Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

ready food


Melda

Recommended Posts

Melda Newbie

Hi I'm a newbie

please help me to get info, are these food gluten free?

1. nutella

2. skippy peanut butter

3. soy sauce containing only black soy bean, salt, sugar, and water

4. maple syrup

5. fresh minced beef

thanks 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



cyclinglady Grand Master

Welcome!  

Here is a link to our Newbie 101 thread that you might find useful.  

I can only comment on those foods that I have in my home or have purchased.

1.  Nutella is and it states it in the label.

2.  Skippy PB is gluten-free (not stated, but ingrediants are).

3.  Soy sauce.  It should state it on the label as gluten free or do not eat it.   Most soy sauce is NOT gluten free as it contains wheat.  

4.  Maple syrup is gluten-free if it is pure (only one ingrediant).  Otherwise read the ingredients.

5.  Fresh minced meat should be gluten-free if you prepared and cross contamination did not occur in your kitchen (e.g. Pot, cutting board, etc.).  Not sure if this is a canned product.

Bottom line is that you have to read labels carefully.  In the beginning it is best to eat fresh foo you prepared.  The. Add in processed food as you learn to read labels and determine if you have other intolerances to foods other than gluten (very common for celiacs or NCGI).  

Jmg Mentor

You may find these articles useful also:

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/forbidden-gluten-food-list-unsafe-ingredients-r182/

Ennis-TX Grand Master

https://www.celiac.com/forums/topic/91878-newbie-info-101/

^Newbie 101 section PS you are diagnosed celiac right? Sorry but a standard question as you should get the diagnosis out of the way before going gluten-free.
https://www.celiac.com/forums/topic/117090-gluten-free-food-alternatives-list/

^ Have a nice list of food alternatives, including condiments. NOTE we suggest a whole foods only diet starting off to boost healing. Also we suggest dropping anything with oats or dairy for the first few months. Oats some celiacs react to regardless of gluten-free or not, Dairy is broken down by enzymes produced by the tips of your villi, if your celiac these are normally damaged and cause digestion issues or intolerance to dairy.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,795
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kiwi86
    Newest Member
    Kiwi86
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...