Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Passover Vinegar?


LilyR

Recommended Posts

LilyR Rising Star

Does anyone know anything about Passover vinegar?  We made cocktail sauce this weekend and I found a new brand of horseradish and the only ingredients are horseradish root, Passover vinegar, and salt. I thought vinegar was safe because of the way it's processed, but maybe I understood that incorrectly?  Is some vinegar safe and some that still contains gluten?  Anyone have any idea about Passover vinegar?  I got very bloated last night and nauseous.  I am not sure what caused it, although the only thing I can think of that was different that I tried was the cocktail sauce we made. 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

Should be very safe as it cannot be made from grains like wheat or barley for Passover.  So it is usually apple cider vinegar or grape vinegar.  I am not Jewish and my friends that are are not this strict - but that's the basic idea.

For a Celiac - malt vinegar is not considered safe as it is made from barley and likely still contains gluten.  The process of making vinegar doesn't remove the gluten consistently.

 

LilyR Rising Star

Thanks for that info.  So pretty much most vinegar except malt vinegar is okay for people who can't have gluten?

kareng Grand Master

Open Original Shared Link

The main difference is that "malt vinegar" is not distilled.  Common vinegars - like the cheap white vinegar you get to clean with - it will say distilled on it somewhere.  I only worry about malt vinegar but I always read the ingredients in case I picked up the wrong thing. 

"Passover vinegar" isn't used as a name of vinegar very often.  But horseradish is often part of a Passover celebration, so that may be why they listed it that way.  

LilyR Rising Star

Thanks 

17 hours ago, kareng said:

Open Original Shared Link

The main difference is that "malt vinegar" is not distilled.  Common vinegars - like the cheap white vinegar you get to clean with - it will say distilled on it somewhere.  I only worry about malt vinegar but I always read the ingredients in case I picked up the wrong thing. 

"Passover vinegar" isn't used as a name of vinegar very often.  But horseradish is often part of a Passover celebration, so that may be why they listed it that way.  

Thanks for helping to clarify.  So always be sure to check that any vinegar we use says distilled on it, and then we should be okay? I would have no idea if the Passover vinegar was distilled or not.  I guess I can try the horseradish again someday when my stomach is feeling better and see if I get a similar reaction or not. My only other thought is some new magnesium an just started, but it's suppose to be gluten-free and soy-free.  Does this all start to get easier for people the longer you go gluten-free?  Or is it still often sort of confusing and crazy at times, trying to figure out when something bothered you?

kareng Grand Master
27 minutes ago, LilyR said:

Thanks 

Thanks for helping to clarify.  So always be sure to check that any vinegar we use says distilled on it, and then we should be okay? I would have no idea if the Passover vinegar was distilled or not.  I guess I can try the horseradish again someday when my stomach is feeling better and see if I get a similar reaction or not. My only other thought is some new magnesium an just started, but it's suppose to be gluten-free and soy-free.  Does this all start to get easier for people the longer you go gluten-free?  Or is it still often sort of confusing and crazy at times, trying to figure out when something bothered you?

Horseradish kills my stomach - nothing to do with gluten.  But the deal with Passover is they can't have any wheat or barley - so, no matter how its made, it can't contain that

LilyR Rising Star
22 hours ago, kareng said:

Horseradish kills my stomach - nothing to do with gluten.  But the deal with Passover is they can't have any wheat or barley - so, no matter how its made, it can't contain that

Oh, so maybe it's the horseradish. That stinks if it is.  More and more things I like are being cut out of my diet.  I will try it again someday when my stomach feels okay to see how it goes.  That will be a bummer if I can't have it anymore.  Thanks for info on the vinegar.  It's helpful to know that was not it. 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,661
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    JR2025
    Newest Member
    JR2025
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • eKatherine
      Keep in mind that you might also have a dietary sensitivity to something else. Get into the habit of reading ingredients lists.
    • BoiseNic
      I would avoid gluten at all cost. Sometimes there will be no noticeable damage, but it is still causing an autoimmune response that will manifest in some way or another eventually. Throwing up from a macaroon sounds like something other than celiac disease also.
    • pplewis3d
      Thanks, Scott! I appreciate you looking that up for me. Perhaps that will be good enough for someone but not for me...super sensitive dermatitis herpetiformis here. I don't take any chances that I can avoid. ~Pam
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, Liamclarke! We have reports from time to time of people whose celiac disease seems to go into remission. Often, however, it doesn't last. There is also the question of whether or not symptoms or lack of them tell the whole story. Many of us are "silent" celiacs who have very minor or no symptoms when consuming gluten yet slow, insidious damage is still going on in the gut. The only way to tell for sure in your case would be to be retested after going back on gluten for a period of weeks or months such that sufficient time has elapsed for antibody levels in the blood to build up to detectable levels. And I would certainly advise you to do that and not take anything for granted.
    • Liamclarke
      I was diagnosed with celiac and basically had stunted growth because my body wasn’t taking In nutrients which may explain the weight loss I would take this seriously and get tested
×
×
  • Create New...