Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Nature's Plus Source Of Life Liquid- Is It Really gluten-free?


kimjoy24

Recommended Posts

kimjoy24 Apprentice

I was looking for a gluten-free/CF liquid vitamin supplement and asked the owner at a local health food store. She did some quick Internet research, and showed me the Nature's Path Source of Life Liquid. After she left, I looked over the ingredients, and was immediately suspicious. Young Barley Leaf, Barley Grass Juice, and rice bran, along with spirulina, which I've heard bad things about. The bottle says its free of wheat, soy, etc. but does not say free of gluten.

Has anyone else had experience with this brand? I've emailed them but I would like to hear some feedback from this board if anyone else has tried it.

Open Original Shared Link

  • 2 weeks later...

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



grantschoep Contributor

I'm guessing its not. Its wheat free I suppse, but I'd stay away because of the barley sounding things.

For any vitamans and the like. I've just decided to stick with Nature's Made stuff.

www.naturemade.com

They clearly say gluten free on everything they have that is gluten free.

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

I would steer clear of it..sounds like it is wheat free but not gluten free. It even sayd barley grass in it. I was told at a health food store one time that Spelt was gluten free which is totally wrong. I don't think that they have the proper knowledge and need to watch what they say.

kimjoy24 Apprentice

Thanks for the feedback. I decided the liquid stuff was too risky, but I found a good powdered vitamin in a rice base that is gluten/casein free at Whole Foods. It's called All One Powder and I've been taking it for the past week or so. It seems to really agree with me. The biggest change is that my stool has bulked up nicely, perhaps I'm absorbing nutrients in my food better, since fat malabsorption is one of my major issues. I went online and bought a big container of the powder from the company's website, got a 30% discount before the end of the year, and they throw in a shaker and scoop for free.

Jenn2005 Contributor

I purchased this same product for my husband and I noticed that it said wheat free not gluten free also. I called the company and asked them before he took it and they said it was definately gluten free but they had the typical disclaimer to read to me. I questioned her about the young barley leaf and she said she asked the consumer department and they assured her it was gluten free. I went back into the health food store and asked the owner if she knew if "young barley leaf" was different from "barley" and she said she felt it was still barley and would be considered gluten and thought I should return it to be safe, which I did.

Better safe than sorry.

Jennifer

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,647
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Jessicallergies
    Newest Member
    Jessicallergies
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      @JenFur, if this is microwave popcorn you are using, check for added ingredients that could be causing a reaction such as flavorings which might be hidden sources of gluten.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @JenFur! You must be relatively new to the celiac journey. I wish it were as simple as just having to cut out gluten and all our gut issues magically disappear. It is very common for those with celiac disease to develop intolerance/sensitivity to other foods. Often it is because the protein structure of some other foods resembles that of gluten. Sometimes it is because damage the damage done to the gut lining by celiac disease wipes out cells that produce enzymes needed to break down those foods. Sometimes it is because the "leaky gut syndrome" associated with celiac disease causes the immune system to incorrectly identify other food proteins as threats or invaders. The two most common non-gluten foods that cause trouble for a lot of celiacs are dairy and oats. But soy, eggs and corn are also on that list. Sometimes these non-gluten food intolerances disappear with time and the healing of the villous lining of the small bowel.
    • JenFur
      I love popcorn but it doesn't love me.  Right now my gut hurts and I am bloated and passing gas.  Am I just super sensitive. I thought popcorn was gluten free 🤔 
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @marinke! "Type 1a diabetes (DM1) is associated with an increased risk of celiac disease (celiac disease) (1)." from: https://diabetesjournals.org/care/article/35/10/2083/38503/IgA-Anti-transglutaminase-Autoantibodies-at-Type-1 "The prevalence of celiac disease (celiac disease) in children with type 1 diabetes (T1D) is 5.1%, and it is often asymptomatic (1)." from: https://diabetesjournals.org/care/article/48/2/e13/157637/Diagnostic-Outcomes-of-Elevated-Transglutaminase So, this is 5x the rate found in the general population.
    • Mari
      Hi James47, You are less than 2 years into your recovery from Celiacs.  Tell us more about the problems you are having. Do you just want to get rid of belly fat or are you still having symptoms like gas and bloating.    For symptoms you may need to change your diet and take various supplements that you cannot adsorb from the foods you eat because of the damage caused by the autoimmune reaction in your small intestine. 
×
×
  • Create New...