Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Which gluten free Alcoholic drinks do you guys use?


mystic

Recommended Posts

mystic Enthusiast

Guys, usually on a Saturday afternoon I will have a few beers while cooking for the kids and listening to music, that's my relaxation time. However due to Psoriasis I had to go gluten free and also watch the alcohol content so I have been trying to find something to replace the Coors light and Heineken light. People with Psoriasis have told me different things,  one said "it's not the ingredients in the drinks but the alcohol that's the issue" which I don't understand because gluten in drinks is the same as eating it I would think?

So in seeking a replacement for both gluten and too much alcohol content, I had narrowed down to Sake Tyku [Japanese rice wine] which is gluten free but still around 15% alcohol so I am seeking something with lower alcohol and my online info is showing this Smirnoff as being gluten-free and under 5% alcohol, can anyone confirm if this is correct please?

Open Original Shared Link

 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master
(edited)
35 minutes ago, mystic said:

Guys, usually on a Saturday afternoon I will have a few beers while cooking for the kids and listening to music, that's my relaxation time. However due to Psoriasis I had to go gluten free and also watch the alcohol content so I have been trying to find something to replace the Coors light and Heineken light. People with Psoriasis have told me different things,  one said "it's not the ingredients in the drinks but the alcohol that's the issue" which I don't understand because gluten in drinks is the same as eating it I would think?

So in seeking a replacement for both gluten and too much alcohol content, I had narrowed down to Sake Tyku [Japanese rice wine] which is gluten free but still around 15% alcohol so I am seeking something with lower alcohol and my online info is showing this Smirnoff as being gluten-free and under 5% alcohol, can anyone confirm if this is correct please?

Open Original Shared Link

 

Those  may or may not be gluten-free. Celiacs need to be careful with " crafted to remove alcohol ".  There are other sparking seltzers, like Truely, that never had gluten in the first place. 

 

Open Original Shared Link

White claw is another

Open Original Shared Link

and this one

Open Original Shared Link

 

so many gluten-free choices, why take  chance?

Edited by kareng
ravenwoodglass Mentor

Went to the link and saw this

" All flavors have zero sugar, 1 gram of carbs, 90 calories and are crafted to remove gluten."

I avoid anything with the line I bolded.

In summer on the rare times I drink I like a good potao vodka with lemonaide or cranberry juice, clear rum and coke, or a crisp Woodchuck cider.  Kahlua and milk or in hot chocolate is nice when it's cold outside.

kareng Grand Master

Of course there are various ciders, too.  You might have to try a few to see what you like.  They range from extra sweet apple juice to very dry and not very sweet

mystic Enthusiast

Thx, while I look into your links, these ingredients in Heinken 0.0 should be out too right?

water, barley, malt, hop extract.

 

kareng Grand Master
Just now, mystic said:

Thx, while I look into your links, these ingredients in Heinken 0.0 should be out too right?

water, barley, malt, hop extract.

 

For a person with Celiac , yes, of course.  We can not have barley.  But you don't have Celiac, so some of these beers, with a tiny residual of gluten,  might be OK.  

mystic Enthusiast

I am seeing Smirnoff Ice [Made in Canada version only] as being gluten-free and 5% alcohol so that might be a good option also certain Bartles and Jaymes wines coolers


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Ennis-TX Grand Master

Pretty sure Smirnoff is off too...they say gluten free here in some cases but use barely again......and testing as far as it goes and accuracy issues have shone in some cases to contain gluten.

Personally I would suggest something like Ace Hard Ciders, or Austin Ciders, I cook and use Rum often (tiny bit in baked goods or in a stir fry works wonders, recently found it can make super fluffy pancakes with a tiny bit) and you can use like 1/2 to 1 shot in a coke etc and manager your alcohol content by how much you pour in.

mystic Enthusiast

I have never liked ciders and wine make me feel drugged but maybe I can try the Bartles and Jaymes wine based coolers?

kareng Grand Master
(edited)
7 minutes ago, mystic said:

I have never liked ciders and wine make me feel drugged but maybe I can try the Bartles and Jaymes wine based coolers?

Do they still makes those things?

But seriously.... those were barley malt beverages.   If you are going to drink these malt beverages, why not just drink your light beers that are too cheap to use much barley malt in them?  

I am only answering, because I hate for someone who really needs to be strictly gluten-free to see incorrect info.   You can certainly drink what you want.

