Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Roasted Nuts


danikali

Recommended Posts

Crimson Rookie

I'm kind of new. I've been reading a great deal on this site.

I'm seeing that many have posted about Rice Dream not being gluten free.

My carton of organic Rice Dream rice milk and the web site both say that it IS gluten free.

I believe they've concluded that gluten free would be good for business.

Just thought I'd share.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply
ravenwoodglass Mentor
I'm kind of new. I've been reading a great deal on this site.

I'm seeing that many have posted about Rice Dream not being gluten free.

My carton of organic Rice Dream rice milk and the web site both say that it IS gluten free.

I believe they've concluded that gluten free would be good for business.

Just thought I'd share.

Welcome to the boards.

Rice Dream uses a barley enzyme in their product. Because barley is not considered an allergan by the powers that be and the barley is in a small amount they can legally call this not gluten free item gluten free. Pacific makes a good rice milk and if you live in an area with a Wegmans they have recently come out with a truely gluten free rice milk also.

ThatlldoGyp Rookie

B Complex vitamins WEGMANS Brand got me the other day. I returned them, of course, but it was close.

The ones I have to stay on my toes about: "Mixed greens" in vitamins that end up including barley grass. How could they possibly avoid getting any seed or other gluten containing material in the vitamins when massed produced? I would not touch anything made with barley or wheat grass with a ten foot pole! Seriously why go where you don't need to and risk getting glutened!?!

This reminds me to finish that thought..B COMPLEX VITAMIN SUPPLEMENTS AT WEGMANS says gluten-free, and technically they are allowed to sell it as such, but it does contain barley grass, use caution with all vitamins, even of they say gluten free!

  • 2 weeks later...
Crimson Rookie

I suppose this is a situation where I can say luckily I cannot handle grains. I live in an area where we have a walmart, martins and...... :huh:

hah

I will however look into finding a site that I can order one of your suggested rice milks. Orrrrr I'll try that recipe I found to make my own.

I appreciate the information!

Jujbe Rookie
I think Rice Dream is "tricky". Yes, it does say its got gluten right on the carton but still...its not somewhere you'd normally look. I think unless they've done their research beforehand a lot of people have probably been glutened by Rice Dream at some point. I was.

Huh? I'm confused now. I'm just been diagnosed & so have been reading lots of posts to learn more. Never heard of 'Rice Dream' before so googled it to see what it was. Their site goes on about how healthy & safe their products are & it also gives a list of what products are gluten free on this page:

Open Original Shared Link

Has something changed? Did they include gluten before but don't now? Or what? Not that I'm going out to buy it - I prefer to make my own foods but if Rice Dream contains gluten & they say it doesn't on their website, isn't that false advertising?

Jujbe Rookie

Oops, :huh: I posted my questions about Rice Dream after I read posts on the 1st page. But since I've read to the end, I understand now why they labelled it gluten-free. So how do we really know if something really is safe or not? Does it mean malt-containing products (if no gluten or wheat in them) can be labelled gluten-free then?

  • 2 weeks later...
bakingbarb Enthusiast
twizzlers, honey glazed ham and an apple cider that used a certain spice that they only informed me of after i was sick and finally called the company....also, certain brands of swedish fish have wheat in them....the orignial brand doesn't luckily.

The ham! Cripes now I know why I might have been a little off last week.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



hlm34 Apprentice

the one that gets me is the regular flavor of Doritos. All the other flavors are gluten free - but not the original nacho flavor. even "spicy nacho" is gluten-free. Doritos are my one pregnancy craving, so if my husband goes out to get some for me, i have to make sure to tell him several times "NOT the original nacho flavor." Also, i saw that Pringles have wheat in them?? or am i mistaken? i thought i read that the other day. thought that was weird.

parla Newbie
Absolutely no reason I can think of why Soy Sauce should have wheat as the second ingredient (its not a big deal, I buy the wheat free stuff)...

Grrrrrrrrrrr......

I read that they use it to help it pour more freely. There's a type of soy sauce called tamari which should not have any wheat, although I've seen some that have barley.

The one that got me was Haribo gummibears and other candies. I wrote to the company and they said that all their products contain glucose syrup made from wheat and corn.

Guest lorlyn

Hey Parla,

Just wanted to say hello and welcome to the forum.
:)

,

brendygirl Community Regular

Tricky Gluten-y foods:

Imitation crab (it's in the stuff that binds it together) Must trust that restaurants use real when asking

Some Chicken (injected with chicken broth for flavor)

Beans (in Mexico and some Mexican restaurants, they use flour to thicken the beans)

cornbread

Root Beer (some brands)

au jus

Lindt chocolate and some others like Godiva

whiskey (except JDaniels)

bourbon

gin

some vodkas

wine coolers

some shredded cheese (anti-caking agent)

some dried fruit (anti-caking agent)

some vanilla extract (some people disagree, i think)

some pickles

some seasoned vegetables at restaurants

sauteed mushrooms at restaurants (some use soy sauce)

some makeup, shampoo, soap, etc.

lots of vegetarian fake-meat products

some people/restaurants keep a piece of bread in their sugar container to keep it from clumping

I'm not sure, but I thought anything cooked with Mesquite was a no-no.

btw

RUNNING RABBIT LICORICE and Candy Tree ORganic is Gluten Free

I have info. stating: "Most Haribo products ARE gluten free. The following products are NOT gluten-free:

Black licorice wheels, red licorice wheels, sour s'ghetti, fruity pasta, pico-balla, allsorts and pontefract cakes."

