Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Lemonade


Carriefaith

Recommended Posts

Carriefaith Enthusiast

Hi,

I have Celiac Disease and have been on the gluten-free diet since March (That's when I found out).

Yesterday I got really sick and the only thing different I had was lemonade (I know it wasn't anything else I had because I have been eating the other foods with no problem for awhile now). :(

Anyway, I came across this website:

Open Original Shared Link

and if you scroll down to the lemonade, it says that it has wheat in it..........

I was just wondering if anyone else has had bad reactions to lemonade and does Minute Maid actually have wheat in their lemonade?

I've heard recently that Coke/ Minute Maid no longer says that all their products are gluten free but I have no confirmation on this.... Does anyone know anymore details?

Thanks :)

-Carrie


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



angel-jd1 Community Regular

Country Time Lemonades are gluten-free.

Last time I checked with Minute Maid everything was fine, but it has probably been a year since I checked. Maybe someone has some more current info.

-Jessica :rolleyes:

MySuicidalTurtle Enthusiast

Oh, I am digging that Stake and Shake link, thanks!

kalo Rookie

which leads me to a question. I've been reading labels. Do they put things in food and NOT list them? How terrible. Hugs, Carol B

celiac3270 Collaborator

Crystal Light is gluten-free. As a matter of fact, whenever you read a Kraft label, the flavorings are gluten-free unless they say "wheat" or something like that in parens. Crystal Light has some drink mixes that aren't lemonade, but has a pink lemonade and a regular lemonade, as well.

raeofsun Newbie

I am pretty new to this myself. My son 3 1/2 was diagnosed a few weeks ago. I just called Tropicana and Minute Maid today. Tropicana said that their 100% juices (pure premium) are all okay except for the pineapple and the banana (they have natural flavoring which is not okay). Even the calcium added ones are gluten-free.

Minute Maid said that only the 100% oj nothing added is okay. None of the other juices are okay as of now (she said they would know for sure by the end of the year.)

If you like lemonade, Wegmans brand is okay and Capri Sun (if they make a lemonade).

Hope that helps...

lovegrov Collaborator

Carol,

Some companies do indeed hide ingredients. Some things like modified food starch and natural flavors can be wheat-based without listing it (usually they aren't but they can be). You have to educate yourself (look at celiac.com for the safe and forbidden ingredient lists) and you have to call companies about specific products.

richard


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kalo Rookie

Hi Richard. I understand about things like modified food starch, flavorings etc etc. But if you know what all the ingredients are and none contain gluten could there still be a problem with them not showing it on the label even under a different name? Does this make sence? Hugs, Carol B

lovegrov Collaborator

I'm not sure what you're asking, Carol. Maybe if you ask it a different way?

richard

kalo Rookie

I was afraid of that. Will they list the unwanted ingredients in some form (maybe not recognizable) or is it possible they won't even bother to list them. i.e tuna,salt,water. Is it possible they put wheat in it but just didn't bother to list it on the can? Another wards, if I recognize ALL the ingredients as safe, do I need to worry about what WASN'T listed? Hugs, Carol B

kalo Rookie

Let me put it this way. Are we contacting companies to find out what that natural flavoring is or what that modified food starch is OR are we contacting them to see if there is something NOT listed on the label? In that case I guess I would need to contact them for EVERY thing under the sun except fresh meat (hopefully) and veggies/fruit. :-) Hugs, Carol B

lovegrov Collaborator

I can't quote you the exact rules but if wheat is some major ingredient they can't just not list it. And I seriously doubt these companies will tell you something is gluten-free when they know it isn't. When I call a company I call to ask if it has wheat, rye, barely or oats anywhere in it. I don't ask specifically about the source of the MFS or natural flavor because I don't care if it isn't wheat.

richard

Carriefaith Enthusiast

Thanks for the info on Minute Maid raeofsun..... :)

I guess we can't trust anything by them but their 100% juices (Or until the end of the year, when they know more about their products).

-Carrie

kalo Rookie

So back to my original question. If it has understandable ingedients such as beef, potatoes, carrots, onion and celery salt (veggie soup) and nothing that would suggest an unkown, is it safe to eat or do we have to call the company on everything to make sure something is there that wasn't listed? Hugs, Carol B

lovegrov Collaborator

I think this is a personal choice. Some people call about absolutely everything and grill every person about what else is made in the plant, line cleaning techniques etc.. I've now been gluten-free for nearly three years and if a company either tells me it will clearly list any gluten or if the ingredient list is as simple as your example, I don't call.

cheers

richard, roanoke, va.

