Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


Leslie Clark
Go to solution Solved by Scott Adams,

Recommended Posts

Leslie Clark Newbie

Recently diagnosed with Celiac Disease and must have strict gluten-free diet. I'm learning that even the distilled vinegar in ketchup can be with wheat (I'm super sensitive). My frustration comes with NOT knowing for certain and don't mind reading labels, but if the manufacturer of the food I might want to eat, won't just say what they've used, dangit, I go without it. I'm TRYING to be a good patient, but it's always the little hidden gluten that sets me into a flare .... I just want to eat and not have diarrhea because the food has gluten in it. I'm still learning and love all tips and tricks and fiber supplement recommendations anyone can give me. THANK YOU!!

 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



trents Grand Master
(edited)

Welcome to the forum, Leslie!

Theoretically at least, distilling should remove all nonvolatile substances so distilled vinegar will actually be gluten free. But not all vinegar is distilled and some of the ones that are not distilled and are made from grains (like malt vinegar) would be a problem for celiacs. Having said that, I am also aware that there are those on this forum who claim to get glutened from even distilled spirits. We are not sure why this is. People have conjectured that some cross contamination may happen if the spirits are stored in barrels sealed with wheat paste. Look for catsup made from distilled white vinegar. You may have to contact the manufacturer to find out that much ingredient detail.

There is also the possibility that some other ingredient in that catsup brand does contain some gluten. Does it say "gluten free" on the container?

Edited by trents
captaincrab55 Collaborator

FYI, Heinz Ketchup is safe for me, but Hunts Ketchup sets off my Dermatitis Herpetiformis.   Distilled flavored vinegar may be a problem if the flavoring contains gluten.   Many of your questions have already been answered here.     You just need to use the site search function for most of your questions .

 

Leslie Clark Newbie

Thank you for your input!!

I WILL search for related answers previously posted.

I'm new to the forum, so ... learning curve.

  • 5 weeks later...
  • Solution
Scott Adams Grand Master

There articles might be helpful:

 

 

  • 1 year later...
Manaan2 Rookie

I realize I'm super late in the game regarding this topic but in case anyone is still reading/commenting on this one-does anyone who is especially sensitive have their personal observations to share regarding Primal Kitchen brand?  My daughter was diagnosed almost 2 years ago with celiac and within 6 months, her follow up labs were normal and a year later vitamin levels significantly improving, but we are still battling GI symptoms; particularly, constipation, so much that she has been on MiraLax every day since she was 3.  We've managed to get her down to a half cap every other day but without that, she continues to have issues (when she has a known, accidental ingestion unfortunately it takes a lot more MiraLax and additional laxatives to help her).  I was searching for something else and found this and am wondering if anyone has any specific comments regarding Primal Kitchen.  I feel like we are so incredibly careful with diet, logging diet and symptoms to look for patterns (we've had multiple dieticians help with this piece as well), not eating out, contacting companies and of course, there is always room for improvement but I'm running out of ideas regarding where her issues could be coming from.  Even if the Primal Kitchen is contributing, I'm sure it's not the only thing contributing but I can't help but think there must be handful of things that are working together and against her.  The ingredients list distilled white vinegar, but also white wine vinegar and balsamic, then "spices" which I'm always cautious about.  However, after contacting the company, I felt more comfortable allowing her to consume their products but over time I've realized that the front-line customer service support people don't always provide the most accurate of information.  Thanks for reading to anyone that does.   

trents Grand Master
(edited)

@Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.

Edited by trents

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Manaan2 Rookie

Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   

Scott Adams Grand Master

I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps.

Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months.

Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal.

This article may be helpful:

 

 

Manaan2 Rookie
22 hours ago, Scott Adams said:

I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps.

Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months.

Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal.

This article may be helpful:

 

Thank you for posting this and for all of the ongoing information you provide on this site.  Our stress level with managing our daughter's celiac disease would be much higher without this site as a resource.  

knitty kitty Grand Master

@Manaan2,

You may want to consider switching from Miralax (polyethylene glycol) to magnesium citrate and Thiamine supplements.  

When I was prescribed Miralax for constipation, I developed worsened gastrointestinal problems, including worsening leaky gut syndrome.  Since polyethylene glycol is a synthetic chemical made from petroleum or coal byproducts, I was uncomfortable with that.  

