This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

How long to eat gluten before blood test

ChanDaMan

ChanDaMan Newbie

Hello, I have been eating gluten for 24 years with no diagnosis of celiac. I have always had stomach problems but never got checked out. Recently, I tried a gluten free diet and I feel a lot better with symptoms improving. My PCP just gave me a blood test order and he told me to go back to eating gluten for 1 week before I get tested. I've been gluten free for just over a month. Is 1 week long enough to get a valid result?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

trents Grand Master
18 minutes ago, ChanDaMan said:

Hello, I have been eating gluten for 24 years with no diagnosis of celiac. I have always had stomach problems but never got checked out. Recently, I tried a gluten free diet and I feel a lot better with symptoms improving. My PCP just gave me a blood test order and he told me to go back to eating gluten for 1 week before I get tested. I've been gluten free for just over a month. Is 1 week long enough to get a valid result?

No. The mayo clinic official recommendation for the gluten challenge leading up to the serum antibody test is to consume an amount of gluten equivalent to 2 slices of wheat bread daily for 6-8 weeks.

Scott Adams Grand Master

The Mayo clinic recommends eating at least 2 slices of bread for 6-8 weeks before a blood screening for celiac disease, and 2 weeks for an endoscope:

ChanDaMan Newbie
1 hour ago, Scott Adams said: