Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Mayo, mustards, condiments...gluten-free or not? Less is more...


Sassinograin

Recommended Posts

Sassinograin Newbie

All ingredients should be specific & known....less is more. 

Unless labeled, 'vinegar' comes from grains, Period!!!  Distilled, white, even organic, come from grains...NOT gluten-free!!! If notated, apple cider, wine, some balsamics,..specifically labeled, are truly gluten-free. Many are allergic to soy as well; most mayos have soy oil as 1st & most prevalent ingredient. Soy also destroys your thyroid.

Also, when you see "SPICES" on the label, these should also be considered gluten, as they are too vague to know for sure.

I was diagnosed in '08 w/  gluten/dairy intolerance & did well but off & on would get off track. Lots of research years later...i found many little idiosyncracies in this challenging but very doable journey I call 'happy core, happy more'. I'm not much of a blogger, but if i can help people to have less misery & clearer thinking, we all win:D


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



psawyer Proficient

And the best way to keep safe is to avoid incorrect information.

In the US and Canada, vinegar is gluten-free with the sole exception of malt vinegar, which will be listed as exactly that, "malt vinegar." Plain "vinegar" is apple cider vinegar, which may or may not be distilled.

There are many things that can be listed as "spices," but NONE of them are grains. "Spices" can not be used to hide gluten.

Ennis-TX Grand Master

I use Sir Kensingtons, Coconut Secret, and OrganicVille condiments in my cooking and chef work (I do specialty chef work cooking gluten free meals for people) both are all gluten free. Spice wise I mostly use Spicely Organics, with the exceptions of personal use I sometimes use The Spice House Sausage blends and tomato powder, And I have blends from Big AXE and Flavor God in my meal prep kit I take when I head out of town.

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

My most recent culinary masterpiece was making vegan chorizo that was so dead on in texture, flavor, and cooking that NO one in the focus groups could tell it was not made from real meat.

 

kareng Grand Master
1 hour ago, Sassinograin said:

All ingredients should be specific & known....less is more. 

Unless labeled, 'vinegar' comes from grains, Period!!!  Distilled, white, even organic, come from grains...NOT gluten-free!!! If notated, apple cider, wine, some balsamics,..specifically labeled, are truly gluten-free. Many are allergic to soy as well; most mayos have soy oil as 1st & most prevalent ingredient. Soy also destroys your thyroid.

Also, when you see "SPICES" on the label, these should also be considered gluten, as they are too vague to know for sure.

I was diagnosed in '08 w/  gluten/dairy intolerance & did well but off & on would get off track. Lots of research years later...i found many little idiosyncracies in this challenging but very doable journey I call 'happy core, happy more'. I'm not much of a blogger, but if i can help people to have less misery & clearer thinking, we all win:D

I think Peter said I think well.

 

also - people with Celiac do not have to avoid all grains.  People with Celaic do not need to avoid soy, either.  

Awol cast iron stomach Experienced

Awol has problems with white distilled vinegar even in the small amounts in gluten free condiments. To my knowledge this only began after my gluten challenge in Oct 2016. It is not gluten so not a celiac gluten issue. I now skip or make my own condiments since the white distilled vinegar is revealing itself to be the culprit. It is likely unique to me versus celiac's per say so not all celiac's would have this issue. I have multiple intolerance's now. Even after I dropped store bought condiments it further revealed itself when I made home made salad dressing with white distilled vinegar in it. Hence how we deduced my issue distilled white vinegar issue.

I now make my salad dressings, I often skip condiments, and if I really desire a condiment it is made fresh homemade with apple cider vinegar and my body seems to be tolerating it.

So for those who have no issues with vinegar or condiments that is awesome. Those who are experiencing problems you will have to drop the condiment and determine by single ingredient, controlled exposure, food diary, symptom observation etc to determine your culprit.

I don't wish it on anyone its not a a fun experience, but in my opinion one can have a reaction to gluten free condiments from distilled white vinegar its your body communicating an intolerance to another ingredient one of which may be distilled white vinegar.

Happy experimenting-(said with complete and total sarcasm and great empathy)

Edit : links some current or future forum users may find helpful on this topic

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,665
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Spygirl008
    Newest Member
    Spygirl008
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Rebeccaj
      glutened peoples experience ?via flour airbourne.
    • eKatherine
      Keep in mind that you might also have a dietary sensitivity to something else. Get into the habit of reading ingredients lists.
    • BoiseNic
      I would avoid gluten at all cost. Sometimes there will be no noticeable damage, but it is still causing an autoimmune response that will manifest in some way or another eventually. Throwing up from a macaroon sounds like something other than celiac disease also.
    • pplewis3d
      Thanks, Scott! I appreciate you looking that up for me. Perhaps that will be good enough for someone but not for me...super sensitive dermatitis herpetiformis here. I don't take any chances that I can avoid. ~Pam
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, Liamclarke! We have reports from time to time of people whose celiac disease seems to go into remission. Often, however, it doesn't last. There is also the question of whether or not symptoms or lack of them tell the whole story. Many of us are "silent" celiacs who have very minor or no symptoms when consuming gluten yet slow, insidious damage is still going on in the gut. The only way to tell for sure in your case would be to be retested after going back on gluten for a period of weeks or months such that sufficient time has elapsed for antibody levels in the blood to build up to detectable levels. And I would certainly advise you to do that and not take anything for granted.
×
×
  • Create New...