Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Underwood Deviled Ham spread


LilyR

Recommended Posts

LilyR Rising Star

Hi there. I was wondering if anyone here eats Underwood Devil Ham?  I saw some articles online that make it sound like it's gluten-free, but I emailed the company and this is what they said:

"Thank you for taking the time to contact us at Underwood. We always appreciate hearing from our consumers who reach out to us with their comments and questions.We have not analyzed our Underwood products for gluten content and it is possible the ingredients in these products may have come into contact with gluten-containing products prior to manufacturing. Moreover, the product may be manufactured on the same lines as products that contain gluten."

So they don't claim to be gluten-free, but some people online seem to use it.  I was curious if anyone here ever eats it with success?  There is a dip we sometimes make at holidays using the deviled ham, so I was wondering if I dare try it or not. 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Victoria1234 Experienced

Omg I used to love that stuff. What's the dip it goes into?? I may have had it in the last 10 years but not sure. Hopefully someone here will have had it!

LilyR Rising Star

I will go dig out the recipe later and post it. I only have a few minutes online and then I'm heading to a dr's appt.  The dip has cream cheese, red and green peppers chopped up, stuff like that.  My family loves it.  My issue is about whether the deviled ham is gluten-free, and also finding gluten-free crackers.  Some gluten-free products like that bother me with corn or brown rice flour or other ingredients.  My stomach pain has gone away since no longer eating gluten, but I get bad bloat a lot still.  I was going to try the Blue Diamond crackers, but haven't checked their ingredients  yet.  I'm trying to figure out some holiday munchies with no gluten. It sounds like the ingredients in the deviled ham might not have gluten, but they might not be guarenteeing it as gluten-free, maybe possible cross contamination in factories?  I'd love to hear if anyone here eats it and is okay.  If you look up online if it's gluten free, some articles pop up by people saying they eat it.  I just would love personal feedback if possible.  I am not sure if I dare try it.  

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,795
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kiwi86
    Newest Member
    Kiwi86
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...