Miralax can cause poor vitamin absorption, flushing vitamins and minerals away before they can be absorbed.  Miralax can cause electrolyte imbalances, meaning low magnesium.  Low magnesium levels can cause constipation.  Low Thiamine Vitamin B1 can cause constipation as well.  Magnesium and Thiamine work together to make life sustaining enzymes.  Without sufficient thiamine and magnesium, the gastrointestinal tract slows down resulting in constipation, a sort of catch twenty-two.  

I quit taking Miralax.  I took a form of Thiamine, Benfotiamine 250-300 mg, at the beginning of every meal and 200mg magnesium citrate or magnesium glycinate or magnesium l-threonate (Neuromag) at the end of every meal.  My constipation resolved quickly.  When my stool got too loose, I simply reduced the amount of magnesium.  I did not reduce Benfotiamine which has been shown to promote intestinal health and reduce leaky gut syndrome.  If thiamine at night gives too much energy to fall asleep at night, skip the Benfotiamine at the last evening meal.

Blood tests ate not accurate measures of vitamin sufficiency.  The best way to check for Thiamine insufficiency is to take it and look for health improvement within a few days.  Thiamine is water soluble, easily excreted in urine if not needed.  Thiamine is safe and nontoxic when used in high doses.  No harm in trying, just to rule this out.  

Best wishes.  Do keep us posted on your daughter's progress!

Manaan2 Rookie

@knitty kitty I can't thank you enough!  My husband and I already started looking into those supplements.  We definitely plan to give it a try.  We've been against the Miralax since it was originally advised by PCP, but because of the level of pain she experienced on a daily basis, we decided to try it.  We've made many attempts to gradually decrease but due to her pain and related symptoms, we've kept her on it while trying all sorts of other dietary adjustments pre and post diagnosis specific to food; so far none of those efforts have made a significant difference.  I will definitely share how she's doing along the way!

knitty kitty Grand Master
(edited)

@Manaan2

I'm so happy to hear you're going to try thiamine and magnesium!  Do let us know the results!  

You may want to add a B 50 Complex with two meals of the day to help boost absorption.  Thiamine interacts with each of the other B vitamins which are all water soluble.  

When supplementing magnesium, make sure to get sufficient calcium.  Calcium and magnesium need to be kept in balance.  If you choose a calcium supplement, take two hours apart from magnesium as they compete for absorption.  Take Calcium with Vitamin D.  Vitamin D helps calm the immune system.  

For pain, I use a combination of thiamine, B12 Cobalamine, and Pyridoxine B6.  These three vitamins together have analgesic effects.  My preferred brand is "GSG 12X Takeda ALINAMIN EX Plus Vitamin B1 B6 B12 Health Supplementary from Japan 120 Tablets".  Alinamin is another form of thiamine.  It really is excellent at relieving my back pain from crushed vertebrae without side effects and no grogginess.  

Look into the low histamine version of the Autoimmune Protocol Duet (Dr. Sarah Ballentyne, a Celiac herself, developed it.)  It really helps heal the intestines, too.  It's like a vacation for the digestive system.  Add foods back gradually over several weeks after feeling better.  

I'm so happy to have pointed the way on your journey!  Let us know how the journey progresses!

P. S. Add a Potassium supplement, too.  Potassium is another electrolyte, like magnessium, that we need.

Edited by knitty kitty
Added Post Script
Manaan2 Rookie

@knitty kitty 

The information you've provided is invaluable!  I have a lot more homework to do before we make the official switch but you have significantly increased my hope that we can get her off Miralax (she started at 3 years old and is almost 8!).  This weekend my husband and I plan to solidify all the details for a start point, then adjust as we go along.  I realize that everyone's body is different, then there's also the fact that she's a child but just out of curiosity if you don't mind sharing and if you'd rather not, no problem at all-how long did you take Miralax before switching and when you switched, did you just completely stop the Miralax or was there a period where you did Miralax and the supplements?  I plan to research that piece this weekend but just curious what you did.  

knitty kitty Grand Master

@Manaan2,

I was on Miralax for several months after I crushed three vertebrae and fractured my hip.  The compression fractures of my vertebrae affected the Vagus nerve that stimulates digestion and intestinal movement, peristalsis.