 

edit to add -  Smirnoff ice is also a malt beverage.  Once again, there is some problems with the gluten breaking down processes and the testing.  Probably not gluten-free enough or consistently for a Celiac. For those trying gluten-free for other reasons, like you, it might be fine.

Edited by kareng
mystic Enthusiast

Well my research on the bartles and Jaymes wine based coolers is showing no barley which is why I am looking into it as one option. If I could have gotten the Canadian version of Smirnoff Ice which is showing as gluten-free then I would have tried that. I am trying to avoid any gluten at all so the beers mentioned would not be the best option so maybe best I try wine with low alcohol content 

  • Moscato d’Asti 5.5% ABV (lightly sparkling sweet white from Italy)

5%] like from this list:

Open Original Shared Link

 

cyclinglady Grand Master

If you really want to know if a gluten free diet is going to help your psoriasis, then you need to avoid gluten as if you had celiac disease.  Actually, you may consider the AIP (Autoimmune Protocol) diet (which has gluten free components).  It does not allow alcohol.  Might be worth trying it for six weeks.  This small study showed that Crohn’s and Ulcerative Colitis patients had a documented 77% remission. That is pretty fabulous! 

Open Original Shared Link

 

 

kareng Grand Master
5 hours ago, mystic said:

Well my research on the bartles and Jaymes wine based coolers is showing no barley which is why I am looking into it as one option. If I could have gotten the Canadian version of Smirnoff Ice which is showing as gluten-free then I would have tried that. I am trying to avoid any gluten at all so the beers mentioned would not be the best option so maybe best I try wine with low alcohol content 

  • Moscato d’Asti 5.5% ABV (lightly sparkling sweet white from Italy)

5%] like from this list:

Open Original Shared Link

 

Bartles and James still says "malt" beverage on their website.

mystic Enthusiast

Yeah, I'm going to try the Moscato Asti, I don't drink a lot and just want to be consistent with my gluten-free diet in everything I consume.

kareng Grand Master
3 minutes ago, mystic said:

Yeah, I'm going to try the Moscato Asti, I don't drink a lot and just want to be consistent with my gluten-free diet in everything I consume.

That's very sweet.  You really might like the seltzers if you are drinking several over an afternoon.

mystic Enthusiast

Sorry i missed looking into the seltzers you've linked to but yes, they certainly look like something that will work for me. I say this because that is how I had been drinking the Sake, just a tiny sprinkle in a glass  filled with seltzer water which taste great. Only reason I am seeking to switch from the Sake is because it's 15% alcohol so at only % this should work, thanks will look into it and report back!

gluten-free Bri Newbie

Corona has 20PPM of gluten which technically makes it gluten free, if your into beer

Scott Adams Grand Master

Keep in mind that current testing for gluten does have issues with measuring gluten in hydrolyzed liquids like beer. You might find the attached article interesting.

Gluten_free_Barley_beers.pdf

mystic Enthusiast
On 1/31/2018 at 8:34 AM, kareng said:

Those  may or may not be gluten-free. Celiacs need to be careful with " crafted to remove alcohol ".  There are other sparking seltzers, like Truely, that never had gluten in the first place. 

 

Open Original Shared Link

White claw is another

Open Original Shared Link

and this one

Open Original Shared Link

 

so many gluten-free choices, why take  chance?

Thanks for these options. I tried the White Claw on Saturday evening, it tasted great nut I don;t know if it was because I had had a very hectic day and was tired that those 2 bevs gave me a good buzz, more than 2 beers normally would! I was quite surprised because it's only 5% alcohol. I will try again this Saturday and report back.

Its' expensive though at $12 per 6 pack but if the strength will not be an issue I can work with it otherwise would need to find something will lower alcohol level.

Looking into Corona, I found an interesting article below. Now the objective for me should be as KarenG said "why take any chances" but I am thinking if I need to have a few beers then Corona should be a better option than say Coors light?

Ennis-TX Grand Master
48 minutes ago, mystic said:

Looking into Corona, I found an interesting article below. Now the objective for me should be as KarenG said "why take any chances" but I am thinking if I need to have a few beers then Corona should be a better option than say Coors light?

