Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Modified Food Starch And Caramel Coloring


dionnek

Recommended Posts

dionnek Enthusiast

Ok, what's the deal with these 2 items. I've seen conflicting information as to whether they are ok or not. Help!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



TiffersAnn Apprentice

I'm always confused about the modified food starch too... unless it specifically says modified corn starch or potato starch, I usually call the company to find out for sure. As for the caramel... they say it's gluten free if it's made in the USA, but to avoid it when it's made elsewhere because they can't guarantee that it hasn't been contaminated.

mac3 Apprentice

I find myself referring to Betty Hagman's cookbooks quite often and use them as my "basis." So, here's what Bette Hagman has to say about:

Caramel color: can be made from dextrose (corn), invert sugar, lactose, molasses, or sucrose (beet or cane). These are all gluten-free. Caramel color made in the U.S. and Canada is made from these sources. Imported items containing caramel color can be made from malt syrup or starch hydrolysates, which can be made from wheat. If in doubt about the caramel color used in an imported food product, contact the company for information.

Modified Food Starch: can be corn, tapioca, or potato starch which are all safe. But more frequently it's wheat, the most common and least expensive form of thickener for the manufacturer. If the label reads starch, in the U.S. this means cornstarch for foods, but in medications that starch can be corn or wheat.

So, my guideline is that caramel coloring is fine if made in the U.s. or Canada. I don't give my daughter anything that says "Modified Food Starch" unless it specifies specifically "modified corn starch", etc.

Lisa Mentor

Great answers!!

hez Enthusiast

A word of caution when using books as a reference. Like everything in life things can change over time (think vinegar, used to be considered unsafe, now we know it is safe). So things that were correctly written at the time may no longer hold true now. I find I depend on Gluten Free Living magazine's back cover to look for safe and unsafe ingredients. I only write this because I have run into books that are somewhat outdated and do not reflect the latest infomation.

With the new labeling laws if the modified food starch is from wheat it must state wheat as an ingredient.

Hez

gfp Enthusiast
A word of caution when using books as a reference. Like everything in life things can change over time (think vinegar, used to be considered unsafe, now we know it is safe). So things that were correctly written at the time may no longer hold true now. I find I depend on Gluten Free Living magazine's back cover to look for safe and unsafe ingredients. I only write this because I have run into books that are somewhat outdated and do not reflect the latest infomation.

With the new labeling laws if the modified food starch is from wheat it must state wheat as an ingredient.

Hez

True and apart from what is considered safe changing as I understand it the US take on starch and vegetable sugars including dextrines etc. is not because of any regualtion, simply that the commercial suppliers use corn and thier plants are set up specifically to handle it.

With globalisation there is no reason for them to continue using domestic sourced dextrose or starch deriviatives even if the product is still manufactured in the US...

The new labelling should help but the problem is that in most cases there is no tracability of the ingredients. Companies don't specifically order 1000 tons of modified corn dextrose, they order 1000 tons of dextrose from whoever is cheapest. modified starch, dextrose and caramel color are just commodities...

If for instance their is a excess of these items in europe or elsewhere their price will drop and it will be cheaper for US companies to buy them than domestic..

debmidge Rising Star

gfp, you nailed the problem on the head. Unless the company making the product has a particular desire to always use a non gluten starch, they will use whatever is cheaper for them. That's what gives them a higher profit. Remember, it's a fact of life that they are in business to make money and they'll take the short cut 9 times out of ten, unless their mission statement declares that they are a gluten-free food manufacturer. Morally, in any case, they do, in my opinion, have an obligation to indicate on the label the source of the starch as it would be nice. I am sure that they can do that when they know the "lot number" of the incoming starch and who they purchsed it from, etc. It'll just take them time and money to research this.....


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,012
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Shahin Arab
    Newest Member
    Shahin Arab
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      Oh no, I'm sorry to hear about the accidental gluten! This article, and the comments below it, may be helpful:    
    • Karmmacalling
      I was born with celiac disease im 20 years old. And I've been gluten free my whole life. Yes my diet is 100 percent gluten free and no i don't eat at restaurants at all. I got glutened by a chips that was marked as gluten free but it wasn't the company said the packaging was old and the recipe was new. 
    • Scott Adams
      Welcome to the forum, the biggest source of cross-contamination would be eating our in restaurants--even ones that have a gluten-free menu. If your son was just recently diagnosed I'd recommend trying not to eat out during his healing period, which could last up to a year or more, depending on how much villi damage he had.
    • Scott Adams
      How long ago were you diagnosed with celiac disease? How long have you been gluten-free? Is your diet strict, and are you 100% gluten-free? Do you eat out in restaurants?
    • trents
      Key word, "gluten-like".  By the way, have you looked up Dr. Osborne's credentials and his background? He is a licensed nutritionist but his scientific? medical? clinical background is that of a chiropractor. He is not taken seriously by many experts in the medical and scientific community. If it is helpful to you to see these other cereal grain proteins as "gluten", I'm fine with that. The problem is, when you begin to promote that line of thinking to others, people get confused about what grains they actually need to avoid. About 10% of celiacs react to oat protein (avenin) like they do gluten (the protein in wheat/barley/rye). That is not news. But the vast majority of celiacs have no issue with these other cereal grains. If we start throwing around the term "gluten" to loosely embrace the proteins found in all cereal grains it's going to be very confusing to those just getting started who only need to avoid wheat/barley/rye. And it will also create a great deal of confusion in the restaurant industry trying to cater to that element of their customer base needing to eat gluten free.
×
×
  • Create New...