Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Peptiva Digestive Enzymes Not gluten-free!


ALee

Recommended Posts

ALee Newbie

Although the box has a gluten-free label, the ingredients indicates “contains wheat”! Called the company and after the rep talked with several supervisors they eventually found a folder with all ingredients in their products. The ingredients list has contradictory information. One sentence stated “contains wheat” then another sentence stated “contains no gluten ingredients like those found in wheat, barley, and rye”

At the request of the rep I sent this to a company support email.

 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



trents Grand Master

Good catch, ALee! Good detective work.

Scott Adams Grand Master

My guess is that the maltodextrin in the UK may contain wheat, but in the USA it doesn't. Here is a screenshot of a box, and it does show "Contains: Wheat" on it:

image.png

 

Here is their gluten-free claim:

image.png

trents Grand Master

I wonder how many people with celiac disease or NCGS have been made ill by this product. There's a good amount of potential for a law suite here. If I were this company, I would issue a recall and put out a news bulletin on the wire services.

shadycharacter Enthusiast

I suppose it is "20 ppm" gluten free but contains wheat that can be a problem for people with wheat allergy.

I've seen recommendations that people with wheat allergy should avoid products with wheat starch even if the gluten concentration is less than 20 ppm. One reason is that those allergic to wheat may react to  wheat proteins other than gluten, and being < 20 ppm gluten doesn't say anything about the content of other wheat proteins. 

At least in some places products can be sold as gluten free if they contain less than 20 ppm gluten.

For example, Schar sells frozen gluten free wheat starch based croissants.

trents Grand Master
31 minutes ago, shadycharacter said:

I suppose it is "20 ppm" gluten free but contains wheat that can be a problem for people with wheat allergy.

I've seen recommendations that people with wheat allergy should avoid products with wheat starch even if the gluten concentration is less than 20 ppm. One reason is that those allergic to wheat may react to  wheat proteins other than gluten, and being < 20 ppm gluten doesn't say anything about the content of other wheat proteins. 

At least in some places products can be sold as gluten free if they contain less than 20 ppm gluten.

For example, Schar sells frozen gluten free wheat starch based croissants.

But it doesn't say "contains wheat starch" it says "contains wheat". I take that to mean not a wheat fraction. At any rate, the company certainly needs to clarify the apparent contradiction with more info on the package if wheat or some wheat component is an intentional ingredient.

RMJ Mentor

Depending on how you parse the “contains” sentence, the wheat might be from the fermentation medium used to manufacture the enzymes. 

Enzymes are typically manufactured by growing microorganisms (bacteria or yeast) that make the enzymes, and those microorganisms need food!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



shadycharacter Enthusiast
16 minutes ago, trents said:

But it doesn't say "contains wheat starch" it says "contains wheat". I take that to mean not a wheat fraction. At any rate, the company certainly needs to clarify the apparent contradiction with more info on the package if wheat or some wheat component is an intentional ingredient.

Because wheat is an allergen it must always be declared if an ingredient. I think in EU there are 14 allergens that must always be declared. But for gluten there is an allowed maximum concentration of 20 ppm below which a product can be sold as gluten free. So if the amount of wheat is small enough, I suppose a product can be both labeled  gluten free and containing wheat at the same time. 

In this product the wheat seems to be fermented as well, which breaks down some of the gluten.

