Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Jell-o Instant Pudding


KatieWI

Recommended Posts

KatieWI Newbie

Hi. Does anybody know if the Jell-O Sugar Free Fat Free Instant Butterscotch Pudding is gluten-free?

The ingredients are: Modified food starch, Maltodextrin (from corn), Tetrasodium pyrophosphate and Disodium phosphate (for thickening), Contains less than 2% of skim milk, artificial flavor, salt, calcium sulfate, xanthan gum (for smooth texture), mono- and diglycerides (prevent foaming), aspartame and acesulfame potassium (sweeteners), yellow 6, yellow 5, artificial color.

Also...it is made by Kraft Foods North America.

Thanks for the help! :)

~Katie


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Rusla Enthusiast

Stay away from it, it has modified food starch.

MySuicidalTurtle Enthusiast

I thought Kraft doesn't hide gluten in their ingedients?

Guest nini

Kraft does NOT hide gluten in any of their ingredients. If wheat barley oats or rye are not listed then it is safe...

also modified food starch IF MADE IN USA is from corn unless otherwise specified.

Rusla Enthusiast

I have just learned to not touch anything with modified food starch in it. I actually stopped at the store on the way home and read a package of Jell-o

Instant pudding but could not find modified food starch on the package.

teebs in WV Apprentice

Kraft in the US will clearly list if a product contains wheat, barley, rye, or oats. If the Kraft label states modified food starch, and you are in the US, then the modified food starch was a derivative of another grain (such as corn).

Kraft is one of the products that I trust. Take a look a their website - it has a very informative section explaining their labeling standards.

jerseyangel Proficient

I would use it--Kraft is one of the few mainstream companies whose foods don't cause me a reaction. Also, like everyone stated, they won't hide gluten on the label.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Rusla Enthusiast

I was impressed today. There was a company I never heard of demonstrating chocolate. Right on the info they gave out and on the boxes it said it contained no wheat or gluten. However it said,"this product is made in a facility where nuts and wheat products are produced. Due to contamination issues it is not advised for people with allergies or Celiac disease to use this product."

ebrbetty Rising Star

I was told on another board that the kraft choc and vanilla cooked pudding is gluten-free/df I made some last night with rice milk, can also just use water

VydorScope Proficient

My son eats kraft's pudding almost every day, its good stuff for a toddler, even with celiac disease! :D

crk Newbie

Here's my very first post and am glad I ran across the comments about Kraft. My question is even if a product is considered gluten-free, such as Jell-o pudding, and I eat it, and I get a reaction, what is it that's causing that reaction? Is it something else in the pudding I could have an issue with? Or is it because my system is still reacting to something I contaminated myself with 3 days ago? Or is it cross-contamination from the factory (I am very safe at home). I was officially diagnosed July 2005 and have been struggling ever since. I know for sure that anything that says "natural flavoring" I need to avoid. But there are many days that I think I'm not eating anything harmful and by the end of the night I get my usual pains (not severe, but enough that I know I've had something I shouldn't), and in the morning I'm nauseous. I just want to get back to being able to eat some of the normal foods, like Jell-o pudding, that are supposed to be free of gluten and that you say are ok to eat, and not be stuck on rice cakes and cheese and peanut butter. I feel I'm trying really hard but am very frustrated.

Help???

teebs in WV Apprentice

Everyone is different and this disease effects everyone differently. Maybe dairy is your issue?

Also, all things labeled 'natural flavors' or 'natural flavorings' are not off-limits. Only those that contain wheat, rye, barley or oats are off-limits. Some companies disclose if 'natural flavoring' consists of anything containing gluten. Some companies, such as Kraft, may list 'natural flavors' on the ingredients list. If there is no mention of wheat, rye, barley, oats, etc., then it would still be ok.

Here's what I do: if a company declares that they will clearly list any gluten containing ingredients on the label, and a particular product by this company lists natural flavor as an ingredient, and makes no reference to a gluten ingredient, then I consider it safe.

There may be others that are stricter than that.....some people stay completely clear of all pre-packaged/processed foods.

Good luck - I hope you figure out what your issue is.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,651
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Joanne Jordan
    Newest Member
    Joanne Jordan
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • misslemon
      Hi, I'm hoping to get some advice on how to handle Mass as a new Catholic.  I'm looking to take the Mass for the first time in March.  I've been told that the church has a "low gluten" option that is 0.01% gluten.  Is this safe, especially to do every week?   I also read that taking the wine instead could be more of a problem if it gets contaminated with regular crumbs.   I found this information online:  "The Benedictine Sisters of Perpetual Adoration in Clyde, Missouri, have developed a Communion host that is extremely low in gluten. The host is made from gelatinized wheat starch. The Sisters report the hosts test to a level of 0.01% gluten. At that level, the lowest that could be tested, no gluten was detected. This means that there is less than 0.01% gluten in one of these hosts. The Secretariat for the Liturgy of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops has stated that these hosts meet the requirements of the Code of Canon Law (924 §2) and may be validly used at the celebration of the Eucharist with permission of the person's pastor. The Catholic with celiac disease can now fully participate in Holy Communion with the whole parish family. Catholic celiacs may choose to receive consecrated wine at a regular communion station if their parish offers communion under both species. There is greater risk for contamination using this option. The fraction rite may allow small, yet dangerous crumbs to be in the cup." Thank you for any guidance!
    • Jenn D
      My son was diagnosed with Celiac Disease is April 2023. His ttg antibody was over 100 at the time of diagnosis. Now it is at 3 (which is considered negative), but his endomysium antibody iga is still coming up positive. There is no specific number just positive or negative so I'm not sure if he's getting better or not. I'm getting nervous that something else is going on and I was just looking for some advice or an understanding what this "postive" actually means. He gets tested every 6 months. Thank you so much for any responses😊 Attached is a picture of his bloodwork from August 2024
    • trents
      @JenFur, if this is microwave popcorn you are using, check for added ingredients that could be causing a reaction such as flavorings which might be hidden sources of gluten.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @JenFur! You must be relatively new to the celiac journey. I wish it were as simple as just having to cut out gluten and all our gut issues magically disappear. It is very common for those with celiac disease to develop intolerance/sensitivity to other foods. Often it is because the protein structure of some other foods resembles that of gluten. Sometimes it is because damage the damage done to the gut lining by celiac disease wipes out cells that produce enzymes needed to break down those foods. Sometimes it is because the "leaky gut syndrome" associated with celiac disease causes the immune system to incorrectly identify other food proteins as threats or invaders. The two most common non-gluten foods that cause trouble for a lot of celiacs are dairy and oats. But soy, eggs and corn are also on that list. Sometimes these non-gluten food intolerances disappear with time and the healing of the villous lining of the small bowel.
    • JenFur
      I love popcorn but it doesn't love me.  Right now my gut hurts and I am bloated and passing gas.  Am I just super sensitive. I thought popcorn was gluten free 🤔 
×
×
  • Create New...