Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Enforcement Of Labelling Laws


kari

Recommended Posts

kari Apprentice

It is my understanding, through reading posts on this board, that the new labelling laws went into effect january 1, 2006 and require companies to state clearly if a product contains any of the major allergens. I was quite familiar, even before being diagnosed with celiac, with seeing these warnings since I have always been a label reader, and I was used to seeing things like contains wheat, or contains milk, in capital bold print under the ingredients. I understand that companies are allowed to use up their old labels, but here's my situation that made me think of this in the first place - for instance, I used to drink weight watchers smoothies. I have a practice where if i see any allergen listed at all, I know the company is doing it. If nothing is listed, then you have no way of knowing if there are no allergens, or if they just haven't updated the labels yet. In that case, I look for something from the same company that clearly contains milk, and if it doesn't say contains milk, then i don't trust them. so... with the smoothie mix, i was disapointed that they hadn't updated, but it's a product they've had for a while, so it made sense that they wouldn't have made the total transition yet. I emailed them to ask about the ingredients, and got the run around from them 4 or 5 times. After clearly stating that I purchased many of their products, and had celiac disease, and explained gluten and the forms of it that I can not have, I got an ignorant response about a product that wasn't even the one I had asked about in the first place (or even similar), which said it 'did not contain wheat gluten, but MAY contain oats, barley, or rye, and therefore was suitable for celiacs' - i was irate at their ignorance, lack of detail, and refusal to listen to something I had clearly explained 5 times at this point. ESPECIALLY since this is a weight loss company - food, ingredients, etc. are supposedly their specialty. I found out later, by posting each of the 8 million ingredients in this product on this site, that the smoothies do not have gluten, but by principle and the way my question was answered, I have lost respect for this company and do not want to support them by purchasing their products.

So, I was in the grocery store today and saw that Weight Watchers has a new yogurt. It clearly did not exist before the new labelling laws went into effect, so there would be no reason to use up old packaging, since it is a brand new product. Obviously yogurt is a milk containing product, and thus should carry the bold type that states CONTAINS MILK per the labelling laws, so I was curious to check it out - of course, once again, long list of undecipherable chemical sounding ingredients that I can't imagine could all fit in one tiny cup of yogurt - but no allergen warning.

I wonder how many other companies are doing this? can they get away with just blatantly disregarding this new rule? What are the limits and restrictions? How is it enforced? How can we help it be enforced? Just as I was getting excited about how the new rules for labelling would make my life one giant step easier, this is a giant frustration to me (and i'm assuming everyone here) because now we're all back to step one, where we can't trust any product without a phd in ingredient deciphering it seems.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lovegrov Collaborator

Did the yogurt list milk in the ingredients? If so, that's all they needed to do. The CONTAINS: "whatever" is not required.

richard

kari Apprentice
Did the yogurt list milk in the ingredients? If so, that's all they needed to do. The CONTAINS: "whatever" is not required.

richard

that's exactly my point - obviously yogurt contains milk - but at the bottom, it doesn't say 'contains milk', which means if it contains wheat, or anything else that is an allergen, they aren't printing it on the label the way they are supposed to

penguin Community Regular
that's exactly my point - obviously yogurt contains milk - but at the bottom, it doesn't say 'contains milk', which means if it contains wheat, or anything else that is an allergen, they aren't printing it on the label the way they are supposed to

I think you're kind of missing the point. These are the ingredients for Dannon fruit on the bottom blueberry yogurt (example only):

Ingredients:

Cultured grade A lowfat milk, blueberries, sugar, fructose syrup, high fructose corn syrup, contains less than 1% of modified corn starch, pectin, kosher gelatin, sodium phosphate, malic acid, natural flavor, calcium phosphate. Contains active yogurt cultures including L. acidophilus.

Because milk is explicitly labeled in the ingredient statement, they don't have to have the "contains: milk" statement, because duh, milk has milk in it.

But say your sour cream and onion potato chips list "whey" as an ingredient, they would have to put the "contains: milk" statement at the bottom, because whey isn't explicit.

Pick up a bag of wheat flour and read the ingredients, I bet it doesn't say "contains: wheat" at the bottom, because it's explicitly named in the ingredient statement.

Hope that clears things up :)

mmaccartney Explorer
But say your sour cream and onion potato chips list "whey" as an ingredient, they would have to put the "contains: milk" statement at the bottom, because whey isn't explicit.

OR they can list it buried in the ingredients as:

Blueberries, sugar, fructose syrup, whey (milk), high fructose corn syrup, contains less than 1% of modified corn starch, pectin, kosher gelatin, sodium phosphate, malic acid, natural flavor, calcium phosphate.

I'm only boldfacing it to highlight, the manufactorer does not have to highlight it.

