Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Old El Paso


francelajoie

Recommended Posts

francelajoie Explorer

Ok, I went on their site to find out what the ingredients were in their taco seasoning mix.

Well, from what I read, the Hard Taco "Kit" includes a seasoning packet which clearly indicates Wheat as an ingredient.

BUT, if you look at the ingrdients in the seasoning packet on it's own, it does NOT contain wheat.

Am I having brain fog here or am I right? :blink:

Here is the link, if you click on the different items, they show you a picture of the ingredient list.

Open Original Shared Link


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



2Boys4Me Enthusiast

I use the individual packet all the time. On your link, 4th ingredient from the end is wheat flour. The kit seasoning has 800 more ingredients that the individual packets (or so it seems).

ehrin Explorer

I use old El Paso all the time with no problems -

I buy the hard and soft kit and just checked the link online -

on that ingredient list there is no wheat

I would find it hard to believe that they'd but a different seasoning mix in that kit -

the individual packets have no wheat listed either

Lisa Mentor

I use it all the time without problems, but I think others are concerned about the MSG (not gluten, but not good either)

francelajoie Explorer

Thanks guys. I do usually make homeade ones and they are delicious!!!!

My husband said he wanted to make the package stuff tonight...I didn't ask why cause he's cooking and I don't have too :D

2Boys4Me Enthusiast
I use old El Paso all the time with no problems -

I buy the hard and soft kit and just checked the link online -

on that ingredient list there is no wheat

I would find it hard to believe that they'd but a different seasoning mix in that kit -

the individual packets have no wheat listed either

On the ingredient list of the Taco Kit (doesn't say soft or hard) on the seasoning mix 4th ingredient from last is the wheat flour that Francelajoie mentioned. On the link anyway.

Lisa Mentor

Dinner tonight:

Not kit mix but individual packet (not in a kit) says. Old El Paso

Maltodextrin, Chili Pepper, Salt, Onion Powder, MSG, corn starch, garlic powder, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, silicon dioxide, ethoxyquin. - no wheat flour in the seasoning mix (not in boxed).

Apparently, they are different. Confusing though. B)

Lisa


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Canadian Karen Community Regular

I posted about this before, as it confused me also....

The taco mix is gluten free. When you buy the whole package, the ingredients are listed in such a way that the wheat they are actually talking about is the wheat in the tortillas, but the way it's listed it's printed right under the taco mix ingredients......

They really should change it. I was not using it forever because reading the box, I had assumed it contained gluten.......

Karen

Lisa Mentor

Good to have you back Karen

Lisa

2Boys4Me Enthusiast
I posted about this before, as it confused me also....

The taco mix is gluten free. When you buy the whole package, the ingredients are listed in such a way that the wheat they are actually talking about is the wheat in the tortillas, but the way it's listed it's printed right under the taco mix ingredients......

They really should change it. I was not using it forever because reading the box, I had assumed it contained gluten.......

Karen

Karen, check the ingredients on the kit. It divides up the lists and the dinner kit says: Taco Seasoning Mix: blah blah blah, wheat flour, blah blah blah...it's the fourth last ingredient. Taco shell: corn flour, water, whatever. Salsa: Tomatoes, whatever, more stuff, etc. This is for the item that comes up on the link provided that says Taco Kit.

I know that you're very sensitive, so I want you to make doubly sure. The ingredients may very well be different in Canada, but on that link the taco mix and the taco KIT mix are quite different. (I assume it's an American site)

...and welcome back.

Canadian Karen Community Regular

Hi Linda!

I checked out a package of the taco mix alone at the supermarket, and on that ingredient list, there is no wheat. That's how I finally figured out that it was okay.

p.s. Thanks for thinking of me! How is your dog doing?

Oh, and Lisa, I am kinda "popping" in and out! Hope all is well with you and wedding plans are running smoothly!

Hugs.

Karen

2Boys4Me Enthusiast
Hi Linda!

How is your dog doing?

He's good. We're still finishing our giant bag of food, and he still gets milk bones (made by Kraft :o so they clearly indicate wheat) but he hasn't vomited in a while. He's good for a while and then he'll vomit or hack for 3 days and then doesn't happen again for a couple of months. He has seizures once in a while, too, but his blood work came back negative for epilepsy. He has those about every 6 - 8 weeks, but can't track it to the moon, or 30 min after eating or whatever. Like the vomiting, it seems completely random. :blink: I'm sure the vet will think I'm insane if I mention gluten. Actually, if I get the right one (there are 3) he'll take it seriously.

Thanks for asking.

Have a great day!

Guest Kris Fisher

Isn't maltodextrin something we Celiac's have to watch out for? I don't know that my taco mix was Old El Paso but I really reacted from it and thought it was from maltodextrin.

psawyer Proficient

Maltodextrin is gluten-free in Canada and the United States, unless specifically declared to be from a gluten source. If if just says maltodextrin, then it is gluten-free, and almost certainly corn based. Old El Paso is a General Mills brand, and will clearly disclose all gluten sources on the label. If you had a reaction, it could be something other than gluten (consider MSG as a possibility).

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,012
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Shahin Arab
    Newest Member
    Shahin Arab
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      Oh no, I'm sorry to hear about the accidental gluten! This article, and the comments below it, may be helpful:    
    • Karmmacalling
      I was born with celiac disease im 20 years old. And I've been gluten free my whole life. Yes my diet is 100 percent gluten free and no i don't eat at restaurants at all. I got glutened by a chips that was marked as gluten free but it wasn't the company said the packaging was old and the recipe was new. 
    • Scott Adams
      Welcome to the forum, the biggest source of cross-contamination would be eating our in restaurants--even ones that have a gluten-free menu. If your son was just recently diagnosed I'd recommend trying not to eat out during his healing period, which could last up to a year or more, depending on how much villi damage he had.
    • Scott Adams
      How long ago were you diagnosed with celiac disease? How long have you been gluten-free? Is your diet strict, and are you 100% gluten-free? Do you eat out in restaurants?
    • trents
      Key word, "gluten-like".  By the way, have you looked up Dr. Osborne's credentials and his background? He is a licensed nutritionist but his scientific? medical? clinical background is that of a chiropractor. He is not taken seriously by many experts in the medical and scientific community. If it is helpful to you to see these other cereal grain proteins as "gluten", I'm fine with that. The problem is, when you begin to promote that line of thinking to others, people get confused about what grains they actually need to avoid. About 10% of celiacs react to oat protein (avenin) like they do gluten (the protein in wheat/barley/rye). That is not news. But the vast majority of celiacs have no issue with these other cereal grains. If we start throwing around the term "gluten" to loosely embrace the proteins found in all cereal grains it's going to be very confusing to those just getting started who only need to avoid wheat/barley/rye. And it will also create a great deal of confusion in the restaurant industry trying to cater to that element of their customer base needing to eat gluten free.
×
×
  • Create New...