STILL contains gluten...better then coors....yeah would be lower content but for celiacs your still poisoning yourself......FFS just drink antifreeze it's faster and to the end the same effect....forgive the bluntness but I have to put it in to perspective....Celiac Disease - Gluten=Poison.....to that extent antifreeze is a good example, sweet tasting supposedly goes down well and kills you.....

kareng Grand Master
19 minutes ago, Ennis_TX said:

STILL contains gluten...better then coors....yeah would be lower content but for celiacs your still poisoning yourself......FFS just drink antifreeze it's faster and to the end the same effect....forgive the bluntness but I have to put it in to perspective....Celiac Disease - Gluten=Poison.....to that extent antifreeze is a good example, sweet tasting supposedly goes down well and kills you.....

I don't think this person has Celiac.  They are gluten-free for other reasons, so a little gluten may be fine.  

mystic Enthusiast

Yes, I don;t know if I have celiac but I do know that since going gluten-free, my Psoriasis has been slowly showing some improvements

  • 3 months later...
grannysue Newbie

I haven't bee tested, don't have insurance. But I think I'm more gluten intolerant than Celiac. I can eat stuff made with unbleached flour without having any issues. But I had to stop drinking all wine, it really bothers me and I assume it's because they use wheat paste to seal the barrels, even ones that say they don't, like Barefoot really bother me. So I bought Smirnoff vanilla vodka, the guy at the liquor store claimed ALL vodka was gluten free. Smirnoff's regular vodka does say on the label it's gluten free, however the flavored ones don't say that. Well 2 days later, I'm having issues and all I can narrow it down to is that since everything I ate breadwise was with unbleached flour which I never have an issue with. Does anyone know if the Smirnoff vanilla vodka has gluten in it? I can't think of anything else I ate that would of had gluten. Normally if something has a very small amount, like gravy, which has gluten in the thickening agent, doesn't bother me much. And if we make our own we use unbleached flour. So I'm leaning towards the Smirnoff vanilla vodka as being the culprit. I enjoy a drink now and then and love wine, but I can't drink it now so I would like to find something that I can drink without feeling so awful a day or two later.

grannysue Newbie

Also wondering about the orange juice I used with it. I did read that Tropicana pure premium orange juice was 100% gluten free, though it doesn't say that on the bottle. Other sites said it is and some said it's not gluten free.

kareng Grand Master
1 hour ago, grannysue said:

I haven't bee tested, don't have insurance. But I think I'm more gluten intolerant than Celiac. I can eat stuff made with unbleached flour without having any issues. But I had to stop drinking all wine, it really bothers me and I assume it's because they use wheat paste to seal the barrels, even ones that say they don't, like Barefoot really bother me. So I bought Smirnoff vanilla vodka, the guy at the liquor store claimed ALL vodka was gluten free. Smirnoff's regular vodka does say on the label it's gluten free, however the flavored ones don't say that. Well 2 days later, I'm having issues and all I can narrow it down to is that since everything I ate breadwise was with unbleached flour which I never have an issue with. Does anyone know if the Smirnoff vanilla vodka has gluten in it? I can't think of anything else I ate that would of had gluten. Normally if something has a very small amount, like gravy, which has gluten in the thickening agent, doesn't bother me much. And if we make our own we use unbleached flour. So I'm leaning towards the Smirnoff vanilla vodka as being the culprit. I enjoy a drink now and then and love wine, but I can't drink it now so I would like to find something that I can drink without feeling so awful a day or two later.

