Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Whiskey


Billy G. Ellzey

Recommended Posts

Billy G. Ellzey Newbie

Is whiskey gluten free?

 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



cyclinglady Grand Master

All distilled alcohol is gluten free regardless of the source.  Be careful of any additives or mixers.  Some celiacs complain of symptom.  So, it is up to you.  Read this article to find brands that are derived from corn, etc:
 

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/are-whiskeys-gluten-free#why-some-experience-symptoms

Me?   I am a nervous Nelly.  I choose alcohol like vodka sourced from potato vodka.  I guess it is hard for me mentally to get over anything that contains wheat, barley or rye, especially where there are so many other choices.  Sometimes, piece of mind is priceless.  This works for me.   Last endoscopy — healed!  
 

Now, having worked in a bar decades ago, I do know that even today, busy bars still rely on the old wash and dunk for their glassware. So, when busy, I ask for drink to be put into a to-go cup.  Not classy, but safe.  

Awol cast iron stomach Experienced

In college one of my roommates adored Jack Daniels. I did occasionally drink it back then. I don't recall getting symptoms from it. When I no longer lived with her I was off whiskey entirely. Years later and before diagnosis I found  I just can't drink whiskey. Not from a gi issue gluten issue to my knowledge. I just can't do whiskey or gin.  I don't feel I enjoy it and I feel more hangover symptoms in morning than if I drink another alcohol. I just  explain it as  I prefer other spirits.

I was a fan of tequila, vodka, and white wine prior to diagnosis. After my gluten challenge I could not drink alcohol too inflammatory to my body for 2- 2 1/2 years. 

I have tried plain Vodka from potato in past. Last time I had a drink with Vodka it was a brand sourced from grapes  (Bombora). I have tried plain tequila agave sourced no mixers. 

 

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,793
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Oli1904
    Newest Member
    Oli1904
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...