Susan123 Rookie

So let me get this straight because I was having problems with it to... If it is not listed after contains:.... then it will say in the ingredients wheat not modified food starch or something hidden.

gabby Enthusiast

Just a note on getting answers when you phone/e-mail a company (and I mean ANY type of company)

If you don't get anywhere with the customer service people, then try this: find out the contact information for someone in the Media Relations department. And then e-mail them about the not-very-nice responses you've been getting from customer service. And restate you inital question. Media relations people tend to be more in-tune with the needs and desires of their customers. Everytime I've tried this, the media relations person is horrified, apologetic, and then quite helpful. And they are usually really friendly too.

hope this helps,


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lovegrov Collaborator

Here's my understanding:

If a product contains one of the eight top allergens (fish, seafood, peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, dairy, soy or eggs) or one of the allergens is used in processing, that allergen must be clearly listed in some way. If the manufacturer wants to put CONTAINS: WHEAT at the bottom they can do that. If they want to put it in the ingredient list, they can do that. They don't have to do both. If the ingredients say modified food starch but wheat isn't listed anywhere, then the MFS is from something else like corn, potato, tapioca. I've never heard of modified barley or rye starch.

I think it's always a bad idea just to look at the CONTAINS statement even if it has one. If you do that, you might miss the oats or malt flavor in the ingredients list.

richard

jerseyangel Proficient

I agree with Richard--always best to read the whole label. On a related note, I bought a box of My T Fine butterscotch pudding last weekend. It had 'modified food starch' listed in the ingredients. No allergens listed--an older box, I'm sure. Anyway, I called and the butterscotch flavor is NOT gluten-free. So, even with the new law, I think it's wise to read the entire label, and if there are no allergens listed, continue to call because all of the old packaging is not off the shelves yet.

Merika Contributor

I had a rep at a company tell me it was November 2006 that the labelling laws go into effect.

All disclaimers,

Merika

kari Apprentice

i understand what you're saying... the specific flavor I looked at (I don't rememeber which one, it was the first one I reached for on the shelf) had a long long list of chemically sounding ingredient names, none of which was 'milk' or any variation thereof. 0bviously, being yogurt, at least one of those ingredients is a milk product, but none said that they were. and there was no 'contains: milk' etc on the label. long story short - i once again emailed / called the company and got the run around several times over - decided to chance it at ate the yogurt a few times since, hey, it's yogurt, it should be gluten free, right? And was sick for almost a full week after. thank you, weight watchers, for refusing to answer my question.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,897
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    ItchyPap
    Newest Member
    ItchyPap
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Tyoung
      Hello! I was recently diagnosed with celiacs and mild chronic gastritis was noted on my EGD as well. My GI did not even bring up the gastritis and when I asked she brushed it off. I really want to heal my gut completely not just from celiacs but also the gastritis. Did anyone else have this at diagnosis? Were you able to treat it? Was it associated with celiacs or something entirely different? Thank you!!
    • plumbago
      The last time my vitamin D was very low, according to a lab test, was before I was diagnosed with celiac disease. I've been supplementing ever since, and now the numbers on the lab tests are within their normal ranges, oftentimes way above. I've also been supplementing with methylcobalamin (B12) since I was low before diagnosis in 2010, and now I'm fine. I'm surprised I ever requested a folate level, but I did, in 2019. Result 9.4 ng/mL (range >3.0).    
    • Captain173
      Do you have any links that show studies where NCGS and/or infections have caused high Ttg iga levels.  I've yet to see anything that truly supports this. Everything I've read says the high levels are celiac specific.
    • gailc
      I get coughing and choking from canola oil. I cough up stuff.  Symptom is like bronchitis.  I have gluten intolerance, maybe celiac.  the choking persists for about a week, it simulates a cold.  I got it from the gluten free menu at Outback too, that time I got cramps for 25 hours. the cramps start about 20 minutes after finishing eating.  
    • Wheatwacked
      Many of the symptoms, there are over 200, associated with celiac disease and NCGS are vitamin and mineral deficiencies caused by small intestine damage in the case of celiac disease and food avoidance and the poor nutrittion of the Modern American Diet (MAD) I used to turn the heat on even at 78 degrees.  The 600 mcg of Liquid Iodine helped.  Also good for hair, nails, skin and brain fog.  Another good thing for brain fog is phosphatyl choline.  It is essentil for acetylcholine- a brain chemical. I have familial hyperlipdemia and instead of a statin I got a prescription for Nicotinic Acid, 2000 mg a day.  I was already taking 500 mg a day and was really surprised when my HDL when up to  44 and I began sleeping better and my legs and back are getting more flexible.  In addition after the first few doses of itchiness I get a warm fuzzy feeling Raising your vitamin D is crucial.  Low vitamin D allows the immune system to run amuck. intermittent bouts of fatigue, chills/cold intolerance, and shortness of breath/air hunger (sometimes feels like a hollowness in my chest, hard to describe).  Look at Thiamin deficiency. consistently ran hot, was always cranking the a/c, to someone who wears a down vest.  Any combination of deficiencies in B1, B2, B3, B5, choline and Iodine can cause this.  Likely all of them. After a lifetime of mouthbreathing GFD cleared my sinuses.  Post nasal drip is my first symptom of cross contamination nowaday.  
×
×
  • Create New...