Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Different types of Soy ingredients


Scarlettsdad

Recommended Posts

Scarlettsdad Contributor

Are all soy ingredients similar when it comes to allergies? In other words, if you are allergic to soy, would you react to all types of soy?..ex)soy lecithin, defatted soy flour, etc? I'm asking because my daughter doesn't react to those 2 types of soy(defatted soy flour is found in kinnikinnik's gluten-free pancake mix and soy lecithin in other types of gluten-free food), so would it be safe to have her try foods that have other forms of soy? ex) soy protein. Excuse me if these questions seem silly or have obvious answers but I'm still somewhat new to what to look out for and learning every day! :)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



RMJ Mentor

True allergies are usually to proteins.  Lecithin would have a lot less protein than soy flour.  Does your daughter have a diagnosed soy allergy?

ravenwoodglass Mentor

I am okay with lecithin and can have limited amounts of soy oil, like in mayo. Soy protein or flour definately not okay. If you want to test soy protein or flour have her try them one at a time a couple times a day for a week or until she reacts if she reacts sooner.  Try them in items that have limited ingredients that you already know she tolerates.

apprehensiveengineer Community Regular

I have a true soy allergy (mouth and throat begin to itch immediately upon ingestion, positive skin prick test). I personally avoid soy lecithin, although I know that it should not contain any protein, which is the part that people with allergies react to. I don't worry about soybean oil (which can be labelled as vegetable oil in Canada) as much, though I avoid where possible. To be honest though, the ingredient that gives me the most chagrin is the dreaded "natural flavours." I stay away from it even in gluten-free labelled products unless I specific disclaimer is made, which is a biiig bummer.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,750
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Ajustice
    Newest Member
    Ajustice
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I agree with @RMJ, you have multiple positive tests so celiac disease is likely.  This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease.     
    • trents
      One small study found that 50% of celiacs react to the dairy protein "casein" like they do to gluten. It is also common for celiacs to be lactose (the sugar in milk) intolerant, though that often disappears in time as the villi heal. About 10% of celiacs react to the oat protein "avenin" like they do gluten.
    • K6315
      Thank you so much Trents (Scott?)! I have started working with a dietitian and did a deep research dive as soon as I got the diagnosis. I am aware of what you mentioned in the first two paragraphs, and was not aware of anything in the third, so I am grateful for that information, and will talk to the dietitian about that. I think I was most interested in the withdrawal process - it gives me hope that, although I have felt unwell recently, I just need to be patient (not a strong suit). I have printed the article you sent and will look at it more closely. Thanks again!
    • Sandi20
      I really like Thorne!  I've researched thier products.  Thank you so much.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @K6315! Gluten withdrawal typically lasts for a period of a few weeks. But there is a real learning curve involved in actually attaining to a gluten free dietary state. Much more is involved than just cutting out major sources of gluten such as bread and pasta. It's all the places that gluten is hidden in the food supply that is difficult to ferret out, like soy sauce and canned tomato soup, canned chili and canned pork n' beans, some "lite" pancake syrups, potato salad, flavorings, etc., etc. Gluten-containing grain products are hidden through alternate terminology and found in places you would never expect.  There is also "cross contamination" where naturally gluten free foods come into contact with gluten-containing grains during farming, transportation, storage and manufacturing processes. Then there is the issue of "cross reactivity" whereby you may be having gluten-like reaction to food proteins whose structure is similar to gluten. Chief among these are dairy, oats (even gluten-free oats), soy, corn and eggs. I am including this article that you might find helpful:   
×
×
  • Create New...