Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Up&Up Cranberry Pill


Bjams

Recommended Posts

Bjams Newbie

Has anyone purchased these in the past? The website lists them as gluten free... but the bottle says both gluten free and “contains wheat” on it. Very confusing!!

79A57B3D-F1D5-488A-832A-8C39A8CA688C.webp


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



cyclinglady Grand Master

I went to the website as I was not able to read the label well.  The item in question might be Carmel color.  In the US it is usually derived from corn. But in Europe (or wherever this supplement is actually manufactured — maybe China), it can be derived from wheat that is highly processed and considered gluten free.  But US labeling laws require wheat to be listed even if highly processed.  

It is confusing.   While it might be gluten free, I would not risk it.  I would give my business to another company.  Call Target and complain. 

Bjams Newbie

I’ve never ever heard of wheat being able to be gluten free! Is that where the 20 ppm thing kicks in? So disappointing

Scott Adams Grand Master

Codex Alimentarius wheat starch is used in European gluten-free products because their labeling laws go strictly by 20 ppm, no matter what ingredients there are. They make superior products, and yes, celiacs in Europe do recover while eating them. Here are some articles we've done on this in case you are curious:

https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/miscellaneous-information-on-celiac-disease/gluten-free-diet-celiac-disease-amp-codex-alimentarius-wheat-starch/ 

cyclinglady Grand Master

What Scott says is true.  I want to clarify about my comment on risk.  When you are new to the diet, it can be overwhelming.  Especially, when you are in the store trying to make a decision.  Who has time to look up everything?  I memorized all the sources of gluten.  That helped, but when in doubt and there is no time to research,  do not buy the product.  Sometimes, peace of mind is priceless.  ?

Bjams Newbie

I’m in the US! It’s listed as made in Minnesota

15 hours ago, Scott Adams said:

Codex Alimentarius wheat starch is used in European gluten-free products because their labeling laws go strictly by 20 ppm, no matter what ingredients there are. They make superior products, and yes, celiacs in Europe do recover while eating them. Here are some articles we've done on this in case you are curious:

https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/miscellaneous-information-on-celiac-disease/gluten-free-diet-celiac-disease-amp-codex-alimentarius-wheat-starch/ 

I’m in the US! It’s listed as made in Minnesota

cyclinglady Grand Master
(edited)
5 hours ago, Bjams said:

I’m in the US! It’s listed as made in Minnesota

I’m in the US! It’s listed as made in Minnesota

Made in Minnesota?  It says, like all Target private labeled products, distributed.  That is Target’s corporate location.  This could be made anywhere in the world.  You would have to call them.  

 

 

Edited by cyclinglady

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Scott Adams Grand Master

If this product is made and sold in the USA it could be violating USA labeling laws, but I'd need to check and see whether supplements are included in the food labeling laws...maybe not. For foods you cannot use wheat as an ingredient AND include "gluten-free" on the label, even if the form of wheat used is rendered gluten-free.

cyclinglady Grand Master

Supplements are covered under The FDA (Food and Drug Administration) requirements, but oddly not prescription drugs.  

Since Carmel coloring is very processed, it can be derived from wheat and still be considered gluten-free.  I think the product is missing the last sentence below and is therefore mis-labeled.  

 “A product that is labeled gluten-free may include the term “wheat” in the ingredient list (e.g. wheat starch) or in a separate “Contains wheat” statement, but the label must also include the following statement: “The wheat has been processed to allow this food to meet the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) requirements for gluten-free foods.”

https://gluten.org/2019/10/16/3-tips-for-gluten-free-label-reading/

This directly from the FDA site:

“In addition to limiting the unavoidable presence of gluten to less than 20 ppm, FDA allows manufacturers to label a food “gluten-free” if the food does not contain any of the following:

