Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Omeprazole 20mg capsules prescription


Jherm21

Recommended Posts

Jherm21 Community Regular

Hello, 

I have had celiac for about 7 years and I'm confused about a medication. And asking my doctors or pharmacy about ingredients etc they just seem to think everything is gluten free. So I decided to come here and see if any fellow celiac knows how to move forward with taking this specific manufactured prescription or suggestions on what to do with the information the manufacturer gave me. I was recently diagnosed with GERD (through endoscopy) and my doctor prescribed omeprazole 20 mg capsules. She told me the prescription is different than otc because it can be safer to take for a longer period of time. Which time is what I need to heal the esophagus. But the manufacture through xiromed stated "the medication is formulated without intended gluten ingredients, but states one of the inactive ingredients polysorbate 80 may be derived from "wheat, corn or olives" which she could not tell me if it was made from wheat or not. I'm so confused and don't know what to do with that information. Help!!!! 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



RMJ Mentor

To manufacture polysorbate 80 requires multiple chemical reaction steps.  Even if one of the chemicals used to make it was derived from wheat, it would be highly unlikely that any gluten would still be there at the end.  Plus it is a partway down on the list of inactive ingredients in omeprazole, so there won’t be a huge amount of polysorbate 80 in each pill.

Jherm21 Community Regular

Ok thanks for the response. Assuming, this would be safe then? 

RMJ Mentor
4 hours ago, Jherm21 said:

Ok thanks for the response. Assuming, this would be safe then? 

I am a sensitive celiac and would not hesitate to take it.

  • 2 weeks later...
Holli Madsen Newbie
On 10/22/2024 at 1:30 PM, Jherm21 said:

Hello, 

I have had celiac for about 7 years and I'm confused about a medication. And asking my doctors or pharmacy about ingredients etc they just seem to think everything is gluten free. So I decided to come here and see if any fellow celiac knows how to move forward with taking this specific manufactured prescription or suggestions on what to do with the information the manufacturer gave me. I was recently diagnosed with GERD (through endoscopy) and my doctor prescribed omeprazole 20 mg capsules. She told me the prescription is different than otc because it can be safer to take for a longer period of time. Which time is what I need to heal the esophagus. But the manufacture through xiromed stated "the medication is formulated without intended gluten ingredients, but states one of the inactive ingredients polysorbate 80 may be derived from "wheat, corn or olives" which she could not tell me if it was made from wheat or not. I'm so confused and don't know what to do with that information. Help!!!! 

I am sensitive celiac and I take omeprazole no problem.

trents Grand Master

Holli Madsen, be aware that it can be difficult to wean off of PPIs once you have been on them for an extended period of time. There is typically a rebound of GERD when going off after being on them for long periods of time. They are designed to be a short term remedy to be taken for weeks but many physicians put their patients on PPIs and leave them on for life with no monitoring. They generally work well for the intended purpose but because of how they work they can and will cause other problems when used long term. They increase gut PH (i.e., they lower acidity) which can help ulcers and irritated/inflamed areas to heal but this also interferes with nutrient absorption, something celiacs already struggle with. This can lead to osteoporosis/osteopenia and other nutrient malabsorption-related medical problems. Lowering gut acidity can also make you more prone to gut infections. Don't stay on the PPI any longer than necessary.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,731
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    synjadanynja
    Newest Member
    synjadanynja
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      @Steve-n-Portland, there is a difference in the requirements to use the label "Gluten Free" and the label "Certified Gluten Free". "Gluten Free" is governed by FDA regulations and has a ceiling of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is a labeling convention used by the GFCO, an independent international third party certifying group that uses 10 ppm as its standard.
    • trents
      We have had numerous reports from forum participants experiencing gluten reactions from Trader Joe "gluten-free" products. It seems it's not a good place for the celiac/gluten sensitive community to shop.
    • Steve-n-Portland
      Also, a class action lawsuit was launched in 2024 against Trader Joe's re: their " gluten free" everything bagels. They tested at 269ppm. (Personally, I am not sure they will win. The FDA says that the *ingredients* have to be less than 20ppm for a company to label something "gluten-free."  In order to be certified as gluten-free by the GFCO, the *final product* needs to be less than 20ppm. That said, the lawsuit is arguing that most people read that label and assume the final product is safe for people with celiac. Thus, many people were made sick. And being sick can have costly consequences in regard to work or school, depending when one becomes ill.)
    • Steve-n-Portland
      Correction: My previous post refers to hickory products when I actually meant bakery products.
    • Steve-n-Portland
      Trader Joe's "gluten-free" hickory products are definitely not celiac safe. Their own website used to have a sidebar acknowledging this. Trader Joe's contracts out for their products, or obtains products elsewhere and puts their brand on it. Is Trader Joe's acknowledges, the facilities in which their products are made may change without notice, and ingredients or sources for ingredients may change without notice. Every time I tried Trader Joe's "gluten-free" muffins, breads, tortillas, etc, I had a reaction. The worst reactions were from the muffins (which are about 440 cals apiece, btw). 
×
×
  • Create New...