Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Ka'Chava - Gluten Free


NoGlutenCooties

Recommended Posts

NoGlutenCooties Contributor

Just wanted to share this with you all.  I found a product called Ka'Chava, which is a plant-based powder made from a substantial list of various plants. (see www.kachava.com)

I'm not trying to advocate for this product, but it was something that interested me and I decided to try it.  I received my first packet and saw that it contains oats.  As anyone with Celiac knows, oats are naturally gluten-free but if they are not specifically processed to remain gluten-free they get all kinds of contaminated during the harvesting process and almost always contain wheat.  So I emailed the company to ask about this, because the packet is marked as being gluten-free.  This is the response I received from the company:

"We specifically ask for "Gluten Free" Oat flour. We test our finished products for Gluten value to make sure that we comply with our specification which is less than 10 PPM. The FDA's is less than 20 PPM. However, we recommend that people with health conditions such as Celiac Disease MUST seek advise from their professional health advisors or their doctors when considering to consume Kachava."

I'm sure that last bit about checking with a doctor is their standard CYA verbiage.

Anyhow... just wanted to share.  FWIW... I've eaten it with no ill effect.  It even tastes pretty decent and has a bunch of nutrients in it that I would never get otherwise.

Jenny

 

  • 2 years later...

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Katherina-333 Newbie
On 1/30/2020 at 9:52 AM, NoGlutenCooties said:

Just wanted to share this with you all.  I found a product called Ka'Chava, which is a plant-based powder made from a substantial list of various plants. (see www.kachava.com)

I'm not trying to advocate for this product, but it was something that interested me and I decided to try it.  I received my first packet and saw that it contains oats.  As anyone with Celiac knows, oats are naturally gluten-free but if they are not specifically processed to remain gluten-free they get all kinds of contaminated during the harvesting process and almost always contain wheat.  So I emailed the company to ask about this, because the packet is marked as being gluten-free.  This is the response I received from the company:

"We specifically ask for "Gluten Free" Oat flour. We test our finished products for Gluten value to make sure that we comply with our specification which is less than 10 PPM. The FDA's is less than 20 PPM. However, we recommend that people with health conditions such as Celiac Disease MUST seek advise from their professional health advisors or their doctors when considering to consume Kachava."

I'm sure that last bit about checking with a doctor is their standard CYA verbiage.

Anyhow... just wanted to share.  FWIW... I've eaten it with no ill effect.  It even tastes pretty decent and has a bunch of nutrients in it that I would never get otherwise.

Jenny

 

Thanks Jenny! I just ordered my first Ka'Chava based on the gluten free assurances and feedback from those with Celiacs. I got gravely ill, vomiting, etc.  - worst food related reaction in years. I do not have other food related reactions/allergies but do have Celiacs. I recommend anyone with Celiacs take a pass on this product, not worth the potential risk. Kat

  • 1 year later...
NoGlutenCooties Contributor
On 2/9/2022 at 2:08 PM, Katherina-333 said:

Thanks Jenny! I just ordered my first Ka'Chava based on the gluten free assurances and feedback from those with Celiacs. I got gravely ill, vomiting, etc.  - worst food related reaction in years. I do not have other food related reactions/allergies but do have Celiacs. I recommend anyone with Celiacs take a pass on this product, not worth the potential risk. Kat

I'm so sorry you had a bad experience.  I have Celiac and have been eating this every day since my original post, with no ill effects.  Perhaps you had a reaction to a particular ingredient, or maybe you're one of the lucky folks with Celiac who also cannot eat oats (even certified gluten free oats)?

Scott Adams Grand Master

We do have an article on this topic as well:

 

NoGlutenCooties Contributor
On 4/26/2023 at 1:21 PM, Scott Adams said:

We do have an article on this topic as well:

 

Actually, they do label the bag as gluten-free now.

Scott Adams Grand Master

Good to know!

  • 1 year later...
Carolewez Newbie

Based on the ingredients listed on my bag of Ka’chava it is NOT Gluten Free. It contains Organic Barley. Barley is NOT gluten free. 
 

For those who are extremely sensitive celiac folks, this can create a ton of issues. It’s no wonder why every time I have consumed I have had problems. I am the only celiac in our household, so the rest of the family can enjoy. But just take heed!

