This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Can Sore Throat Happen After Gluten?

Mabc

Mabc Apprentice

Hi, I'm still very new to this. I've been gluten free (as far as I know - I'm still learning) for 6 days (except for I found out the nuts I was eating the first 3 days were packaged at a place that also processes wheat.) Today I went out and ended up without food for hours with someone else controlling the situation because I wasn't driving and I got too hungry and ended up eating a hamburger, bun and all. I'm trying so hard to stick this out to see if my symptoms improve, so I'm really disappointed I didn't plan better.

Since I don't know if I have celiac yet, I wanted to ask if getting a sore throat and headache right after I ate could be related to the gluten. Thanks so much for any help.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Ursa Major Collaborator

Yes, the headache and sore throat could definitely come from being glutened. Those are two symptoms I get as well.

Take it as a learning experience. It's hard to do it perfectly at the beginning, and after years of just leaving the house without much planning, it takes a while to remember that you can't just pop into a burger place to eat. You'll get the hang of it!

Next time, just order the burger without the bun, though. It isn't perfect, as you could get cross-contamination. But then in frustration to eat the bun, too, will just backfire.