This wheat paste stuff is just a myth . The wines you like aren’t even made in barrels.  The very few expensive ones that might use a flour paste do not get it into the wine.  That would mess up the wine!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,011
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    chloekimber
    Newest Member
    chloekimber
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebygirl01
      Ortiz-Sánchez JP, Cabrera-Chávez F, de la Barca AM. Maize prolamins could induce a gluten-like cellular immune response in some celiac disease patients. Nutrients. 2013 Oct 21;5(10):4174-83. doi: 10.3390/nu5104174. PMID: 24152750; PMCID: PMC3820067. AND SEE: Oats Intolerance in Celiac Disease. PLoS Med. 2004 Oct;1(1):e23. doi: 10.1371/journal.pmed.0010023. Epub 2004 Oct 19. PMCID: PMC523841. AND ALSO SEE: Bascuñán KA, Orosteguí C, Rodríguez JM, Roncoroni L, Doneda L, Elli L, Araya M. Heavy Metal and Rice in Gluten-Free Diets: Are They a Risk? Nutrients. 2023 Jun 30;15(13):2975. doi: 10.3390/nu15132975. PMID: 37447301; PMCID: PMC10346754. Celiac disease is one of the most common autoimmune gastrointestinal diseases; over the last decades, its prevalence indicates a mean annual increase in frequency currently calculated at 7.5% per year [23]. celiac disease is triggered by gluten present in the diet and the disease involves autoimmune and inflammatory damage to the small intestine in genetically susceptible individuals. To develop celiac disease a person must inherit the genetic predisposition; however, about one third of the population carries the risk genes and only ~1% of the population develops the disease, indicating that genetics is not sufficient to explain the condition. The environment participates by providing the triggering factor, i.e., gluten, and the disease is activated by environmental factors which, until now, have not been fully understood, among which changes in eating habits and the intestinal microbiota are considered to be significant factors [24,25]; yet, current knowledge is insufficient to explain the mechanisms involved. Currently, the only treatment for celiac disease is a GFD for life. AND ALSO SEE: Dr. Osborne: Although rice is considered gluten-free based on the definition set forth by the FDA, rice does contain a different form of gluten prolamin called orzenin. In my experience, those with known celiac disease or non celiac gluten sensitivity issues do better when avoiding rice.
    • Nicola McGuire
      It’s quite overwhelming receiving diagnosis my son is 14 should I have had an apt for him to discuss food etc ? I have read up a bit but have lots of questions re cross contamination 
    • trents
      @Bebygirl01, if you want to play word games with the term, "gluten", we can do that. The proteins you list in these other cereal grains besides wheat, barley and rye are somewhat different from that found in wheat, barley and rye and, technically speaking, are not "gluten". Technically speaking, "gluten" should only be applied to a particular protein found in wheat, barley and rye. These other cereal grain proteins have their own names (avenin, secalinin, zein, etc). Unfortunately, confusion has been created in popular and pseudo scientific literature by the informal use of the term "gluten" when talking about the proteins found in these other cereal grains such that you sometimes read about "corn gluten", "oat gluten", "rice gluten", etc. But these are actually misnomers, with "gluten" having been added on as an informal appendage to the actual protein names. Having said that, the protein structures of these other cereal grains is close enough to gluten that, for some people, they can cause a celiac type reaction. But this is not true for most celiacs and those who fall into the NCGS category. Apparently, it is true for you. This whole idea that cereal grains are bad for all of us has been popularized by books such as Dangerous Grains for years but it is not a widely accepted idea in the scientific community.
    • Bebygirl01
      On my Celiac journey and discovered I was also reacting to other types of gluten. The FDA in it's finite wisdom only classifies 'wheat, barley and rye' as the gluten's to be considered when a company tests for and stamps their products as gluten free. I am curious as to how many of you are aware of the other types of glutens? And another question to those on a 'traditional' gluten free diet , who are also still sick and struggling, are you also reacting to these other types of gluten as listed below? NOTE:  The new movement if you want to call it that, is now called 'grain free' and that is the true definition of gluten free. I no longer suffer with ataxia, confusion, anxiety, depression, OCD, Insomnia, ADD, acid reflux, dermatitis herpetiformis, migraines, headaches, and weight issues all due to going 'grain free'. I hope to reach as many of you out there that are still struggling and unaware of what might be setting you off such as my most recent glutening was from a vegan supplement that contained 'magnesium sterate' and 'glucose syrup' both of which are from Zien (zane) gluten at 55%. I was covered in sores that were bleeding, I was seeing squigly lines when I was trying to drive, had acid reflux, insomnia, and nightmares all from the gluten in Corn. Here are the other types of glutens that Celiacs and Gluten Intolerant people also react to: Wheat -Alpha Gliadin Gluten- 69% Rye - Secalinin gluten-30-50% Oats-Avenin gluten -16% Barley-Hordein Gluten -46-52% Millet-Panicin Gluten-40% Corn-Zien Gluten -55% Rice-Orzenin Gluten-5% Sorghum-Kafirin gluten-52% and Teff-Penniseiten Gluten 11%.
    • Scott Adams
      I just want to mention again that IF thimerosal is used in a flu vaccine the amount of ethylmercury in a single vaccine dose would be extremely small, typically around 25 micrograms (µg) or less. For context, this is much lower than the levels of methylmercury found in some seafood. Ethylmercury is metabolized and excreted from the body much faster than methylmercury. Its half-life in the blood is about 7 days, compared to methylmercury, which can persist for months. The dose of ethylmercury in vaccines is far below the threshold known to cause toxicity so would not require chelation.
×
×
  • Create New...