Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

12 Yr Old Daughter Just Diagnosed


mdixon

Recommended Posts

mdixon Rookie

Hi

My daughter is 12 and has just been diagnoed w/Celiac. She has small stature and no other symptoms. Her nutritionist suggested we start replacing what she eats now with gluten-free products. Can I trust commercial salad dressings?? I guess I'm not clear on the vinegar part. Can anyone help or suggest a good creamy dressing?

Is there any list anywhere that lists gluten free items by brand name and category?? Thanks


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



wwebby Apprentice

I am new myself, so maybe someone else can be more helpful, but there's a great little database of gluten-free foods you can download from www.clanthompson.com. I haven't used it that much yet, and I just have the demo version, but you might want to check it out. You can search by category, name, etc. and it tells you the product's status and gives you the 800 number to call. It looks pretty good!

You might also have some luck if you go right to the manufacturer's website and see if they list their gluten-free products there.

Clan Thompson, I think, also distributes a printed list. They have a great site, so go poke around there and good luck!

--Laura in CT

dkmb Newbie

Annie's Naturals has quite a few dressings that are gluten free and are widely available in chain grocery stores and other stores that carry gluten free products. If you are looking for creamy you might try the Cowgirl Ranch.

DK

Guest jhmom

Hi, according to my gluten-free list, the following brands are gluten-free:

some KRAFT (says to read labels)

Newman's Own - ALL

Wishbone - 800-697-7887 ( too many to list)

Below is a link to the list I was looking at, dressings are on page 32:

Open Original Shared Link

Mainstream GFproduct list

Kim Explorer

Hello.

All vinegars, EXCEPT malt vinegar, are okay on the gluten-free diet. You can use distilled vinegar, cider vinegar, balsamic vinegar, wine vinegar. The only one you cannot use on the gluten-free diet is malt vinegar.

There was some "discussion" for many years that distilled vinegar is not okay, however, this is not correct. Distilled vinegar is fine, and is recognized as such by all leading authorities. In fact, Volume 8 #3 of "Gluten Free Living" magazine did an entire article about this.

Hope this helps.

Kim.

Ruth Enthusiast

Be careful with Newman's Own dressings. I have the same list...but they are NOT all gluten-free. They are good about labeling though! So check the ingredient list. Newman's clearly lists "wheat" "barley" "malt" etc.

Kraft Ranch works for my daughter.

dkmb Newbie

Kim,

Was the statement "all leading experts" in the article you mentioned in your post? When I see the word all and leading in statements like that it raises a red flag for me. There is still disagreement about distilled vinegar. It brings to mind the discussion for years about hormone replacement therapy when millions of women took it and then came "the study" that ended it for many. During those years there were many experts who cautioned more judious use of HRT.

Using products with distilled vinegar or not is a decision each person with celiac disease needs to make on their own with as many of the facts available to them as possible.

DK


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • 3 weeks later...
celiac3270 Collaborator

Hi...I'm a thirteen year old boy, diagnosed 13 weeks ago...just thought I could be of some assistance. If you have any questions or want some advice, you can e-mail me. My advice: read the boards...you'll find yourself an expert in no time. I don't have time to write a long post of some tips for starting, but again, don't hesitate to e-mail. After 13 weeks of trial and error, I think I've found the best of gluten-free breads, cookies, pastas, etc. If you want some help for starting out, I could get you her e-mail address. She got helped by people when I started the gluten-free diet, and therefore, likes to help others in a similar situation. Good luck and don't get discouraged...

Kim Explorer

Among experts in the field, there is absolutely no disagreement, the distillation process removes all traces of gluten. "There was never any reason to question the safety of vinegar." I really can't type the entire Gluten Free Living Article here, and, I agree, everyone who reads this cite has to make their own choices. Unfortunately, I also believe that some people, particularly newly-diagnosed celiacs, are still getting incorrect information about vinegar. As stated earlier, other than malt vinegar (where the malt is added after the distillation process), all vinegar is gluten free.

In addition, the FDA requires that where a label simply states "vinegar" it is apple cider vinegar, which even those who doubt, cannot question that it is gluten free.

Kim.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,812
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Granna57
    Newest Member
    Granna57
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Great tips, Deb. Thanks.  What a pity that they no longer mark items as gluten-free. And it is even more of a shame that you must bring protein bars instead of the crew helping you with your needs. Are you planning on sailing Royal again? 
    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
×
×
  • Create New...