Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten/wheat/egg Free Diet Questions?


ConcernedMom

Recommended Posts

ConcernedMom Newbie

I was just told to put my 15 mo old daughter on a Wheat-free, Gluten-free, Egg-free diet b/c of allergies and was hoping I could get a few answers here. All of this is brand new to us and we don't know much about this stuff.

1. Does corn starch contain any of these? I've read that starch is bad, but that corn is ok, but didn't know about corn starch versus other starches.

2. Does anyone know of multivitamin drops that are safe?

3. Are oat products OK? I've seen conflicting info on this.

4. Does anyone have a fairly detailed list of foods/ingredients for all 3 of these (wheat/gluten/egg) that we should avoid and/or a list of things that are OK?

I appreciate ANY help that anyone can offer.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



tarnalberry Community Regular

well, the good news is that you don't have to look at it as three restrictions - just two... gluten free and egg free. anything that's gluten free will be wheat free (not to mention rye free, barley free, and -sometimes- oat free).

pure cornstarch is gluten-free and EF, it's just part of the grain of corn.

I don't know about multivitamin drops, though many multi-vits do claim to be gluten-free/EF.

there's conflicting info because the answer isn't clear. the easiest way to simplify it (in my mind) is that some people are so sensitive to proteins that resemble gliandin (the protein in wheat) that not only do they react to the proteins in rye and barley, but also to avenin, the protein in oats. a few people on this site do not react to oats at all, and some don't react to McCann's (the only oats we KNOW doesn't have the cross-contamination issues the other manufacturers do), and some do react to any oats at all. the only way to know is to test it yourself.

I'm a fan of knowing everything that goes into your food - so I cook. so all fresh produce, meats, and unaltered dairy is fine. (some frozen meats have a glaze that may contain gluten, some flavored yogurts may have gluten-containing ingredients.) take a look around this site (and I'm sure someone will provide a link for you, I don't have one right now) for their safe/forbidden food list - it's very helpful, I think.

ConcernedMom Newbie

Tiffany,

Thank you so much for your response. I thought that wheat free and gluten free were 2 different things b/c I've seen it on the internet that way. For example, the following site says that they're not the same: Open Original Shared Link

Do you have any further info on this?

Thanks!

plantime Contributor

Your daughter has to follow the same diet I have to follow! Please keep in mind that an allergy to eggs usually translates into an allergy to all poultry products. I use Ener-G egg replacer, or 1 Tbsp ground flax mixed with 3 Tbsp warm water for each egg in my baking. It translates very well in my baking. The hardest part will be the fried and scrambled eggs: the substitutes cannot be used as eggs in those kinds of meals. Many egg-replacement products contain eggs, so you will have to read the labels closely. This diet is not bad to follow. She should be feeling much better in a couple of weeks. Just take a deep breath, and read labels!

taneil Apprentice

ConcernedMom yes you are correct that Wheat-Free and Gluten-Free are to different issues. If you are only Wheat-Free you only have to eliminate wheat. However if you are Gluten-Free you have to eliminate wheat, barley, rye and possibly oats. Thus when you say Gluten-Free, that term already includes the elimination of wheat. So if you say "I am on a wheat-free and gluten-free diet" you are being redundant (sp?). Being Gluten-Free includes being Wheat-Free.

Thus a wheat-free product does not necessarily mean a gluten-free product. But a gluten-free product will always be a wheat-free product.

Hope this clears up your confusion.

taneil Apprentice

I should have read your link first which says:

"Gluten is a mixture of proteins found in some cereals, particularly wheat. It is the gliadin component of gluten which is responsible for coeliac disease. A gluten-free diet is not the same as a wheat-free diet, and some gluten-free foods are not wheat free. Despite a good deal of research, it is unknown how or exactly why gluten harms the gut. It is now considered likely that coeliac disease involves an abnormal immunologic response, rather than an enzyme deficiency as was suggested in the past."

I am not sure how that can be unless they are talking about sprouted wheat. For you can have sprouted cereal grass such as that found in green food powders which can be wheat and yet the gluten is not present in fully sprouted cereal grass.

But I don't know for sure. I have never read that you can have a gluten-free food that contains wheat accept in the case of sprouted cereal grass.

tarnalberry Community Regular

I'm with taneil on this, I have NO idea why your link says that a gluten-free food would contain wheat. If it contains wheat, it's going to have gluten, and hence not be gluten free. You could use the wheatgrass thing as a possible explanation, but you can't guarantee that wheatgrass is gluten free ever either (it's an asympotic thing... as they wheatgrass grows, the protein is used by the plant, so gluten content asymptotically approaches zero, but that doesn't say WHEN it is close enough to zero to not cause a reaction), so I wouldn't go with that either.

