This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Becoming extremely gluten sensitive after going gluten free?

Bbbhfd

Bbbhfd Newbie

Hey guys! I’m new to the gluten free community, only discovered two months ago that I’ve been gluten intolerant for the past few years. Ever since I went gluten free, I’ve been extremely extremely sensitive to gluten - where so much as eating something with small amounts of gluten, or even some things that are typically gluten free but may have cross contamination, will cause a strong reaction in my body and I’ll have flu like symptoms for the next 3 days.

It’s much worse than my reactions to gluten prior to going gluten free (which is understandable since my body probably got used to tolerating constant glutening), and it’s happening at least once a week even though I’m getting progressively more and more careful about anything I put in my body - sometimes I can’t even identify what might have caused the glutening reaction.

For background, I’ve been checked for celiacs at the doctor before I started going gluten free and that came out negative, so AFAIK I have non celiac gluten sensitivity technically.

Is this extreme reaction normal after going gluten free? Does it get better over time? It’s pretty frustrating because I still can’t trust my body to be healthy consistently with how often this happens.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

cyclinglady Grand Master

Welcome!