Juliebove Rising Star

Seventh Generation menstrual pads are made of wheat.

frec Contributor

Any shiny chocolates with food glaze at Trader Joe's have gluten (chocolate covered nuts and dried fruits). I got way sick from them once and called the company. It isn't on the label. I asked an employee to find out more about it but he never did. The chocolate covered orange and raspberry sticks have no glaze and are fine.

Cadbury Easter eggs have gluten--so sad...

  • 5 years later...
Atomal Newbie

I had a handful of dry roasted nuts today and definitely had a gluten reaction.

kareng Grand Master

Please remember: this thread is 5 years old. Ingredients and products change in that period of time.

IrishHeart Veteran

which brand? and this thread is 5 years old, BTW

 

I had a handful of dry roasted nuts today and definitely had a gluten reaction.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,887
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Old Soul Elder
    Newest Member
    Old Soul Elder
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • plumbago
      Yes, well, that's what we have been told, probably ever since the different types of cholesterol were identified. It's what most of our primary care providers are still telling us, it's what the commercials tell us. But researchers (up until now at any rate) have been learning a great deal about HDL. Nevertheless, the universe of what we still don't know about HDL is vast. And since I can sustain only a 35% level of understanding when I hear lectures on HDL, I will have to nutshell my layperson's understanding, which is that at this time, it's possible or likely that HDL-C levels are best understood as U-shaped, that there's a sweet spot right there in the dip of the "U" and anything before or after is not ideal. This is why I said what I did earlier about the "good" and the "bad" being oversimplifications. The research has long since moved on. There's a lot of talk about how the focus should be on functionality, that you want to make sure that all that HDL is performing how it should be. And now, that's it, I've exhausted my ability to explain my understanding of HDL!
    • Nicbent35
      Hi, I have a 3 1/2 year old daughter..I would say she has had tantrums since even before she was a year old. Challenging but not extreme. Lately, her behavior had gotten extreme. Just so angry, yelling mean hateful things, completely defiant, was causing a lot of disruption in our house, I felt like I had lost the little girl I knew, we were baffled.   Something just didn’t seem right to me, I have been researching and read about how gluten can sometimes affect kids behavior. I took her off gluten a week ago tomorrow. The next couple days after I took her off gluten the days were much easier. About 4 days in she had one of the worst days I’ve seen her have tho. I kept on with it tho and the past two days she has been angelic. Is this common that if it is gluten that she could still have a bad day like that a few days after taking her off of it? Should I try to reintroduce it at some point to see if it’s really a gluten intolerance? I’m not gonna lie, if she continues with the great behavior she’s had the past couple days I will probably be scared to reintroduce it but don’t want her to have to avoid gluten if it’s not necessary. Anyone have advice? 
    • trents
      But HDL is considered to be the "good" cholesterol, right?
    • plumbago
      Since some time between 2010 and 2014, my HDL-C has been going up and you might even say elevated. The last time I could find in my records that my HDL was normal was in 2014 when it was 67. Last week, it was 101, and it’s been 88 and above since about 2015. A significant life event happened in 2010 when I was diagnosed with Celiac disease and in May of that year began a gluten free diet. An informal perusal of a previously posted topic on HDL on this forum shows that a lot of members responding had high normal or high levels of HDL, so it doesn’t seem to be that unusual. But because my HDL numbers have been so high for so long, I am now officially concerned enough that I will probably reach out to a cardiologist who specializes in lipids. I would like to know if I should have a genetic test, as a specific genetic mutation can be one reason for high HDL numbers. I will also ask if he/she thinks a cardiac work up including a coronary artery calcium score should be considered. I think by now most of us are done with the ridiculous good and bad cholesterol labels; the amount of what we don’t know about HDL is quite large. For me my questions include is it a matter of production or an inability to clear HDL, and are the high levels having an effect on my vasculature (or a result of a less than optimal vasculature)? My last TSH level was normal, so it's likely not a thyroid issue. I also take B12 regularly. I’ve read that niacin can cause HDL levels to go up, but B12 is not niacin, and I could find no definitive link between robust B12 supplementation and abnormally high HDL levels. Any input is appreciated! Plumbago
    • Scott Adams
      @Mynx, how long have you been gluten-free? I ask because many newly diagnosed celiacs react to many things, and often think their reactions are caused by gluten, when in fact, they are really caused by a combination of a sensitive gut due to damage, as well as additional food intolerance/leaky gut issues to other foods which may be temporary until their villi heal.
×
×
  • Create New...