Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Question about Root Beer


Tanya coles

Recommended Posts

Tanya coles Newbie

I have been trying to figure out if Steelhead Root Beer is gluten free.  Does anyone know.  Thank you in advance. 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Scott Adams Grand Master

It is not easy to tell from their web site

which lists only these ingredients:

  • "The bottled variety is brewed using pure vanilla, honey and real cane sugar." 

This site:

lists these ingredients:

  • "Ingredients: carbonated water, cane sugar, honey, maltodextrin, natural and artificial flavors, sodium benzoate, real vanilla, phosphoric acid, salt"

If this ingredient list is correct, it does look like it is naturally gluten-free by ingredients, although it isn't labelled gluten-free.

Elisabeth Gerritsen Explorer
On 9/10/2020 at 7:07 PM, Scott Adams said:

It is not easy to tell from their web site

which lists only these ingredients:

  • "The bottled variety is brewed using pure vanilla, honey and real cane sugar." 

This site:

lists these ingredients:

  • "Ingredients: carbonated water, cane sugar, honey, maltodextrin, natural and artificial flavors, sodium benzoate, real vanilla, phosphoric acid, salt"

If this ingredient list is correct, it does look like it is naturally gluten-free by ingredients, although it isn't labelled gluten-free.

The maltodextrin could contain gluten. In Europe it is made of malt beer. In the US mostly of corn, so no gluten

Scott Adams Grand Master

Since the company is based in Eugene, Oregon it's highly doubtful that they would pay to import the ingredient from Europe, as it would be many times more expensive. It is more likely that the maltodextrin is USA made from corn, but to be 100% sure why not call them?  Let us know what you find out.

Also, in Europe maltodextrin is made from "maize, wheat and potato starch," and not from beer:

According to Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maltodextrin :

  • "Maltodextrin can be enzymatically derived from any starch. In the US, this starch is usually corn; in Europe, it is common to use wheat. In the European Union, wheat-derived maltodextrin is exempt from labeling, as set out in Annex II of EC Directive No 1169/2011.[3] In the United States, however, it is not exempt from allergen declaration per the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act, and its effect on a voluntary gluten-free claim must be evaluated on a case-by-case basis per the applicable Food and Drug Administration policy."

So if they did import the ingredient, they would still be required to list it on the ingredients like this: maltodextrin (from wheat)

and at the end of the ingredients the allergen declaration would need to say: Contains wheat.

Elisabeth Gerritsen Explorer
3 hours ago, Scott Adams said:

Since the company is based in Eugene, Oregon it's highly doubtful that they would pay to import the ingredient from Europe, as it would be many times more expensive. It is more likely that the maltodextrin is USA made from corn, but to be 100% sure why not call them?  Let us know what you find out.

Also, in Europe maltodextrin is made from "maize, wheat and potato starch," and not from beer:

According to Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maltodextrin :

  • "Maltodextrin can be enzymatically derived from any starch. In the US, this starch is usually corn; in Europe, it is common to use wheat. In the European Union, wheat-derived maltodextrin is exempt from labeling, as set out in Annex II of EC Directive No 1169/2011.[3] In the United States, however, it is not exempt from allergen declaration per the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act, and its effect on a voluntary gluten-free claim must be evaluated on a case-by-case basis per the applicable Food and Drug Administration policy."

So if they did import the ingredient, they would still be required to list it on the ingredients like this: maltodextrin (from wheat)

and at the end of the ingredients the allergen declaration would need to say: Contains wheat.

Because I live in the Netherlands, and my husband used to work at the DSM-factory (where maltodextrine is made), I know that they used to buy the foam of the beer breweries. This foam is called malt (from malt beer) Hence the name maltodextrin. We have  a few breweries in the south of Holland.  Lately they used patatoes in stead, but after two years of not much rain, potatoes became very expensive. So I am not sure if they went back to  the breweries for malt.

Awol cast iron stomach Experienced

Just a side note  After my gluten challenge I became intolerant of corn starch, corn dervatives like corn sourced maltodextrin. I also had problems with benzoates ex sodium benzoates. If you are recently diagnosed you may have or developed an intolerance to one of the additive ingredients. Take notes per food dairy to try to determine the culprit.

