 

kareng Grand Master

I am not sure where you live.  there are some gluten-free beers made more like regular beers.  They are not available every where.  Some you can mail order.  

 

The sorghum based gluten-free beers are the most widely available.  They take a little getting used to as they are a bit sweet.  

 

 

Some gluten-free beers hat are not sorghum based, that I know about -

Martin City Yoga Pants

Ghostfish brewery (available on-line and in the Seattle area)

Glutenberg

New Planet (they have gluten-free removed, too)

Ground Breaker

Green's

Dogfish

Holiday

 

There are probably a few more.  These are just the ones I have seen and tried that are not sorghum based

Ennis-TX Grand Master

Stick to ciders (I have sipped a few good apple and honey ones that are gluten-free labeled the harder ones taste like beer), gluten free vodkas, tequila, and my personal ones I cook and keep in my house rums. Gluten removed beers are a HUGE iffy with people hell some people are even reacting to distilled liquors made from wheat. Play it safe and stay away from anything made with wheat barley or rye. You can make a ton of mixers with a good rum, vodka, or tequila. Watch out for flavored ones and make sure the vodka is non gluten grain based.   I personally used to enjoy a nice shot of rum in a root beer, cola, or orange soda every Friday night back in the day.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,789
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Virogirl
    Newest Member
    Virogirl
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
    • Manaan2
      I realize I'm super late in the game regarding this topic but in case anyone is still reading/commenting on this one-does anyone who is especially sensitive have their personal observations to share regarding Primal Kitchen brand?  My daughter was diagnosed almost 2 years ago with celiac and within 6 months, her follow up labs were normal and a year later vitamin levels significantly improving, but we are still battling GI symptoms; particularly, constipation, so much that she has been on MiraLax every day since she was 3.  We've managed to get her down to a half cap every other day but without that, she continues to have issues (when she has a known, accidental ingestion unfortunately it takes a lot more MiraLax and additional laxatives to help her).  I was searching for something else and found this and am wondering if anyone has any specific comments regarding Primal Kitchen.  I feel like we are so incredibly careful with diet, logging diet and symptoms to look for patterns (we've had multiple dieticians help with this piece as well), not eating out, contacting companies and of course, there is always room for improvement but I'm running out of ideas regarding where her issues could be coming from.  Even if the Primal Kitchen is contributing, I'm sure it's not the only thing contributing but I can't help but think there must be handful of things that are working together and against her.  The ingredients list distilled white vinegar, but also white wine vinegar and balsamic, then "spices" which I'm always cautious about.  However, after contacting the company, I felt more comfortable allowing her to consume their products but over time I've realized that the front-line customer service support people don't always provide the most accurate of information.  Thanks for reading to anyone that does.   
×
×
  • Create New...