I can’t provide a snip image of the ingredients, but it is shown in the last 1/4 of the ingredient list. 

 

 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Scott Adams Grand Master

For clarification, a product can contain wheat and be gluten-free, as many products in Europe use Codex wheat starch with the gluten removed. In this case Ka’chava contain barley grass, which is gluten-free. Again, Celiac.com does not make any claims about this product, only the company can do that, which they have done repeatedly, as you can see on their site:
https://www.kachava.com/

image.png

NoGlutenCooties Contributor
On 1/5/2025 at 4:39 PM, Carolewez said:

Based on the ingredients listed on my bag of Ka’chava it is NOT Gluten Free. It contains Organic Barley. Barley is NOT gluten free. 
 

For those who are extremely sensitive celiac folks, this can create a ton of issues. It’s no wonder why every time I have consumed I have had problems. I am the only celiac in our household, so the rest of the family can enjoy. But just take heed!

I can’t provide a snip image of the ingredients, but it is shown in the last 1/4 of the ingredient list. 

 

 

I emailed them about this and this was their reply:

Quote

We’re extra cautious about food allergies, especially gluten intolerance. So while it might be confusing to see barley grass in our ingredient list, we assure you there’s no gluten involved. Here’s the nitty gritty.
 
Barley starts off as a grass. As the plant matures, it develops barley grain, which contains gluten. But when barley grass is harvested as a young plant—before the grain appears—it’s gluten-free. This young version of barley is what’s included in our blends, which means it’s gluten-free.
 
The Food and Drug Administration allows barley grass as an ingredient in gluten-free products as long as the final product contains <20 parts per million of gluten, including any gluten due to cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Ka'Chava meets these requirements and therefore is certified gluten-free.

I've been eating this every day for breakfast for years and have never had an issue.

Jenny

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,706
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Tysonlou
    Newest Member
    Tysonlou
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • RMJ
      I’d say celiac is likely.  Please continue to eat plenty of gluten until your endoscopy to be sure that any gluten-related damage can be seen.  Plus it gives you one last chance to enjoy your favorite gluten-containing foods. I hope the endoscopy/biopsies give you a definitive answer. 
    • TexasCeliacNewbie
      I do also have the bloating, gas, constipation, hair loss, an auto-splenectomy that no one can see any reason for and some elevated liver enzymes that don't seem to have a cause, I also have joint pain and some spinal compression fractures that have no explanation.  I am only 42 so haven't had a bone density test yet.  My calcium was normal, but my D was a little low.  They haven't checked for any other vitamin deficiencies yet.  My blood test for an autoimmue disorder was quite high but my Thyroid was all normal.
    • TexasCeliacNewbie
      Hi, I have been having a lot of back pain and gut issues for 8 weeks or so.  I saw the GI on Monday and my results just came in from the lab.  Some of these number are high and off the little chart from the lab.  I am reading this correctly that I most likely have Celiac, right???  It would explain a lot of things for me.  She does have me scheduled for a colonoscopy and endoscopy in  2 weeks to do the biopsy.  I posted this prior, but forgot to put the range assuming they were all the same.  Someone advised me to repost with the ranges for some insight in the meantime. Immunoglobulin A, Qn, Serum 140 (normal) - Normal is 87-352 Deamidated Gliadin Abs, IgA 256 (High) - Moderate to strong positive at or above 30 Deamidated Gliadin Abs, IgG 65 (High) - Moderate to strong positive at or above 30 t-Transglutaminase (tTG) IgA 31 (High) - Moderate to strong positive above 10 t-Transglutaminase (tTG) IgG 10 (High) - Positive is at or above 10
    • trents
      Usually, the blood testing is done first and the endoscopy/biopsy follows for confirmation if there are positive antibody test scores. Historically, the endoscopy with biopsy has been considered to be the gold standard for diagnosing celiac disease. If the tTG-IGA scores are very high (5x-10x normal), some doctors will forego the endoscpoy/biopsy and grant a celiac disease diagnosis without it. So, if you are starting with the endoscopy/biopsy that may be all you need to arrive at a diagnosis. Another possibility would be for the GI doc to do a blood draw for antibody testing on the same day you come in for the endoscopy/biopsy.
    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Thanks,Scott. Yes, I had already seen those 
×
×
  • Create New...