Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Too much sugar and salt! But especially sugar


Elizabeth M Blair
Go to solution Solved by Scott Adams,

Recommended Posts

Elizabeth M Blair Contributor

I am having a hard time eating gluten-free.  Diagnosed by endoscopy bioposy a month or so ago.

I don't like sugar on my cereal or my pancakes or in my bread. I do like the occasional sweet treat but do not want my food to have added sugar unless it IS dessert.  I have yet to find a gluten-free bread with no sugar.

Also I read on this forum that it might be a good idea to avoid milk products for the first couple of year after diagnosis.  I am trying to do that and finally found a "milk" without lactose and sugar!  I would really appreciate it if someone with respond to my questions. My friends all act like this is no big deal and are not much. 

I posted these concerns a week or so ago and no one responded.  Are there gluten-free breads out there without sugar?  Are there cereals out there without sugar?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • Solution
Scott Adams Grand Master

Can you tolerate gluten-free oats? If so, you could certainly make them without sugar. There are other hot cereals like this one that has very low sugar:
https://ancientharvest.com/hot-cereal/quinoa-flakes/

As far as breads without sugar you may need to make your own, but this small bakery is supposedly back in business, and they used apple juice as a sweetener and no sugar:

https://grindstonebakery.com/

Elizabeth M Blair Contributor

Scott,  Thank you so much.  It is time I learn to make my own bread because I don't want all the extra sugar in many gluten-free bread products.  I appreciate the links and will look closely at the bread only sweetened by applesauce. 

I did buy gluten-free rolled oats recently and just add prunes and/or raisens.  I like them fine but it does taken time on a business. day.

I appreciate you weighing in!  Thanks so much.

 

Scott Adams Grand Master

This recipe was designed by a scientist, and it uses bananas to sweeten it:

 

RMJ Mentor

A lot of bread recipes include some sugar because that’s what the yeast “eats” in order to grow and form the bubbles that make bread rise.  If it is way down in the ingredient list it may be for the yeast action and the bread probably won’t be very sweet.

Scott Adams Grand Master

Correction, that recipe I posted includes:

2 tablespoons (30 ml) granulated sugar (* omit granulated sugar if using maple syrup in place of molasses)

But it does let you use molasses or maple syrup...you may be able to use a sugar substitute, not sure after @RMJ's post about yeast.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,791
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    smendelson
    Newest Member
    smendelson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...