Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

is Jell-o Gluten Free?


Scarlettsdad

Recommended Posts

Scarlettsdad Contributor

I haven't found anything definitive on this so I'm hoping someone could help me with this. Not sure if it makes a difference when it comes to the ingredients, but I live in Canada (Toronto). TIA


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



cyclinglady Grand Master

Yes, it is gluten free, at least in the U.S.  Kraft is good about disclosing gluten on their label.  It is not the healthiest food (lots of additives and preservatives) but heck, the holidays are here and why not splurge?  

If you are having a celiac flare up and are concerned, just skip jello until you feel better.  Why make it if you are going to worry about it?  Sometimes piece of mind is priceless.  

But I am making my Lemon Jello Cheesecake (Mom’s 1960’s recipe) for New Years Eve!  I have never been glutened by Jello.  

Scarlettsdad Contributor
1 hour ago, cyclinglady said:

Yes, it is gluten free, at least in the U.S.  Kraft is good about disclosing gluten on their label.  It is not the healthiest food (lots of additives and preservatives) but heck, the holidays are here and why not splurge?  

If you are having a celiac flare up and are concerned, just skip jello until you feel better.  Why make it if you are going to worry about it?  Sometimes piece of mind is priceless.  

But I am making my Lemon Jello Cheesecake (Mom’s 1960’s recipe) for New Years Eve!  I have never been glutened by Jello.  

Thanks for the reply! I thought it would be gluten free but figured it'd be best to double check here. 

Lemon Jello Cheesecake sounds tasty! :) 

Ennis-TX Grand Master

If you have a reaction to it, then you might just react to the corn starch and sugar in it. Not a gluten issue as it is gluten free. I learned years ago those were my problems so I use Knoxx Geletain, stevia/sugar subs, and make my own. PS cheese cake, use Dairy Free Cheese Cake extract, almond/cashewmilk, sweetener to taste and knoxx for jello cheesecake minus the crap in it.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,750
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Ajustice
    Newest Member
    Ajustice
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I agree with @RMJ, you have multiple positive tests so celiac disease is likely.  This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease.     
    • trents
      One small study found that 50% of celiacs react to the dairy protein "casein" like they do to gluten. It is also common for celiacs to be lactose (the sugar in milk) intolerant, though that often disappears in time as the villi heal. About 10% of celiacs react to the oat protein "avenin" like they do gluten.
    • K6315
      Thank you so much Trents (Scott?)! I have started working with a dietitian and did a deep research dive as soon as I got the diagnosis. I am aware of what you mentioned in the first two paragraphs, and was not aware of anything in the third, so I am grateful for that information, and will talk to the dietitian about that. I think I was most interested in the withdrawal process - it gives me hope that, although I have felt unwell recently, I just need to be patient (not a strong suit). I have printed the article you sent and will look at it more closely. Thanks again!
    • Sandi20
      I really like Thorne!  I've researched thier products.  Thank you so much.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @K6315! Gluten withdrawal typically lasts for a period of a few weeks. But there is a real learning curve involved in actually attaining to a gluten free dietary state. Much more is involved than just cutting out major sources of gluten such as bread and pasta. It's all the places that gluten is hidden in the food supply that is difficult to ferret out, like soy sauce and canned tomato soup, canned chili and canned pork n' beans, some "lite" pancake syrups, potato salad, flavorings, etc., etc. Gluten-containing grain products are hidden through alternate terminology and found in places you would never expect.  There is also "cross contamination" where naturally gluten free foods come into contact with gluten-containing grains during farming, transportation, storage and manufacturing processes. Then there is the issue of "cross reactivity" whereby you may be having gluten-like reaction to food proteins whose structure is similar to gluten. Chief among these are dairy, oats (even gluten-free oats), soy, corn and eggs. I am including this article that you might find helpful:   
×
×
  • Create New...