This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Blood Test Results HIGH?

JD-New to Celiac

JD-New to Celiac Explorer

I am a newbie and I was wondering what does it mean when your bloodwork comes back and reads - Transglutaminase IgA >250 | and Gliadin IgA >89? The PCP said I had Celiac and referred me to a GI, but with limited appointments I can't get in to see GI for over a week. Do those numbers pretty much guarantee Celiac? Are they very high? I have other symptoms too including rapid weight loss.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

trents Grand Master

Those blood tests are not entirely specific and can indicate other autoimmune problems is my understanding. You will likely need an endoscopy to confirm celiac disease. Alternatively, you can eliminate gluten from your diet and if you start to feel better it would speak for itself. But if you will be getting and endoscopy, don't go gluten free until after the test or it may be invalid.

Scott Adams Grand Master

It sounds like your doctor is convinced by your results that you have celiac disease. The question is will they want you to also do a biopsy? More and more, especially with children, doctors are not recommending a follow up biopsy, and this is probably even more true during this covid pandemic. 

Before doing anything ask your doctor what the next step is. They may want you to go gluten-free at this point and see if any symptoms go away. You did not mention whether or not you have symptoms.