Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Drinks at the bars?


Celiac4762

Recommended Posts

Celiac4762 Apprentice

Hey guys, does anyone have any go-to drinks they get at most bars that are pretty much always gluten free? I'm having a tough time ordering when I'm out with my friends. I don't ever know what's safe, and asking the bartender EXACTLY what's in each drink is kind of a pain. 

Ill probably still always ask, but it would be nice to have a small handful of drinks that I can rely on.

 

preferably things without caffeine or dairy.

 

let me know what you think!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Zodi1993 Apprentice

Anything using Tito’s vodka. Most places carry it so it’s my daughters go to drink. Also Angry Orchard cider is a good choice. She often brings her own when it’s applicable. Better safe than sick. 

Ennis-TX Grand Master
4 hours ago, Celiac4762 said:

Hey guys, does anyone have any go-to drinks they get at most bars that are pretty much always gluten free? I'm having a tough time ordering when I'm out with my friends. I don't ever know what's safe, and asking the bartender EXACTLY what's in each drink is kind of a pain. 

Ill probably still always ask, but it would be nice to have a small handful of drinks that I can rely on.

 

preferably things without caffeine or dairy.

 

let me know what you think!

While Most Hard Liqours are gluten free due to the distilling process these are ones I have contacted the company on.
Open Original Shared Link
^Local cider here in Texas, I keep these for guest, good alternative to the "Beer Can Chicken"

Open Original Shared Link
^Suggested by someone else I was talking to

Open Original Shared Link
^Old Staple for many and company says they are gluten free

Open Original Shared Link
^I use this in cooking, goes great finishing off veggie saute

Open Original Shared Link
^Corn Based Vodka

Open Original Shared Link
^Grape Based Vodka

Rums are all made with molasses so most are OK just be careful of flavored ones.

PS a issue in bars is the glasses.....during rush time they are not even going to be cleaned right but just rinsed/sanitized. This does not remove gluten.....Call before hand and see if you can bring your own cup or get it in a disposable.

Celiac4762 Apprentice

I know which alcohols are gluten free. I haven't really had a problem with that. My problem is when I go to a bar, what do I order? Like what popular mixed drinks are gluten free regularly? 

Erica Hendricks Rookie

I usually get Titos with club soda but it also goes well with orange juice and cranberry juice. You could also get rum with pineapple juice or a non caffeinated soda such as sprite. 

Ennis-TX Grand Master

I always like hot drinks...Hot toddies were a go to for me. Like hot spiced orange flavored juice and coconut or vanilla rum...like a spiced hot dreamcicle in a glass. Hot apple cider with rum. Get a good non grain based cream vodka and mix it with root beer or a orange soda.  -_- God I miss my drinking days, this time of the year my family used to make my grandmas russian tea.....oh god you could sneak in 2-4 shots of a smooth rum into one and not even notice it.

BlackShoesBlackSocks Enthusiast

l'm not a big clear alcohol- drinker but l've been sticking with vodka based mixed drinks.

 

Most of the add ins are pretty straightforward (vodka cran should be hard to sneak gluten into, l hope).

 

If you patronize some regular spots, especially chains, you should feel totally fine about emailing CS and asking any questions.

 

l've only had to this once, l wasn't sure about Margarita mix. It's pretty dependent on where you go, you can even ask the bartender what kind of margarita mix is used and ingredients may be available online.

 

Check out the drink menus, at first l needed to read ingredients for countless brands and types of alcohol but you'll find that the same liquours are used frequently.

 

Avoid whiskey, of course. Tequila, in most cases, unless incredibly cheap and not brand named should be gluten-free from what l understand. 

 

l'm a big wine drinker but have mixed drinks when out.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Celiac4762 Apprentice

Sweet, thank you everyone this helps a lot!

Kurasz Contributor

Red bridge beer is my go to drink, otherwise I drink Kessler's whiskey and squirt. Vodka, tequila, and gin are all gluten free. If you want a mixed drink, make sure they don't use the fountain soda. California wines are absolutely out of the question due to the high concentration of pesticides and herbicides. 

apprehensiveengineer Community Regular

I try to stick to canned/bottled drinks (safe ciders, gluten-free beers) mostly, and ask them to be delivered to me in the original container. I have been [disastrously] glutened by glasses at bars a few times; many just sanitize them (common bleach bucket) when it is busy, which may leave them with some beer residue. If it's slower, you can ask for a glass to be cleaned for you/one that just came out of the dishwasher, or even bring your own. Many camping/hiking places sell collapsible/nesting cups that you can stick in a bag or pocket. People will think you're weird, but it's better than being sick... also a great opportunity to educate folks on the "devil's in the details" aspect of celiac disease.

Steer clear of garnishes (rim salt, limes etc.) as those get contaminated easily by servers' hands, which are washed infrequently. And if not that... once I saw a bartender cutting the limes directly on the counter underneath the beer taps (EEE). I don't like mixed drinks, but straight juice or pop should be ok. If they're using taps (common), sometimes those get tossed around a bit or dipped in drinks when filling. I don't know if that's a true worry (don't like that sort of thing), but I have seen it while ordering drinks.

Distilled alcohol in general is fine. Some brands/varieties have flavourings or other ingredients added post-distillation that may render them unsafe. Don't rely on the servers to know which specific brands/varieties may be safe or unsafe. Either know a few that are definitely ok/no ok or be prepared to google stuff in the bar if you are worried.

True wine or gluten-free beer (not gluten-removed... many bars misrepresent these beers!) is a safe bet no matter what. Cider is almost always fine, just double check to make sure it's not a "beer-cider" or a flavoured cider. I don't like to drink tap cider (CC nightmare, had a bad experience), but others don't worry about this.  

 

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,806
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    DEBG123
    Newest Member
    DEBG123
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
×
×
  • Create New...