  • an ingredient that is any type of wheat, rye, barley, or crossbreeds of these grains,
  • an ingredient derived from these grains and that has not been processed to remove gluten, or
  • an ingredient derived from these grains that has been processed to remove gluten, if it results in the food containing 20 or more parts per million (ppm) gluten”

https://www.fda.gov/consumers/consumer-updates/gluten-free-means-what-it-says

This label is confusing.  If the ingredient is originally made from wheat but processed to remove gluten it would say: Carmel coloring (wheat) in the ingredient listing.  The bold: “Contains: Wheat” is actually an allergen listing.  Kind of a short cut for celiacs, but critical for those with a wheat allergy.  You can not rely on the “Contains: Wheat” statement because rye and barley are not considered in the top 8 allergens.  So, you have to read the entire ingredient list as a general rule. 

This product is confusing:

If you believe the “Contains: Wheat” statement, and then you search through the ingredient list (and the only thing that stands out for me) is “Carmel coloring”, you would think this is where the wheat might be.  You would assume that since Carmel color is highly processed that the gluten has been removed.  So, safe for gluten free, but not safe for those with allergies.  It should have that final statement about the wheat being highly processed.  

Again, confusing.   I would avoid this product and find either another gluten-free product or one where you can easily contact the manufacturer.  It is hard to get an answer from company who has private labeled products in my experience.     Even the original wording (not the revision I supplied), Was not simple or clear.  Who has time for that?  

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,656
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Jody Dean
    Newest Member
    Jody Dean
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Richardo
      Hi CDW. Some here may disagree with me on this site but, nothing ventured nothing gained. As long as my suggestion does no harm and is a possible help for your struggles I'll throw it out there. I have broached this in another forum.but I know this worked amazingly well for me as I too had return of dermatitis herpetiformis every 3 to 4 months for 4 years. with a month break then it would return. 1.I am 100% gluten free (I thought) 2.There is no problems with cross contamination with my diet. 3.My skin rash was confirmed as dermatitis herpetiformis by skin biopsy.  What I did last spring was go 100% grain free. No oats, corn or even rice. My rash was gone in 2 weeks and never came back intil I tested it 6 months later and ate rice 1 time and corn flour 1 time over a 3 day period. My rash started to come back. I quit again and it has been gone since. A huge relief for me. No more pain itching or unsightly rash ANYWHERE. A study was done in the UK showing that practically all grains contain some type of gluten but the rice corn and oats possibilities IS ALMOST NEVER mentioned in celiac related sites. Perhaps going grain free will help you, perhaps not, but I swear it did wonders for me and hopefully will help ypu too. Worth a try!
    • trents
      Not necessarily. She may have NCGS and in that case doing a perfect gluten challenge would still yield negative antibody test scores. Don't beat yourself up over this.
    • trents
      @MomofGF, I would refer you to the link from Scott's post above about Celiac Disease Blood Antibody tests as far as what labs we are looking for. That should narrow in down in that we are not looking for a complete CBC/CMP report. I would especially like to know from her labs if she is IGA deficient because that would make increase the likelihood of negative IGA antibody test scores. But I do agree with Scott in questioning the need for pursuing another gluten challenge for the purpose of more accurate testing. I think you already know your daughter must avoid gluten, whether because she has celiac disease on NCGS. At the end of the day, the antidote is still the same.
    • Scott Adams
      This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease. One test that always needs to be done is the IgA Levels/Deficiency Test (often called "Total IGA") because some people are naturally IGA deficient, and if this is the case, then certain blood tests for celiac disease might be false-negative, and other types of tests need to be done to make an accurate diagnosis. The article includes the "Mayo Clinic Protocol," which is the best overall protocol for results to be ~98% accurate.  tTG-IgG (tissue transglutaminase IgG) Blood Test for Celiac Disease: Approximately 10x more people have non-celiac gluten sensitivity than have celiac disease, but there isn’t yet a test for NCGS. If your symptoms go away on a gluten-free diet it would likely signal NCGS.
    • Scott Adams
      According to their FAQ page: https://www.citracal.com/faqs they appear to be naturally gluten-free, but throw in the usual CYA statement:  
×
×
  • Create New...