Miralax just didn't relieve the constipation I was experiencing at all.  Nothing budged. 

I tried Milk of Magnesia (magnesium oxide) which pulls water into the digestive tract, and found that rather harsh and dehydrating.   Bad idea.

I was already taking thiamine in various forms, Benfotiamine, TTFD (tetrahydrofurfuryl  disulfude), Lipothiamine and Allithiamine.  Click on my name, then Activities in the pull down menu to get to my blog to learn more about my journey with thiamine.  

Since we need more thiamine when we are physically ill and emotionally stressed, I decided to focus on TTFD,  Benfotiamine, and magnesium l-threonate.  Within a week of increasing my doses a bit, my constipation was gone.  It took several more months to heal the compressed nerve damage.  For pain, I take a combination of TTFD, Pyridoxine B 6, and  Cobalamine B12 which together have an analgesic effect.  I can't function with pharmaceutical pain killers, besides they cause constipation.  

Mechanisms of action of vitamin B1 (thiamine), B6 (pyridoxine), and B12 (cobalamin) in pain: a narrative review

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/35156556/

Yes, I did just stop the Miralax, but I wasn't on it as long as your daughter.  Yes, there's a difference between adults and children.  Yes, my circumstances were different than your daughter's, but thiamine deficiency does affect the nerves and the brain.  A twenty percent increase in dietary thiamine causes an eighty percent increase in brain function (which activates the Vagus nerve and controls digestion).  

I recommend you visit Dr. Chandler Marrs' website, hormonesmatter.com.  Dr. Marrs worked with Dr. Derrick Longsdale, a pioneer in thiamine research, specifically with children and autism spectrum disorders.  She has been very helpful to me when I reached out to her.  She would be better able to guide you about your daughter's care.

https://hormonesmatter.com/sibo-ibs-constipation-thiamine-deficiency/#google_vignette

Do stay in touch, please.  You can start another thread or personal message me any time.  My heart goes out to you, your husband, and especially your daughter.  

Namaste

Mynx Newbie
On 3/11/2023 at 6:18 PM, Leslie Clark said:

Recently diagnosed with Celiac Disease and must have strict gluten-free diet. I'm learning that even the distilled vinegar in ketchup can be with wheat (I'm super sensitive). My frustration comes with NOT knowing for certain and don't mind reading labels, but if the manufacturer of the food I might want to eat, won't just say what they've used, dangit, I go without it. I'm TRYING to be a good patient, but it's always the little hidden gluten that sets me into a flare .... I just want to eat and not have diarrhea because the food has gluten in it. I'm still learning and love all tips and tricks and fiber supplement recommendations anyone can give me. THANK YOU!!

 

Many people will tell you that distilled vinegar is gluten free. The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process. Most people don't react to distilled vinegar. However, there is a very small group who are 100% gluten intolerant. I'm in thos group. Unless I make homemade ketchup using apple cider vinegar. The rest of the ingredients are gluten free. I have to research every ingredient on a label that I don't already know is gluten free. It's not easy but health wise, it's worth it. 

Mynx Newbie
On 3/11/2023 at 7:36 PM, trents said:

Welcome to the forum, Leslie!

Theoretically at least, distilling should remove all nonvolatile substances so distilled vinegar will actually be gluten free. But not all vinegar is distilled and some of the ones that are not distilled and are made from grains (like malt vinegar) would be a problem for celiacs. Having said that, I am also aware that there are those on this forum who claim to get glutened from even distilled spirits. We are not sure why this is. People have conjectured that some cross contamination may happen if the spirits are stored in barrels sealed with wheat paste. Look for catsup made from distilled white vinegar. You may have to contact the manufacturer to find out that much ingredient detail.

There is also the possibility that some other ingredient in that catsup brand does contain some gluten. Does it say "gluten free" on the container?

It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 

trents Grand Master

@Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process."

I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.

Mynx Newbie
On 3/11/2023 at 7:37 PM, captaincrab55 said:

FYI, Heinz Ketchup is safe for me, but Hunts Ketchup sets off my Dermatitis Herpetiformis.   Distilled flavored vinegar may be a problem if the flavoring contains gluten.   Many of your questions have already been answered here.     You just need to use the site search function for most of your questions .

 

The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 

Mynx Newbie
Just now, trents said:

@Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process."

I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.

