This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Do I need the biopsy?

lngmk

lngmk Newbie

Hi, Total newbie here so please excuse my lack of knowledge on the subject. I have been anemic and suffered from debilitating, chronic migraines for 16 years among many other symptoms. My doctor just did bloodwork to check for celiac and the ttg came back at 54.4 (my lab papers say normal is <12). She now wants to send me for a biopsy and when I asked if that was really necessary, she said 'welllllll, I'd hate to miss a cancer'. So, my question is - do I really need to do it? I went gluten free immediately after getting results and feel SO much better in only a week. The thought of going back on gluten and facing those migraines again feels very defeating. Thank you very any insight or advice you can provide. 

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Ennis-TX Grand Master

Yes, get the scope, if you have only been off it a week the rebound should not bee that bad, off it for a few months and it will be unbearable. The scope and biopsy is the golden standard for diagnosing celiac disease. Having the dia will mean a whole lot later on in life in case of emergencies having it in the medical records is nice, prove to your self and family, government help, etc.  The blood test is iffy and can often miss the disease with a false negative. EVEN if you do test negative on the endoscope you can still go gluten-free and I would even suggest it. If you do not have celiac disease you could still have NCGS which can not be really properly diagnosed at this point in time.