Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Ranch Dressing


Texas Celiac

Recommended Posts

Texas Celiac Apprentice

I just started my gluten-free diet a few days ago and since I eat a lot of salads, I am wondering about gluten-free salad dressings. I love Ranch dressing but I wondered what others have found at the grocery store that is gluten-free.

Also, I know that Lays Classic Potato Chips and Fritos are okay but what about Cheetos. I love Cheetos.

Texas Celiac


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kevsmom Contributor

Welcome!

You will find a lot of good information and support here. I know that it is really hard when you are just starting out. You have to read every ingredient in everything you pick up. It will seem like shoping will take forever. It does get better as you become familier with what you can and can not have.

You don't say where you are from, but if you have a Wegeman's near you, you are really in luck. They label all all of their gluten free products with an orange circle with a G in the middle. They make an awesome ranch dressing.

Good luck :rolleyes:

jerseyangel Proficient

Cheetos are gluten-free. Kraft has quite a few dressings that are gluten-free. Kraft is a company that will clearly list any gluten on the label. All you have to do is read. :)

CarlaB Enthusiast

Many companies have a list of gluten-free ingredients on their websites ... Frito-Lay is one of them, and as mentioned, Cheetos are gluten-free. The Frito-Lay website mentions the possiblity of cross-contamination, but so far, so good for me.

Carla

Texas Celiac Apprentice

I am from Fort Worth, TX.

I have been reading the labels and I have a Kraft Fat Free dressing and Hidden Valley Ranch. MSG is one of the ingredients. I thought that was on the "forbidden list". Am I wrong? It also list modified food starch as an ingredient but does not say what kind. I thought Kraft was a company that listed what kind of modified food starch.

I guess I am feeling a little overwhelmed when I am limited to certain lunch/dinner choices and I can't find out what is safe. :angry:

Should I steer clear of artifial flavors and artifial coloring?

Thanks so much for any advice.

Texas Celiac

jerseyangel Proficient
I am from Fort Worth, TX.

I have been reading the labels and I have a Kraft Fat Free dressing and Hidden Valley Ranch. MSG is one of the ingredients. I thought that was on the "forbidden list". Am I wrong? It also list modified food starch as an ingredient but does not say what kind. I thought Kraft was a company that listed what kind of modified food starch.

I guess I am feeling a little overwhelmed when I am limited to certain lunch/dinner choices and I can't find out what is safe. :angry:

Should I steer clear of artifial flavors and artifial coloring?

Thanks so much for any advice.

Texas Celiac

Hi Texas--MSG does not contain gluten..Some people have reactions to it, and it's not really good for anybody IMO, but from a strictly gluten standpoint, it's fine. Kraft will list any gluten--if it states "modified food starch" and nothing else after it, it's safe. * If* it had gluten it would say "modified food starch (wheat). It does seem overwhelming at first, but I promise it gets easier! Kraft, Unilever, Con Agra, Nestle, Hershey, Nabisco will all clearly list any gluten on the labels. When in doubt, always call the manufacturer to be sure. You can do searches here, or go through old posts in the Foods & Product Forum for lots of information.

Texas Celiac Apprentice

That is good to know!!! My favorite dressing and snack (Cheetos) are gluten-free!!

Thanks everyone!!

TX Celiac


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



jerseyangel Proficient

Enjoy! :D

CarlaB Enthusiast

The Kraft will list the wheat if it has any, like Patti said, but does anyone know about the Hidden Valley? I have been avoiding it myself because of the modified food starch.

I'm also interested in hearing the answer from those of you with more experience on her question about artificial flavors and colors, but even more so for natural flavors.

Carla

jerseyangel Proficient

Carla-- I always call to check on "natural flavor" when considering a product for the first time. That is an ingredient that could contain gluten. Sorry, I don't have any knowledge of Hidden Valley.

Texas Celiac Apprentice

Wow, I am learning a lot today. I never considered that gluten could be hidden in "natural flavors".

TX Celiac

ebrbetty Rising Star

check the post I put up about kens dressings, theres a lot of gluten-free ones

Texas Celiac Apprentice

Thanks, I will check it out!!!

Texas Celiac

hez Enthusiast

Several months ago I went to the Hidden Valley website and they stated that the dressing is not gluten-free. I am not sure why this is so but it is :( Welcome to the board :)

Hez

chasesparents Rookie

I called Hidden Valley a few months ago and they said that the dressing DOES contain traces of Gluten. So we eat Kraft Ranch.

Texas Celiac Apprentice

Thanks everyone. I will stick to Kraft or Kens.

TX Celiac

  • 6 months later...
Carriefaith Enthusiast

Renee's makes a nice gluten-free and dairy free peppercorn ranch dressing.