I didn't mean to imply they were "the same", and plantime explained it better - wheat-free is just a subset of being gluten-free. (And I'll argue that silly website about it 'til someone has a GOOD CASE for otherwise. ;-) :-P hehehehe :-) )


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



plantime Contributor

Here are a few things that I have not reacted to:

Great Value all-beef hotdogs

Banquet Frozen Dinners: ONLY the pot roast and sliced beef (the rest have wheat or poultry)

Beef and Pork bought from the butcher

Fruits

Vegetables

brick cheeses (I am can have dairy-not blue cheese)

Rice flour

bean flour

xanthan gum

flax seed (I bought a coffee grinder from Wal-Mart to grind it to powder)

Some beef taquitos

corn tortillas and taco shells

Also, I just baked a white cake using gluten-free flour on a cup-for-cup exchange, and added 1 tsp xanthan gum, and Ener-G's egg replacer. The cake was supposed to be yellow, I used a yellow cake recipe from Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, but it turned out white, and quite yummy! For cakes, cookies, and pancakes, I use Bette Hagman's basic gluten-free flour mix, for biscuits and bread I use the featherlite mix. There are many options now for us! Just remember to always read the labels: I was eating Lucky Charms until they changed the formula. I was quite sick, because I did not check the label when I bought the new box. You can buy the flours and such at a good health food store (look for one with an Asian market). They have ready-made goodies, too, but I am not willing to pay 1.29 for one little cookie! This diet is easy to follow, as long as you keep your cool. You can email me if you have any questions, I am glad to help!

gf4life Enthusiast

The link that ConcernedMom posted is based out of the United Kingdom. In the UK the Celiac Society there has approved WHEAT STARCH for use by Celiacs. They say the gluten has been removed in the processing and so it is safe. It is basically a similar issue as with Oats. A question of whether you want to risk it or not. In the US the Celiac groups here do not approve of the use of Wheat Starch. So in the UK Gluten free does NOT always mean Wheat free like it does in the US.

Hope this clears up a bit of the confusion. And it might make a difference to someone who is gluten free when they travel to the UK!

God bless,

Mariann

Kim Explorer

Also, the issue with oats is crosscontamination in the US because they rotate fields and then some wheat gets into the oats.

With US made products, you only need to look for gluten-free. Most of the gluten-free food manufacturers can tell you if their product is also egg free.

Good luck.

Kim.

DLayman Apprentice

You could try www.pecanbread.com for some gluten free dairy and egg free recipes that are pretty kid friendly. Hope this helps!

Denise

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,702
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kb2608
    Newest Member
    Kb2608
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • TexasCeliacNewbie
      I do also have the bloating, gas, constipation, hair loss, an auto-splenectomy that no one can see any reason for and some elevated liver enzymes that don't seem to have a cause, I also have joint pain and some spinal compression fractures that have no explanation.  I am only 42 so haven't had a bone density test yet.  My calcium was normal, but my D was a little low.  They haven't checked for any other vitamin deficiencies yet.  My blood test for an autoimmue disorder was quite high but my Thyroid was all normal.
    • TexasCeliacNewbie
      Hi, I have been having a lot of back pain and gut issues for 8 weeks or so.  I saw the GI on Monday and my results just came in from the lab.  Some of these number are high and off the little chart from the lab.  I am reading this correctly that I most likely have Celiac, right???  It would explain a lot of things for me.  She does have me scheduled for a colonoscopy and endoscopy in  2 weeks to do the biopsy.  I posted this prior, but forgot to put the range assuming they were all the same.  Someone advised me to repost with the ranges for some insight in the meantime. Immunoglobulin A, Qn, Serum 140 (normal) - Normal is 87-352 Deamidated Gliadin Abs, IgA 256 (High) - Moderate to strong positive at or above 30 Deamidated Gliadin Abs, IgG 65 (High) - Moderate to strong positive at or above 30 t-Transglutaminase (tTG) IgA 31 (High) - Moderate to strong positive above 10 t-Transglutaminase (tTG) IgG 10 (High) - Positive is at or above 10
    • trents
      Usually, the blood testing is done first and the endoscopy/biopsy follows for confirmation if there are positive antibody test scores. Historically, the endoscopy with biopsy has been considered to be the gold standard for diagnosing celiac disease. If the tTG-IGA scores are very high (5x-10x normal), some doctors will forego the endoscpoy/biopsy and grant a celiac disease diagnosis without it. So, if you are starting with the endoscopy/biopsy that may be all you need to arrive at a diagnosis. Another possibility would be for the GI doc to do a blood draw for antibody testing on the same day you come in for the endoscopy/biopsy.
    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Thanks,Scott. Yes, I had already seen those 
    • Scott Adams
      Unless your blood antibody levels are 10x the celiac disease positive level they usually do an endoscopy to confirm the diagnosis.  Here is more info about how to do a gluten challenge for a celiac disease blood panel, or for an endoscopy: and this recent study recommends 4-6 slices of wheat bread per day:    
×
×
  • Create New...