Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Lindor lindt candy cane is it gluten free


Jane07

Recommended Posts

Jane07 Enthusiast

wondering what lindt gluten free is the candy cane one gluten free

also is the milk chocolate gluten free

what other gluten free chocolate gluten free

what ever favorite gluten free treat right now

 

 

 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Aaron2018 Enthusiast

not all chocolate is gluten free , I can't confirm or deny how safe the Lindt candy cane one is but I have Hurd it might be , as far as I can tell Lindt dose not have gluten free options unless someone else has heard otherwise.

I can how ever tell you about gluten free chocolates that I have tried and the package says they are gluten free, hear is a lis of a few of my favourites: 

 

61BXeJpK-eL._AC_UF1000,1000_QL80_.webp

389_4477_large.webp

00068437913461-brookside-simply-thin-dark-chocolate-160g-front.png

images.webp

Scott Adams Grand Master

Do you mean their Candy Cane Chocolates?

Aaron2018 Enthusiast

Yes, candy cane ones are what they are asking about. I do not know if they’re safe, nor can I confirm or deny if they are. The Lindt candy cane chocolates have always been something that I’ve heard gluten free debates about some say they are safe others say not safe , The company has not commented regarding them being gluten-free or not.
 

Scott Adams Grand Master

It looks like they it's naturally gluten-free and have no allergen warnings:

image.png

Aaron2018 Enthusiast

I wonder now if it really is gluten free?  example: Hershey has a list of stuff that they claim to be gluten free on there website , but nothing on the packaging says gluten free when you look at the products packaging at the store. There are also reviews that say this Hershey product bothered me or this Hershey product didn’t bother me, in regards to things Hershey’s has on gluten free section of there website. nothing is mentioned about Lindt candy cane that would be a red flag on the Lindt website, So yes it could be naturally gluten free like Scott said , but if it’s the only one out of Lindts line of products, were is it made? 🤨🤨

Scott Adams Grand Master

Given your sensitivity level, it's probably best that you stick with items that are certified gluten-free, or at least say "gluten-free" on the package.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Aaron2018 Enthusiast

I never eat any candy, chocolate, or baked goods unless they say gluten free and or are made in a dedicated gluten free facility. Also when ever I buy products that could be higher risk I buy the certified gluten free version, that way I know they are safe for me to eat.

AlyssaM Newbie
On 12/22/2023 at 10:30 PM, Aaron2018 said:

not all chocolate is gluten free , I can't confirm or deny how safe the Lindt candy cane one is but I have Hurd it might be , as far as I can tell Lindt dose not have gluten free options unless someone else has heard otherwise.

I can how ever tell you about gluten free chocolates that I have tried and the package says they are gluten free, hear is a lis of a few of my favourites: 

 

61BXeJpK-eL._AC_UF1000,1000_QL80_.webp

389_4477_large.webp

00068437913461-brookside-simply-thin-dark-chocolate-160g-front.png

images.webp

Sorry really new to all this. So if in the ingredients there is no sign of gluten but the product doesn’t say gluten free is it still okay to eat because there’s nothing in the ingredients ?

Scott Adams Grand Master

This depends on your level of sensitivity. There are many things that are naturally gluten-free, olive oil for example, which will likely never have "gluten-free" on their label simply because they are naturally gluten-free. Many canned goods, salsas, cheeses, etc., fit into this category. I include many naturally gluten-free products in my diet, and current USA labelling laws require all foods that may be contaminated with wheat to list this on the ingredient label in the allergen statement, for example: Allergens: Peanut, Soy, Wheat.

Blue-Sky Enthusiast
14 hours ago, AlyssaM said:

Sorry really new to all this. So if in the ingredients there is no sign of gluten but the product doesn’t say gluten free is it still okay to eat because there’s nothing in the ingredients ?

My understanding (I looked it up a few months ago, but it might have changed since then) is that there are two types of allergen statements. One says "contains" followed by any of the top allergens that it contains and the other is "may contain" followed by any of the top allergens that the manufacture thinks it may contain. The contains is for ingredients that are added intentionally to an item, the "may contain" is for if cross contamination that could be happening at a factory such as a candy being manufactured on shared equipment as other wheat products. The "may contain" warning is optional, wheras if any wheat ingredients are intentionally added to a product it has to say so in the ingredients.

Scott Adams Grand Master

Food labeling regulations in the United States are governed by the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA), require manufacturers to clearly state the presence of major food allergens, including wheat, on the product label.

If a product does not contain wheat as an ingredient but is manufactured in a facility that processes wheat or may contain traces of wheat, it is a common practice for manufacturers to include a statement such as "May contain: Wheat" or "Processed in a facility that also processes wheat" as part of allergen precautionary labeling. This is a voluntary measure by the manufacturer to alert consumers to the potential risk of cross-contact with wheat during the production process.

Although this practice is voluntary, nearly all major food manufacturers follow this, and you can find more information about each company's practice on their websites. Kraft Foods, for example always includes such a label on the hundreds of foods they manufacture. 

You are free to be as strict as you like with your diet, but there is no reason to assume that wheat is in everything unless it has "gluten-free" on the label. Likewise, over the years since the gluten-free labelling regulations went into effect in the USA, many products with "gluten-free" (and even certified gluten-free) have been found to contain gluten over 20ppm, but that is not a reason to assume that it is unsafe to eat all items marked as "gluten-free" on their labels--is it?

Scott Adams Grand Master

PS - Here you can see examples of such recalls:

 

Aaron2018 Enthusiast

For me if it can’t be confirmed gluten free from either the website or a product label I would not eat it. Personally as long as I can confirm it has no gluten in it one way or a nother that’s all I need to know, but if there are other people saying that a product bothers them then that would be a red flag and I would stay away from the product in question.

Blue-Sky Enthusiast

I wouldn't assume something is or isn't safe if it doesn't have a warning that it may contain wheat. If I am buying a highly processed food such as candy or an item that might be cross contaminated at the factory like seasoned peanuts, I normally avoid products without a gluten free label.

Hersheys, for example, makes lots of chocolate bars but only considers two of them to be gluten free. The ones without the gluten free label don't contain a warning that they were processes in the same facility as wheat products, or that it could contain wheat.

Aaron2018 Enthusiast

If a product does not have a gluten free claim on the packaging, then I look it up and if the website says it’s safe then I will eat it,  if the company can tell you it’s safe it should be, but like I said before if other celiac people are talking about it bothering them then that’s a red flag and I will avoid the product. If for some reason I can’t find an answer , then I will not eat it just to be safe. Like Scott said if it is olive oil or other things that should be naturally gluten free I don’t expect there to be a gluten free certification, if it’s meat I make sure it’s just meat and nothing else added, the only meat I expect to say gluten free is: sandwich meat, ham, bacon,  beef jerky,  pepperoni sticks and all burgers, turkey burgers, chicken burgers and beef burgers. Always read the ingredients when it comes to naturally gluten free things, example of what happened to me: I was shopping one time: it’s rare, but I have found plane normal chicken that had gluten used as a shelf preserver, but because I read the ingredients I noticed it before I purchased the product.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,795
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kiwi86
    Newest Member
    Kiwi86
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...