No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 

trents Grand Master

Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification. 

In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.

Scott Adams Grand Master
13 hours ago, Mynx said:

Many people will tell you that distilled vinegar is gluten free. The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process. Most people don't react to distilled vinegar. However, there is a very small group who are 100% gluten intolerant. I'm in thos group. Unless I make homemade ketchup using apple cider vinegar. The rest of the ingredients are gluten free. I have to research every ingredient on a label that I don't already know is gluten free. It's not easy but health wise, it's worth it. 

Many major brands of distilled vinegar in the USA, including Heinz white vinegar, are typically made from corn. In the United States, corn is a common and cost-effective raw material used in the production of distilled white vinegar. The process involves fermenting the sugars derived from corn into alcohol, which is then further fermented into acetic acid to produce vinegar. Distillation follows, which purifies the liquid and removes impurities, including any residual proteins or allergens. While the source of the vinegar (e.g., corn) is not always explicitly stated on the label, corn-derived vinegar is widely used in the food industry due to its neutral flavor and affordability. For individuals with gluten intolerance or celiac disease, distilled vinegar made from corn is generally considered safe, as the distillation process effectively removes gluten proteins. However, if you have concerns about cross-contamination or specific sensitivities, it’s always a good idea to contact the manufacturer directly to confirm the sourcing and production practices. Heinz, for example, has stated that their distilled white vinegar is gluten-free and safe for those with celiac disease, but verifying this information can provide additional peace of mind.

The belief that distilled vinegar is gluten-free is rooted in the scientific understanding that gluten proteins, which are large and complex molecules, are generally too big to pass through the distillation process. Distillation involves heating a liquid to create vapor, which is then condensed back into a liquid form, leaving behind larger molecules like gluten proteins. However, the concern about cross-contamination arises from the possibility that gluten-containing ingredients may have been present in the liquid prior to distillation. While the distillation process itself is highly effective at removing gluten, the equipment used in production could potentially introduce trace amounts of gluten if not thoroughly cleaned between batches. For most individuals with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease, distilled vinegar is considered safe because the gluten content, if any, is typically below the threshold that would trigger a reaction. However, for those with extreme gluten intolerance or celiac disease, even trace amounts can cause adverse effects. This is why some individuals, like yourself, may choose to avoid commercially produced distilled vinegar and opt for alternatives like apple cider vinegar, which can be verified as gluten-free. The meticulous process of researching ingredients and preparing homemade products, such as ketchup, is indeed challenging but crucial for maintaining health and avoiding gluten exposure. It’s important to note that regulatory standards for gluten-free labeling vary by region, and in many places, products labeled "gluten-free" must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten, which is considered safe for the vast majority of people with celiac disease. Nonetheless, individual sensitivity levels can vary, and your approach highlights the importance of personalized dietary management for those with severe gluten intolerance.

Scott Adams Grand Master

@Mynx, how long have you been gluten-free? I ask because many newly diagnosed celiacs react to many things, and often think their reactions are caused by gluten, when in fact, they are really caused by a combination of a sensitive gut due to damage, as well as additional food intolerance/leaky gut issues to other foods which may be temporary until their villi heal.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Bebygirl01's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    2. - Bebygirl01 posted a topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    3. - Scott Adams replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    4. - knitty kitty replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    5. - knitty kitty replied to Tyoung's topic in Post Diagnosis, Recovery & Treatment of Celiac Disease
      8

