Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Herb and Spice Kraft Chip Dip


MitziTremblay

Recommended Posts

MitziTremblay Newbie

I was snacking on some chips and dip today and noticed on my Kraft Herb and spice dip that yeast extract is listed as an ingredient. I later started getting my normal celiac symptoms. Just wondering if it could be from this? Does any one know if this chip dip is gluten free? 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



knitty kitty Grand Master

@MitziTremblay,

Welcome to the forum!

While the dip may be gluten free, dairy and yeast can cause a reaction because they contain protein structures similar to gluten that the Celiac anti-gluten antibodies attack...

Similar to the story of the three blind men and the elephant in which one blind man who was led to the elephant's trunk and said the animal was like a snake, while another blind man who was led to the leg said the animal was like a tree, and the third blind man feeling the tail said the elephant was made of rope.  

In a similar way, anti-gluten antibodies react to different parts of the lumpy gluten proteins. Other foods containing lumpy proteins similar to whatever part the different anti-gluten antibodies recognize will cause a reaction.  Like the three blind men, the different anti-gluten antibodies raise an alarm to attack when they come in contact with a globular protein segment they recognize.  

Studies have shown that yeast protein and the protein casein in dairy products have structures similar to different parts of the gluten proteins. 

Some people react to the proteins in maize (corn), rice protein, chicken meat protein, and the protein in oats (avenin), as well as dairy (casein), and yeast.  

Everyone is different. But avoiding these until your system is calmer and reintroducing them later might be the best way to go for now.  

Hope this helps!

ravenwoodglass Mentor

Kraft is good at labeling allergens and thought I would give you their statement which has a number you can note if you feel you want to contact them.

https://www.myfoodandfamily.com/faq/how-do-i-obtain-allergen-information-about-your-products?id=7b4702fd-12b6-4caa-9b40-089fca155f24

“Please note our products are produced and labeled in compliance with the FDA.   When labeling products, we consider - and label for - all possible sources of the 8 major allergens recognized by the FDA.  These are eggs, fish, crustacean, shellfish, milk, peanuts, soy, tree nuts and wheat.  Kraft Heinz also labels for additional allergens or substances of interest including celery,  mustard, lupin, mollusks, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, poppyseeds, cottonseed, all sources of gluten, and sulfites in levels over 10 ppm.  If any of these substances are added to the product, they will be listed in the Ingredient Statement.    

Our Consumer Representatives at 1-877-677-3268 will happy to help you with any questions you have concerning allergens and our products.”

As Kitty stated some of us will react even to items that are gluten free due to other intolerances. to make things even more confusing for us in some our reactions to gluten are delayed. For example in myself it takes 3 days for the upset tummy to appear although some other issues will show up first.

If possible while you are healing go for as much whole foods as you can, meats, fish, veggies, fruit etc. Hope you are feeling better soon.

Scott Adams Grand Master

Yeast extract is another term for MSG, and some people are sensitive to it even though it’s gluten-free. This article may be helpful:

 

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,793
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Oli1904
    Newest Member
    Oli1904
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...