Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Kraft Salad Dressings


AN616

Recommended Posts

AN616 Rookie

Ok so I know Kraft is a gluten free company but on some of the stuff particularly the salad dressings it says modified food startch and it does not say wheat or corn or anything. Am I to assume it is ok to eat? I know a lot of you guys use Kraft products so I figure someone may have eaten it already. Thanks!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



tarnalberry Community Regular

Kraft will label any ambiguous ingredient if it has gluten. So, if the modified food starch was made from wheat, the ingredient would say modified wheat starch. If an item could be ambiguous, and does not specify that it came from a gluten containing grain, it's gluten free.

AN616 Rookie

Thanks for the reply, that's what I thought but just needed someone else to tell me

Bee Free Newbie

If you check Kraft's website, they have a whole explanation of how they mark their foods. I thought it was very helpful information! Hope this helps!

Bee Free

psawyer Proficient

Kraft will clealy disclose gluten sources in simple language. If there is gluten, you will see one of the following words: Wheat, Barley, Rye, or Oats. Spelt and Triticale will be described as wheat, of which they are a form.

There are many other manufacturers with this policy. Several lists have been posted here, so I won't clutter the board with another copy, but if you can't find it send me a message and I will send it to you.

Kailynsmom Apprentice

Cheers for KRAFT! They are probably one of the best companies. When I called regarding a product, not only did the lady take the time to explain the ingredients and their labeling- allergy policies. SHe even sent me a pamphlet explaining how to read their labels for allergy info and it included a list of gluten-free Kraft products.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,751
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Alison A
    Newest Member
    Alison A
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I agree with @RMJ, you have multiple positive tests so celiac disease is likely.  This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease.     
    • trents
      One small study found that 50% of celiacs react to the dairy protein "casein" like they do to gluten. It is also common for celiacs to be lactose (the sugar in milk) intolerant, though that often disappears in time as the villi heal. About 10% of celiacs react to the oat protein "avenin" like they do gluten.
    • K6315
      Thank you so much Trents (Scott?)! I have started working with a dietitian and did a deep research dive as soon as I got the diagnosis. I am aware of what you mentioned in the first two paragraphs, and was not aware of anything in the third, so I am grateful for that information, and will talk to the dietitian about that. I think I was most interested in the withdrawal process - it gives me hope that, although I have felt unwell recently, I just need to be patient (not a strong suit). I have printed the article you sent and will look at it more closely. Thanks again!
    • Sandi20
      I really like Thorne!  I've researched thier products.  Thank you so much.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @K6315! Gluten withdrawal typically lasts for a period of a few weeks. But there is a real learning curve involved in actually attaining to a gluten free dietary state. Much more is involved than just cutting out major sources of gluten such as bread and pasta. It's all the places that gluten is hidden in the food supply that is difficult to ferret out, like soy sauce and canned tomato soup, canned chili and canned pork n' beans, some "lite" pancake syrups, potato salad, flavorings, etc., etc. Gluten-containing grain products are hidden through alternate terminology and found in places you would never expect.  There is also "cross contamination" where naturally gluten free foods come into contact with gluten-containing grains during farming, transportation, storage and manufacturing processes. Then there is the issue of "cross reactivity" whereby you may be having gluten-like reaction to food proteins whose structure is similar to gluten. Chief among these are dairy, oats (even gluten-free oats), soy, corn and eggs. I am including this article that you might find helpful:   
×
×
  • Create New...