This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Weight Loss Going gluten-free?

gointribal

gointribal Enthusiast

So I've found as soon as I eat gluten I lose my figure...no joke... maybe its cause I get bloated but I've also found that I put on weight a lot faster then I did before. I am new to celiac disease, in fact, I'm not totally sure I have it, I go in for my biopsy on Feb, 16th. However, I read somewhere that being on gluten can cause weight gain because your body is not getting what it needs to stay healthy? Does anyone else have this problem or heard this before?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

CMCM Rising Star

I'd like to know what the science is behind eating gluten & weight gain, too. Even before my diagnosis, I definitely knew that eating wheat was bloating. I was on a major exercise program (Body for Life) and no matter how carefully I ate, or how much I exercise, I didn't drop a pound. It was beyond frustrating. I used to joke that if I ate nothing at all I would probably gain weight.

Also, after not eating much wheat for awhile, if I went back to eating even moderate or small amounts, I could put back on 5 lbs. overnight....bloating, I suppose. One meal with wheat could bloat me so much I couldn't button my pants.

I wouldn't be surprised if it has something to do with insulin...perhaps eating wheat makes the system all off kilter, skyrockets the insulin response, and sends virtually everything to fat storage.