kalo Rookie

You answered my question. Thanks Richard. Hugs, Carol B

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,009
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    cradford.cc
    Newest Member
    cradford.cc
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebygirl01
      Ortiz-Sánchez JP, Cabrera-Chávez F, de la Barca AM. Maize prolamins could induce a gluten-like cellular immune response in some celiac disease patients. Nutrients. 2013 Oct 21;5(10):4174-83. doi: 10.3390/nu5104174. PMID: 24152750; PMCID: PMC3820067. AND SEE: Oats Intolerance in Celiac Disease. PLoS Med. 2004 Oct;1(1):e23. doi: 10.1371/journal.pmed.0010023. Epub 2004 Oct 19. PMCID: PMC523841. AND ALSO SEE: Bascuñán KA, Orosteguí C, Rodríguez JM, Roncoroni L, Doneda L, Elli L, Araya M. Heavy Metal and Rice in Gluten-Free Diets: Are They a Risk? Nutrients. 2023 Jun 30;15(13):2975. doi: 10.3390/nu15132975. PMID: 37447301; PMCID: PMC10346754. Celiac disease is one of the most common autoimmune gastrointestinal diseases; over the last decades, its prevalence indicates a mean annual increase in frequency currently calculated at 7.5% per year [23]. celiac disease is triggered by gluten present in the diet and the disease involves autoimmune and inflammatory damage to the small intestine in genetically susceptible individuals. To develop celiac disease a person must inherit the genetic predisposition; however, about one third of the population carries the risk genes and only ~1% of the population develops the disease, indicating that genetics is not sufficient to explain the condition. The environment participates by providing the triggering factor, i.e., gluten, and the disease is activated by environmental factors which, until now, have not been fully understood, among which changes in eating habits and the intestinal microbiota are considered to be significant factors [24,25]; yet, current knowledge is insufficient to explain the mechanisms involved. Currently, the only treatment for celiac disease is a GFD for life. AND ALSO SEE: Dr. Osborne: Although rice is considered gluten-free based on the definition set forth by the FDA, rice does contain a different form of gluten prolamin called orzenin. In my experience, those with known celiac disease or non celiac gluten sensitivity issues do better when avoiding rice.
    • trents
      @Bebygirl01, if you want to play word games with the term, "gluten", we can do that. The proteins you list in these other cereal grains besides wheat, barley and rye are somewhat different from that found in wheat, barley and rye and, technically speaking, are not "gluten". Technically speaking, "gluten" should only be applied to a particular protein found in wheat, barley and rye. These other cereal grain proteins have their own names (avenin, secalinin, zein, etc). Unfortunately, confusion has been created in popular and pseudo scientific literature by the informal use of the term "gluten" when talking about the proteins found in these other cereal grains such that you sometimes read about "corn gluten", "oat gluten", "rice gluten", etc. But these are actually misnomers, with "gluten" having been added on as an informal appendage to the actual protein names. Having said that, the protein structures of these other cereal grains is close enough to gluten that, for some people, they can cause a celiac type reaction. But this is not true for most celiacs and those who fall into the NCGS category. Apparently, it is true for you. This whole idea that cereal grains are bad for all of us has been popularized by books such as Dangerous Grains for years but it is not a widely accepted idea in the scientific community.
    • Bebygirl01
      On my Celiac journey and discovered I was also reacting to other types of gluten. The FDA in it's finite wisdom only classifies 'wheat, barley and rye' as the gluten's to be considered when a company tests for and stamps their products as gluten free. I am curious as to how many of you are aware of the other types of glutens? And another question to those on a 'traditional' gluten free diet , who are also still sick and struggling, are you also reacting to these other types of gluten as listed below? NOTE:  The new movement if you want to call it that, is now called 'grain free' and that is the true definition of gluten free. I no longer suffer with ataxia, confusion, anxiety, depression, OCD, Insomnia, ADD, acid reflux, dermatitis herpetiformis, migraines, headaches, and weight issues all due to going 'grain free'. I hope to reach as many of you out there that are still struggling and unaware of what might be setting you off such as my most recent glutening was from a vegan supplement that contained 'magnesium sterate' and 'glucose syrup' both of which are from Zien (zane) gluten at 55%. I was covered in sores that were bleeding, I was seeing squigly lines when I was trying to drive, had acid reflux, insomnia, and nightmares all from the gluten in Corn. Here are the other types of glutens that Celiacs and Gluten Intolerant people also react to: Wheat -Alpha Gliadin Gluten- 69% Rye - Secalinin gluten-30-50% Oats-Avenin gluten -16% Barley-Hordein Gluten -46-52% Millet-Panicin Gluten-40% Corn-Zien Gluten -55% Rice-Orzenin Gluten-5% Sorghum-Kafirin gluten-52% and Teff-Penniseiten Gluten 11%.
    • Scott Adams
      I just want to mention again that IF thimerosal is used in a flu vaccine the amount of ethylmercury in a single vaccine dose would be extremely small, typically around 25 micrograms (µg) or less. For context, this is much lower than the levels of methylmercury found in some seafood. Ethylmercury is metabolized and excreted from the body much faster than methylmercury. Its half-life in the blood is about 7 days, compared to methylmercury, which can persist for months. The dose of ethylmercury in vaccines is far below the threshold known to cause toxicity so would not require chelation.
    • knitty kitty
      If you have poor reactions to vaccines, preservatives, sugar alcohols and metals, you may be deficient in Thiamine Vitamin B1.  Thiamine is needed in the immune response and production of antibodies.  Thiamine can be depleted by vaccines if you are already low to begin with due to the Malabsorption of Celiac Disease.  Thiamine can be destroyed by sulfide preservatives in vaccines, which can result in the body's poor response to vaccines.  Thiamine also chelates metals which allows those metals to be removed in the feces.  Chelation removes thiamine from the body, resulting in a state of thiamine deficiency.  Sugar alcohols need to be processed through the liver using thiamine.  Again, if you're low in thiamine as many Celiac are because of the Malabsorption of celiac disease, vaccines can be a tipping point, resulting in a thiamine deficient state. High doses of Thiamine required to correct thiamine deficiency states are safe and nontoxic.  Thiamine has no toxicity level.  Thiamine and the other B vitamins need to be taken together because they interact together to sustain health.   References: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25542071/ https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8533683/
×
×
  • Create New...