Open Original Shared Link

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Bebygirl01's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    2. - Bebygirl01 posted a topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    3. - Scott Adams replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    4. - knitty kitty replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    5. - knitty kitty replied to Tyoung's topic in Post Diagnosis, Recovery & Treatment of Celiac Disease
      8

      Increasing symptoms after going gluten free


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,005
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    anjie patterson
    Newest Member
    anjie patterson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      @Bebygirl01, if you want to play word games with the term, "gluten", we can do that. The proteins you list in these other cereal grains besides wheat, barley and rye are somewhat different from that found in wheat, barley and rye and, technically speaking, are not "gluten". Technically speaking, "gluten" should only be applied to a particular protein found in wheat, barley and rye. These other cereal grain proteins have their own names (avenin, secalinin, zein, etc). Unfortunately, confusion has been created in popular and pseudo scientific literature by the informal use of the term "gluten" when talking about the proteins found in these other cereal grains such that you sometimes read about "corn gluten", "oat gluten", "rice gluten", etc. But these are actually misnomers, with "gluten" having been added on as an informal appendage to the actual protein names. Having said that, the protein structures of these other cereal grains is close enough to gluten that, for some people, they can cause a celiac type reaction. But this is not true for most celiacs and those who fall into the NCGS category. Apparently, it is true for you. This whole idea that cereal grains are bad for all of us has been popularized by books such as Dangerous Grains for years but it is not a widely accepted idea in the scientific community.
    • Bebygirl01
      On my Celiac journey and discovered I was also reacting to other types of gluten. The FDA in it's finite wisdom only classifies 'wheat, barley and rye' as the gluten's to be considered when a company tests for and stamps their products as gluten free. I am curious as to how many of you are aware of the other types of glutens? And another question to those on a 'traditional' gluten free diet , who are also still sick and struggling, are you also reacting to these other types of gluten as listed below? NOTE:  The new movement if you want to call it that, is now called 'grain free' and that is the true definition of gluten free. I no longer suffer with ataxia, confusion, anxiety, depression, OCD, Insomnia, ADD, acid reflux, dermatitis herpetiformis, migraines, headaches, and weight issues all due to going 'grain free'. I hope to reach as many of you out there that are still struggling and unaware of what might be setting you off such as my most recent glutening was from a vegan supplement that contained 'magnesium sterate' and 'glucose syrup' both of which are from Zien (zane) gluten at 55%. I was covered in sores that were bleeding, I was seeing squigly lines when I was trying to drive, had acid reflux, insomnia, and nightmares all from the gluten in Corn. Here are the other types of glutens that Celiacs and Gluten Intolerant people also react to: Wheat -Alpha Gliadin Gluten- 69% Rye - Secalinin gluten-30-50% Oats-Avenin gluten -16% Barley-Hordein Gluten -46-52% Millet-Panicin Gluten-40% Corn-Zien Gluten -55% Rice-Orzenin Gluten-5% Sorghum-Kafirin gluten-52% and Teff-Penniseiten Gluten 11%.
    • Scott Adams
      I just want to mention again that IF thimerosal is used in a flu vaccine the amount of ethylmercury in a single vaccine dose would be extremely small, typically around 25 micrograms (µg) or less. For context, this is much lower than the levels of methylmercury found in some seafood. Ethylmercury is metabolized and excreted from the body much faster than methylmercury. Its half-life in the blood is about 7 days, compared to methylmercury, which can persist for months. The dose of ethylmercury in vaccines is far below the threshold known to cause toxicity so would not require chelation.
    • knitty kitty
      If you have poor reactions to vaccines, preservatives, sugar alcohols and metals, you may be deficient in Thiamine Vitamin B1.  Thiamine is needed in the immune response and production of antibodies.  Thiamine can be depleted by vaccines if you are already low to begin with due to the Malabsorption of Celiac Disease.  Thiamine can be destroyed by sulfide preservatives in vaccines, which can result in the body's poor response to vaccines.  Thiamine also chelates metals which allows those metals to be removed in the feces.  Chelation removes thiamine from the body, resulting in a state of thiamine deficiency.  Sugar alcohols need to be processed through the liver using thiamine.  Again, if you're low in thiamine as many Celiac are because of the Malabsorption of celiac disease, vaccines can be a tipping point, resulting in a thiamine deficient state. High doses of Thiamine required to correct thiamine deficiency states are safe and nontoxic.  Thiamine has no toxicity level.  Thiamine and the other B vitamins need to be taken together because they interact together to sustain health.   References: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25542071/ https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8533683/
    • knitty kitty
      @Pasballard, Keep in mind those gluten free processed snacks are not required to have vitamins and minerals added to them to replace vitamins lost in processing like gluten containing products.   We need the eight essential B vitamins to turn those carbs into energy to fuel our bodies and make enzymes that sustain life.  Sudden weight gain (or weight loss) can be symptomatic of Thiamine Vitamin B1 deficiency.  Thiamine is the B vitamin with the shortest storage time, and so  thiamine deficiency shows up first with vague symptoms like weight gain or loss, fatigue, not sleeping well, achy or cramping muscles, digestive issues and headaches.   Taking vitamin and mineral supplements helps boost your body's ability to absorb these nutrients which keeps our bodies healthy.  B Complex vitamins and Vitamin D (which regulates inflammation) are usually low in people with Celiac disease.  Talk to your doctor and nutritionist about supplementing.
×
×
  • Create New...