Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Colonoscopy prep for a vegan.


healthysquirrel

Recommended Posts

healthysquirrel Enthusiast

Hello there,

I'm a vegan prepping for a colonoscopy next week.  

Any ideas for meals to eat or drink the 3 days leading up?

I am not allowed fruit and veg, nuts, vitamins, fortified cereals or anything non white. I understand why, I just need ideas for the diet because I will be returning to work and must prepare in advance. Its fine for me to eat simply, I'll live, I would just love simple suggestions if you have any.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



frieze Community Regular

i have never heard those proscriptions before, why do you have them?

Ennis-TX Grand Master

Normally they want you on Jello and bone broth to clean you out, no solids in there. But both contain animal products.
You can make vegan jello out of Agar Agar, and you can make a hearty vegetable broth by boiling veggies then straining out the chunks. Avoid stuff like tomatoes or anything that could give it a strong color. Fruit juice are normally alright, just nothing with pulp.
There is another company that sells vegan jello that I use Called Natural Simply Delish. I wonder if almond milk, cashew milk or coconut milk would be alright for you....I invented jellied almond milk jams trying to figure out what to before my last one. Used Pomona's Universal Pectin that reacts to the calcium in the nut milks then added extracts to them like Cheese Cake Extract, Almond, Banana, Strawberry, or Cookies & Cream and sweetner of choice and made a jam out of them to give the feeling of eating something.

healthysquirrel Enthusiast

Hi Frieze and Ennis_x,

3 days before they like to rule out anything fibrous that can hide lesions or anything that is hard to digest and that sticks to the walls of the colon. They were adamant about no fruit at all, even in juice. weirdos ?

thanks for the boiling veggie tip! phew ok just eating that and rice will be fine for me, i will try to find some vegan jello here. I just need some energy for work. 

to give you an idea of the letter I received. Its a low fibre diet.

***this is from a form letter sent by my GI, not intended for celiacs or vegans***

---

Allowed foods: meat, eggs, fish, white bread, pasta, cheese, polenta, rice, pasta, nut-less chocolate, coffee tea, wine etc.

Foods not allowed: lunch meats, yogurt, creme, fruits, vegetables, strong/fermented cheeses, jam, cake, nuts, wholegrain bread or even half white, and wholegrain cereal.  

---

Wine, chocolate, cheese, hahaahahaha. So swiss!

Your invention sounds delicious ennis_tx, I will try some things out! It sounds so perfect! I'll try it with another milk. i will about coconut and other drinks. If I can eat coconut milk at least i can put that on white rice and voila. 

squirmingitch Veteran

I am surprised they allow wine without specifying only white wine. Generally they say nothing red, orange or purple. 

You should be able to do popsicles - lime, lemon or banana flavor.

healthysquirrel Enthusiast
On 10/12/2018 at 7:20 PM, squirmingitch said:

I am surprised they allow wine without specifying only white wine. Generally they say nothing red, orange or purple. 

You should be able to do popsicles - lime, lemon or banana flavor.

Yeah it is strange, I can't drink anyway right now anyway (although I could use a drink to be honest) but once all is said and done I will ask them :) YESSS POPSICLES!!!! can't wait.

pikakegirl Enthusiast

I have numerous food intollerences and chemical limits so I made my own prep for the 36 hours. I used Miralax and Dulcoax with homemade vegetable broth which I strained to almost clear but slightly yellow. Also apple juice. I would drink broth for many small meals every few hours and apple juice between. I was eliminating pure liquid the day of and Dr said great clear view.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



healthysquirrel Enthusiast
On 10/16/2018 at 6:32 PM, pikakegirl said:

I have numerous food intollerences and chemical limits so I made my own prep for the 36 hours. I used Miralax and Dulcoax with homemade vegetable broth which I strained to almost clear but slightly yellow. Also apple juice. I would drink broth for many small meals every few hours and apple juice between. I was eliminating pure liquid the day of and Dr said great clear view.

Good idea and glad it worked out for you. They told me no fruits at all. Not even juice. I made my own broth too, it helps ! So glad it’s in 2 days. I can’t wait to eat veggies again. Yum! 

healthysquirrel Enthusiast

I found the colonoscopy way easier than the endoscopy. yeah the prep isn't very practical, but i felt totally normal after and was able to work today no problem. The first thing the doc said to me was "are you a regular cocaine user?" strange huh? I never did it in my life (it would simply make me calm because i have adhd), but there is a link with using cocaine and destroying your digestive system. I never thought of that, but it makes sense because it goes up your nose and down your throat.

the GI also told me to eat a big steak after. Um yeah i'm a veg and even if I wasn't, i would not eat a steak after a colonoscopy! hahahaha

I am changing GIs very soon, so no worries, but I thought i would share my experience in case it could help someone who is a regular coke user. 

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,012
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Shahin Arab
    Newest Member
    Shahin Arab
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      Oh no, I'm sorry to hear about the accidental gluten! This article, and the comments below it, may be helpful:    
    • Karmmacalling
      I was born with celiac disease im 20 years old. And I've been gluten free my whole life. Yes my diet is 100 percent gluten free and no i don't eat at restaurants at all. I got glutened by a chips that was marked as gluten free but it wasn't the company said the packaging was old and the recipe was new. 
    • Scott Adams
      Welcome to the forum, the biggest source of cross-contamination would be eating our in restaurants--even ones that have a gluten-free menu. If your son was just recently diagnosed I'd recommend trying not to eat out during his healing period, which could last up to a year or more, depending on how much villi damage he had.
    • Scott Adams
      How long ago were you diagnosed with celiac disease? How long have you been gluten-free? Is your diet strict, and are you 100% gluten-free? Do you eat out in restaurants?
    • trents
      Key word, "gluten-like".  By the way, have you looked up Dr. Osborne's credentials and his background? He is a licensed nutritionist but his scientific? medical? clinical background is that of a chiropractor. He is not taken seriously by many experts in the medical and scientific community. If it is helpful to you to see these other cereal grain proteins as "gluten", I'm fine with that. The problem is, when you begin to promote that line of thinking to others, people get confused about what grains they actually need to avoid. About 10% of celiacs react to oat protein (avenin) like they do gluten (the protein in wheat/barley/rye). That is not news. But the vast majority of celiacs have no issue with these other cereal grains. If we start throwing around the term "gluten" to loosely embrace the proteins found in all cereal grains it's going to be very confusing to those just getting started who only need to avoid wheat/barley/rye. And it will also create a great deal of confusion in the restaurant industry trying to cater to that element of their customer base needing to eat gluten free.
×
×
  • Create New...