      Increasing symptoms after going gluten free


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,008
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kateobrien1313
    Newest Member
    Kateobrien1313
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      @Bebygirl01, if you want to play word games with the term, "gluten", we can do that. The proteins you list in these other cereal grains besides wheat, barley and rye are somewhat different from that found in wheat, barley and rye and, technically speaking, are not "gluten". Technically speaking, "gluten" should only be applied to a particular protein found in wheat, barley and rye. These other cereal grain proteins have their own names (avenin, secalinin, zein, etc). Unfortunately, confusion has been created in popular and pseudo scientific literature by the informal use of the term "gluten" when talking about the proteins found in these other cereal grains such that you sometimes read about "corn gluten", "oat gluten", "rice gluten", etc. But these are actually misnomers, with "gluten" having been added on as an informal appendage to the actual protein names. Having said that, the protein structures of these other cereal grains is close enough to gluten that, for some people, they can cause a celiac type reaction. But this is not true for most celiacs and those who fall into the NCGS category. Apparently, it is true for you. This whole idea that cereal grains are bad for all of us has been popularized by books such as Dangerous Grains for years but it is not a widely accepted idea in the scientific community.
    • Bebygirl01
      On my Celiac journey and discovered I was also reacting to other types of gluten. The FDA in it's finite wisdom only classifies 'wheat, barley and rye' as the gluten's to be considered when a company tests for and stamps their products as gluten free. I am curious as to how many of you are aware of the other types of glutens? And another question to those on a 'traditional' gluten free diet , who are also still sick and struggling, are you also reacting to these other types of gluten as listed below? NOTE:  The new movement if you want to call it that, is now called 'grain free' and that is the true definition of gluten free. I no longer suffer with ataxia, confusion, anxiety, depression, OCD, Insomnia, ADD, acid reflux, dermatitis herpetiformis, migraines, headaches, and weight issues all due to going 'grain free'. I hope to reach as many of you out there that are still struggling and unaware of what might be setting you off such as my most recent glutening was from a vegan supplement that contained 'magnesium sterate' and 'glucose syrup' both of which are from Zien (zane) gluten at 55%. I was covered in sores that were bleeding, I was seeing squigly lines when I was trying to drive, had acid reflux, insomnia, and nightmares all from the gluten in Corn. Here are the other types of glutens that Celiacs and Gluten Intolerant people also react to: Wheat -Alpha Gliadin Gluten- 69% Rye - Secalinin gluten-30-50% Oats-Avenin gluten -16% Barley-Hordein Gluten -46-52% Millet-Panicin Gluten-40% Corn-Zien Gluten -55% Rice-Orzenin Gluten-5% Sorghum-Kafirin gluten-52% and Teff-Penniseiten Gluten 11%.
    • Scott Adams
      I just want to mention again that IF thimerosal is used in a flu vaccine the amount of ethylmercury in a single vaccine dose would be extremely small, typically around 25 micrograms (µg) or less. For context, this is much lower than the levels of methylmercury found in some seafood. Ethylmercury is metabolized and excreted from the body much faster than methylmercury. Its half-life in the blood is about 7 days, compared to methylmercury, which can persist for months. The dose of ethylmercury in vaccines is far below the threshold known to cause toxicity so would not require chelation.
    • knitty kitty
      If you have poor reactions to vaccines, preservatives, sugar alcohols and metals, you may be deficient in Thiamine Vitamin B1.  Thiamine is needed in the immune response and production of antibodies.  Thiamine can be depleted by vaccines if you are already low to begin with due to the Malabsorption of Celiac Disease.  Thiamine can be destroyed by sulfide preservatives in vaccines, which can result in the body's poor response to vaccines.  Thiamine also chelates metals which allows those metals to be removed in the feces.  Chelation removes thiamine from the body, resulting in a state of thiamine deficiency.  Sugar alcohols need to be processed through the liver using thiamine.  Again, if you're low in thiamine as many Celiac are because of the Malabsorption of celiac disease, vaccines can be a tipping point, resulting in a thiamine deficient state. High doses of Thiamine required to correct thiamine deficiency states are safe and nontoxic.  Thiamine has no toxicity level.  Thiamine and the other B vitamins need to be taken together because they interact together to sustain health.   References: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25542071/ https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8533683/
    • knitty kitty
      @Pasballard, Keep in mind those gluten free processed snacks are not required to have vitamins and minerals added to them to replace vitamins lost in processing like gluten containing products.   We need the eight essential B vitamins to turn those carbs into energy to fuel our bodies and make enzymes that sustain life.  Sudden weight gain (or weight loss) can be symptomatic of Thiamine Vitamin B1 deficiency.  Thiamine is the B vitamin with the shortest storage time, and so  thiamine deficiency shows up first with vague symptoms like weight gain or loss, fatigue, not sleeping well, achy or cramping muscles, digestive issues and headaches.   Taking vitamin and mineral supplements helps boost your body's ability to absorb these nutrients which keeps our bodies healthy.  B Complex vitamins and Vitamin D (which regulates inflammation) are usually low in people with Celiac disease.  Talk to your doctor and nutritionist about supplementing.
×
×
  • Create New...