Good luck 

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,659
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Amanda chef
    Newest Member
    Amanda chef
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Mary Miller A! May I ask, you say you are new to this online community but how long ago were you diagnosed as having celiac disease? You seem to have a good awareness of cross contamination issues but have you considered cross reactivity issues? Some of your cross contamination concerns should be addressed by FDA disclosure regulations having been put in place in recent years that require disclosure of the source of ingredients such as "modified food starch" and "natural flavorings" when they are made from any of the nine FDA recognized major allergens, wheat being one of the nine.  
    • Tracey Thomas
      So I’m back. Sorry for delay this has been a very expensive exhausting experience that I feel is still not resolved. So the reason for the B-12 issue is. Doctor tested me for alpha gal my test came back positive but numbers weren’t high enough for doctors. Meaning allergist., family doctor to think I should be having this kind of reaction. So there for the B-12 vitamins I was taking was a gummie form. So st this time thinking it’s the alpha gal I had to stop everything that was gelatin, anything that couldn’t swim or fly. The ingredients in things. So I’ve done this I’ve cleaned my system and things were getting better. I’m still scared from the hives that broke out all over the upper part of my body from trunk up. Scaring is on stomach and back area in some places. So any how I had allergy test done doctor said I wasn’t allergic to wheat that I was fine to eat gluten. So I still avoided gluten just to make sure. Well around Christmas I thought maybe I could try a little dessert so I did and I could tell over time it was making me tired but it was so good. So time went on and I tried natures own butter bread as toast with my eggs. That was ok couldn’t really tell anything so I thought darn I might be ok. So I’m eating regular instant oatmeal packs the cinnamon spice. Soon as I finished it my stomach was killing me. The day before I had the same thing but didn’t notice this like this time I ate it. But I did notice a burning itchy area on my left shoulder like collar bone area. Well it’s still there . So it’s same kind of spot that I broke out in prior at the beginning of all this. Now I’m confused my test for celiac which was blood test was negative. My allergist told me he believed I had a major health problem going on that could either be a form of cancer, rheumatoid arthritis, or my hypothyroidism was messed up. So had blood test done for rheumatoid arthritis that came back negative. My thyroid numbers were good I’m on levothyroxine for that. And nothing else was done so left it at alpha gal. Could this still be celiac. 
    • Mary Miller A
      I am new here.  I am really totally frustrated by trying to be as gluten free as possible, only to find out that products being called "gluten free" have serious ingredients that need clarification (like Methocellulose) which can be derived from wheat shafts, "yeast extract" which can be grown on wheat, rye or barley, and issues with companies that claim they are making "wheat free bread in a facility that can cross contaminate because they mostly make wheat bread.  I remember about a month ago reading from the Celiac's Foundation a paper regarding how it is virtually impossible to be "gluten free" (https://celiac.org/gluten-impossible-to-avoid-for-most-people-study-shows/).  And here I am again, with a basketball sized stomach (even when laying down), and frustrated beyond belief.  How do we do this? How do we fix this?  Is it even possible, to fix our diet to be without any possible small grain of gluten in our system?  It's hard emotionally, (not to mention physically;  the gassiness, the bloating, and certainly back door incontinence, as well as gastric problems and lack of nutrition, etc.  How do we fare when we don't even have doctors to advice us in small communities where "celiac's doesn't exist."  I am tired.  Anyone else?
    • Jenn D
      Hi. Did your ema levels ever go negative? My son is 2 years in gluten free and they are still positive.  I'm scared he has refractory celiac disease. Please if anyone has any info greatly appreciate it. His ttg is 3 which is considered normal.
    • MomofGF
      I will have that info soon but it was a laundry list of a test and 9 viles. ok so there were some days she was gluten she barely ate because of the reactions. I told her 3 weeks of atleast 10g’s a day and no gluten-free days. Thanks so much for your help! I didn’t know my suggestion for gluten-free days would have hurt her.    I will come back with the list to make sure the req was proper!! 
×
×
  • Create New...