Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Is Goat Milk And Goat Cheese O.k.?


taneil

Recommended Posts

taneil Apprentice

I was tested through enterolabs and was found to be sensitive to cow's milk as well as gluten (surprise, surprise :rolleyes: ). Does anyone know if goat's milk has the same reaction? Well I ate chicken stuffed with sun-dried tomatoes and goat cheese for dinner... it was yummy. But wasn't sure if I should stay away from goat products also. I eat Kefir made from Raw Cow's milk pretty much everyday and haven't had any problems with it. Anyone have any thoughts?

I actually haven't had the classic celiac disease symptoms. I tested positive for Hashimoto's Hypothyroidism and so had the enterolab test done. Everything tested positive and I have both genes. So I am now gluten-free for life, but don't want to be milk-free for life... Like I said, I dodn't get stomachaches, loose stools or such...gluten triggers my Thyroid to wack out and it also damaged my instines but no real bad symptoms. so what are your thougts?

Thanks


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Guest LisaB

My Mom does alright on goat's milk but can't tolerate cow's milk yet anyway. I am not sure if the test from Enterolab is saying that you currently can't tolerate milk or your genetically milk intolerant?

taneil Apprentice

Enterolab says I am sensitive to Cow's milk protein (Caesin). I don't think it necessarily means genetically.

Guest LisaB

I don't know if you were told (or read yet) that Celiac patients usually cannot digest milk well until their intestines heal up (usually 6 months to 2 years). For me it was at about 6 months that I tried it again since I had heard others reintroduced it about then, I am doing alright with it now. My Mom as I mentioned earlier still hasn't healed enough for cow's milk but tried goat milk since we had heard it is easier to digest and she can tolerate it at least in small amounts and seems to be o.k. with butter and chedder cheese.

I'm not much help I know, sorry...hopefully someone else can add more.

taneil Apprentice

Thank you Lisa. Yes I know that most Celiacs have problems with milk until the instines heal. I just wasn't sure how long I need to wait before trying Cow's Milk again, so thought I might do goat products until then.

I think I will wait on both for a while, though I didn't seem to do bad with the goat cheese.

Thank you for your response.

Guest aramgard

I have been gluten free for 3 years, but still have problems with Cow milk and drink only goat milk, which does not bother me at all. Most cheese now doesn't bother me so maybe, some day I can go back to regular milk. But for now I'm beginning to like goat milk. Shirley

mat4mel Apprentice

I posted a similar question the in the kids forum.. wondering when I should reintroduce dairy to my 2 yr old. She has been gluten-free/CF for about 3 weeks now and just started having normal bowel movements again last week. I don't necessarily want to give her cows milk to drink, but would like to have pizza and mexican food again!

mel


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



cornflake girl Newbie

Please someone correct me if I'm wrong, and I certainly hope that I am, but I thought that the Enterolab casein sensitivity test being positive meant that you should be casein free for life. I tested positive for this also and I am absolutely dying for some cheese! I think it means that your body is experiencing an immunologic reaction to casein and it should always be avoided. This is different than celiacs who simply cannot properly digest lactose because their villi are so damaged. Once the villi heals they will probably be able to digest it again. Please, someone tell me that I'm wrong and that I'll be able to eat cheese again!

Guest aramgard

Unfortunately, you are absolutely right. Shirley

taneil Apprentice

About cornflake girl's question...I don't know and wouldn't doubt that Shirley is correct, but what about this ?

I know from reading a book on Autism that gluten-free/CF diets greatly improve autistic childrens symptoms. But I also know from reading the book that it talks about how gluten and casein protiens are very similar to each other thus gluten-free/CF is essential to an autistic child. Yet we know that many people with celiac disease are able to tolerate Dairy after the intesines heal, could this be because before the intestines heal the antibodies think that Casein is Gluten since it is so similar and thus problems with casein antibodies. But once the instines heal the distinction between casein and gluten is able to be made and one may then tolerate casein even though previously sensitive?

That is only my hypothisis and I have no clue if I am correct or not, and I have no way of testing it currently, but would be very happy to get input on my poor or messed up reasoning and thoughts.

cornflake girl Newbie

I think that being unable to tolerate it and having an immunologic reaction to it are two separate things. I'm under the impression that the people who go on to be able to digest dairy are not the same people who had the immunologic reaction to dairy in the first place. They simply had a hard time digesting it before the intestines healed. Can anyone verify that?

  • 11 years later...
waprog2 Newbie

Some of us just have the wrong ancestors, and many of us are okay with goat and sheep's milk cheese. I do not recommend this to anyone whose ancestry is not from the Americas.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,792
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    smendelson
    Newest Member
    smendelson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...