Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Nescafe 3-in-1 Instant Coffee Mix


Abdel Rahman Al-Shami
Go to solution Solved by Scott Adams,

Recommended Posts

Abdel Rahman Al-Shami Newbie

Hello, I am a celiac patient since March 2023, and since then I had to cut off many products which I am not sure if it’s gluten-free or not. One of them is the Nescafé 3-in-1 instant coffee so I was wondering if anyone is using it, and if it is safe or not. Thank you.

here are the ingredients:

Sugar • Coffee Creamer: (Glucose Syrup •

Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil • Sodium Caseinate (Milk

Protein) • Acidity Regulators: (e340ii • E331iii) • Stabilizers From Synthetic Origin (e452 • E451i) • Emulsifiers Of Plant Origin (e471 • E472e) • Anticaking

Agent (e551) • Salt • Natural Identical Dairy Flavours) • Instant Coffee Powder • Maltodextrin • Natural Identical

Flavours (Dairy • Brown Sugar • Coffee) • Sweetener (Acesulfame K 600mg/kg) • Acidity Regulator (e500)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



trents Grand Master

Welcome to the forum, Abdel Rahman Al-Shami!

You would need to contact the company and ask the source of some things in the recipe: Emulsifiers Of Plant Origin (e471 • E472e), Agent (e551), and Acidity Regulator (e500). Those are the only ingredients that, to me, look like they could be wheat derivatives.

Does the use of this product cause you distress?

 

  • Solution
Scott Adams Grand Master

Here's the breakdown of the additives you've mentioned:

Emulsifiers of Plant Origin (E471 and E472e): E471 is mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, which are commonly derived from plant sources (such as vegetable oils) but can also come from animal fats. E472e is known as mono- and diacetyltartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids (DATEM), and it's typically derived from plant sources. These emulsifiers are generally considered gluten-free, but if they are derived from wheat sources, they would contain gluten. To be sure, you should check with the manufacturer for the specific source of these emulsifiers.

Agent (E551): E551 is silicon dioxide, which is a form of silica. It is naturally occurring and does not contain gluten.

Acidity Regulator (E500): E500 is sodium carbonates, which includes sodium carbonate (soda ash) and sodium bicarbonate (baking soda). These are minerals and are naturally gluten-free.

Keep in mind that while these additives are typically gluten-free, cross-contamination can be a concern, especially in facilities that handle both gluten-containing and gluten-free products. 

Abdel Rahman Al-Shami Newbie
13 hours ago, trents said:

Welcome to the forum, Abdel Rahman Al-Shami!

You would need to contact the company and ask the source of some things in the recipe: Emulsifiers Of Plant Origin (e471 • E472e), Agent (e551), and Acidity Regulator (e500). Those are the only ingredients that, to me, look like they could be wheat derivatives.

Does the use of this product cause you distress?

 

I have not used it since my diagnosis since am not sure about it, but thank you for the information 👍🏽

10 hours ago, Scott Adams said:

Here's the breakdown of the additives you've mentioned:

Emulsifiers of Plant Origin (E471 and E472e): E471 is mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, which are commonly derived from plant sources (such as vegetable oils) but can also come from animal fats. E472e is known as mono- and diacetyltartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids (DATEM), and it's typically derived from plant sources. These emulsifiers are generally considered gluten-free, but if they are derived from wheat sources, they would contain gluten. To be sure, you should check with the manufacturer for the specific source of these emulsifiers.

Agent (E551): E551 is silicon dioxide, which is a form of silica. It is naturally occurring and does not contain gluten.

Acidity Regulator (E500): E500 is sodium carbonates, which includes sodium carbonate (soda ash) and sodium bicarbonate (baking soda). These are minerals and are naturally gluten-free.

Keep in mind that while these additives are typically gluten-free, cross-contamination can be a concern, especially in facilities that handle both gluten-containing and gluten-free products. 

That makes it very clear, thank you for the effort 👍🏽

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,651
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    NancyW
    Newest Member
    NancyW
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jenn D
      Hi. Did your ema levels ever go negative? My son is 2 years in gluten free and they are still positive.  I'm scared he has refractory celiac disease. Please if anyone has any info greatly appreciate it. His ttg is 3 which is considered normal.
    • MomofGF
      I will have that info soon but it was a laundry list of a test and 9 viles. ok so there were some days she was gluten she barely ate because of the reactions. I told her 3 weeks of atleast 10g’s a day and no gluten-free days. Thanks so much for your help! I didn’t know my suggestion for gluten-free days would have hurt her.    I will come back with the list to make sure the req was proper!! 
    • trents
      A "gluten challenge" of two weeks would be the bare minimum for expecting to render valid testing, and that would have been paired with eating a minimum of 10 g of gluten each day (the equivalent of 4-6 slices of wheat bread). And with the three gluten free days in the midst of that two week gluten challenge I would not have confidence in the results of the testing. Was there a blood test done for IGA deficiency? Can you post the test names that were done with the scores and with the reference ranges used by the lab? By the way, with celiac disease the issue is not being able to digest gluten. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder defined by the fact that ingestion of gluten triggers an immune system response that attacks the membrane that lines the small bowel. The immune system mistakenly identifies the protein gluten as a biologic invader.
    • MomofGF
      Hey all!! M i want to thank everyone for their suggestions and advice - I am a single mother of 4 (now 3) and was helping with my oldest leaving the nest. I have another child with medical issues and with work (it’s our end year), life has been crazy and I haven’t had the time to answer.    so we got a blood test done for my daughter that can’t digest gluten. She had been eating gluten for 2 weeks. The blood work came back normal? How is that possible. I see her with my own eyes and it’s not normal. Is that not long enough?  I am thinking about having her eat gluten another week then go to the hospital and see what they say.    She did have 3 gluten-free days in those 2 weeks but she was getting afraid to eat and I told her to may take a day off - was this a bad thing to do? Girl was having constant back pains and muscle soreness as well. Headaches/migraines…should I wait longer. I did see 4-6 weeks of Gluten consumption prior to testing… kind of at a loss now.    Thanks to everyone for whatever advice you can give.   Enjoy your Sunday 😃👋👋      
    • Scott Adams
      This article has some detailed information on how to be 100% gluten-free, so it may be helpful (be sure to also read the comments section.):    
×
×
  • Create New...