ALee Newbie

The company documentation internally was very contradictory. The rep I spoke with indicated they reached out to 3-4 different supervisors and each supervisor came back with contradictory information. One suggested I speak to my Dr. But I said my Dr. Wouldn’t know the ingredients or manufacturing practices for the company. After the rep found the printed documentation and read it to me they said they wouldn’t recommend me taking this even though s some of the supervisors said it would be fine.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,024
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Emilyallene
    Newest Member
    Emilyallene
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • cristiana
      Hi @Karmmacalling I'm very sorry to hear you are feeling so unwell.  Can you tell us exactly what sort of pain you are experiencing and where the pain is?  Is it your lower abdomen, upper abdomen etc?  Do you have any other symptoms? Cristiana
    • trents
      The NIH article you link actually supports what I have been trying to explain to you: "Celiac disease (celiac disease) is an autoimmune-mediated enteropathy triggered by dietary gluten in genetically prone individuals. The current treatment for celiac disease is a strict lifelong gluten-free diet. However, in some celiac disease patients following a strict gluten-free diet, the symptoms do not remit. These cases may be refractory celiac disease or due to gluten contamination; however, the lack of response could be related to other dietary ingredients, such as maize, which is one of the most common alternatives to wheat used in the gluten-free diet. In some celiac disease patients, as a rare event, peptides from maize prolamins could induce a celiac-like immune response by similar or alternative pathogenic mechanisms to those used by wheat gluten peptides. This is supported by several shared features between wheat and maize prolamins and by some experimental results. Given that gluten peptides induce an immune response of the intestinal mucosa both in vivo and in vitro, peptides from maize prolamins could also be tested to determine whether they also induce a cellular immune response. Hypothetically, maize prolamins could be harmful for a very limited subgroup of celiac disease patients, especially those that are non-responsive, and if it is confirmed, they should follow, in addition to a gluten-free, a maize-free diet." Notice that those for whom it is suggested to follow a maize-free diet are a "very limited subgroup of celiac disease patients". Please don't try to make your own experience normative for the entire celiac community.  Notice also that the last part of the concluding sentence in the paragraph does not equate a gluten-free diet with a maize-free diet, it actually puts them in juxtaposition to one another. In other words, they are different but for a "limited subgroup of celiac disease patients" they produce the same or a similar reaction. You refer to celiac reactions to cereal grain prolamins as "allergic" reactions and "food sensitivity". For instance, you say, "NIH sees all these grains as in opposition to celiacs, of which I am one and that is science, not any MD with a good memory who overprescribes medications that contain known food allergens in them, of which they have zero knowledge if the patient is in fact allergic to or not, since they failed to do simple 'food sensitivity' testing" and "IF a person wants to get well, they should be the one to determine what grains they are allergic to and what grains they want to leave out, not you. I need to remind you that celiac disease is not an allergy, it is an autoimmune disorder. Neither allergy testing nor food sensitivity testing can be used to diagnose celiac disease. Allergy testing and food sensitivity testing cannot detect the antibodies produced by celiac disease in reaction to gluten ingestion.  You say of me, "You must be one of those who are only gluten intolerant . . ." Gluten intolerance is synonymous with celiac disease. You must be referring to gluten sensitivity or NCGS (Non Celiac Gluten Sensitivity). Actually, I have been officially diagnosed with celiac disease both by blood antibody testing and by endoscopy/positive biopsy. Reacting to all cereal grain prolamins does not define celiac disease. If you are intent on teaching the truth, please get it straight first.
    • Bebygirl01
      Perhaps you would still like to answer the questions I posed on this topic, because that is all I asked. I am curious to know the answers to those questions, I do not care about the background of Dr. Osborne as I am more aware of the situation than you are, and he is also one of the best known authors out there on Celiac disease. But did you even bother to read the three Research Papers I posted by NIH? You must be one of those who are only gluten intolerant and not yet reacting to all glutens aka grains, but I AM one of those who react to ALL the glutens, and again, that is one of the two questions I originally posted on this matter. NIH sees all these grains as in opposition to celiacs, of which I am one and that is science, not any MD with a good memory who overprescribes medications that contain known food allergens in them, of which they have zero knowledge if the patient is in fact allergic to or not, since they failed to do simple 'food sensitivity' testing. I started with the failed FDA explanation of what Gluten Free is and I stayed sick and got even sicker. It wasn't until I came across NIH's papers and went off all grains that I realized that in fact, I am Celiac and reacting to all the glutens. IF a person wants to get well, they should be the one to determine what grains they are allergic to and what grains they want to leave out, not you. Those who are just getting started with learning about grains etc., can take it easy by just being "grain free' and eating a lot of meat, vegetables, etc. or whole foods as God has intended, without buying so called gluten free garbage out there that is making them sick and the whole reason they are not better. I tried the stupid gluten free garbage and it didn't work, and that will make anyone want to give up, it is better to teach the entire truth and let the patient decide, rather than give them misinformation and lies.
    • Nicola McGuire
      Thank you so much I will speak to the doctor for dietician apt . Thank you for your advice Beth much appreciated 
    • Scott Adams
      Oh no, I'm sorry to hear about the accidental gluten! This article, and the comments below it, may be helpful:    
×
×
  • Create New...