Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Pacific Foods


kaciemarie

Recommended Posts

kaciemarie Contributor

I just bought the Pacific Food brand Organic French Onion soup (in the cardboard container) and it claims that it is Gluten Free. I am always extra careful so I went home and checked on the Pacific Foods website and it says that it is Gluten Free but not Wheat Free. Is this even possible? Has anyone had any problems with this brand before? I called the customer service department and emailed them but I still have not heard back from them. Any information would be welcomed!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



francelajoie Explorer

"Gluten-free" includes wheat, barley, and rye.

jerseyangel Proficient
I just bought the Pacific Food brand Organic French Onion soup (in the cardboard container) and it claims that it is Gluten Free. I am always extra careful so I went home and checked on the Pacific Foods website and it says that it is Gluten Free but not Wheat Free. Is this even possible? Has anyone had any problems with this brand before? I called the customer service department and emailed them but I still have not heard back from them. Any information would be welcomed!

Hi Kaciemarie--welcome to the board!

I just looked the soup up on the website, and it is indeed gluten-free.

Open Original Shared Link

If a product is gluten-free, it does not always say wheat free in addition. Gluten free automaticaly means wheat free. (not to be confusing, but wheat free does not always mean gluten-free--the product could still contain barley or rye)

kaciemarie Contributor

Thanks!!!

I looked in the nutritional information section and this is what it said :

Ingredients: Filtered water, organic onions, natural sauteed onion concentrate (onions, salt, butter, onion powder, yeast extract, natural flavor), white wine concentrate, organic flavor (organic onion flavoring, organic sunflower oil), organic cane sweetener, sea salt, autolyzed yeast extract, organic garlic powder, carrageenan. Contains milk and wheat.

What do you think?

jerseyangel Proficient
Thanks!!!

I looked in the nutritional information section and this is what it said :

Ingredients: Filtered water, organic onions, natural sauteed onion concentrate (onions, salt, butter, onion powder, yeast extract, natural flavor), white wine concentrate, organic flavor (organic onion flavoring, organic sunflower oil), organic cane sweetener, sea salt, autolyzed yeast extract, organic garlic powder, carrageenan. Contains milk and wheat.

What do you think?

Do not eat it until this is cleared up!!! I do see what you mean--the website claims it is gluten-free, but in the nutrition section, it says it contains wheat. You do need to call them and talk to someone before you eat this. I'd be interested to know what they say.
Lauren M Explorer

I just saw it in the grocery store and it said "Gluten-Free" right on the package. Don't know if that helps or not, I didn't buy it b/c I'm not big on onion soup.

- Lauren

kaciemarie Contributor

Thank you! I thought I was crazy! I called them and emailed them. I will repost with the answer. I will check into more of their products.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



jerseyangel Proficient

It could be just a mistake--but you can't take any chances :)

CarlaB Enthusiast

I have seen that mistake on another food item from another company. In that case, it was a misprint. I think this will come up as the same problem since wheat is not an ingredient and it says gluten-free.

kaciemarie Contributor

Email back from Pacific Foods:

The wheat in the French Onion soup is called Vitacel. The gluten level in this wheat fiber falls below .10ppm, which is low enough for us to label this as gluten free. Attached is some information on this wheat fiber. If you have any questions or concerns, please let me know.

what do you guys think? safe???

jerseyangel Proficient
Email back from Pacific Foods:

The wheat in the French Onion soup is called Vitacel. The gluten level in this wheat fiber falls below .10ppm, which is low enough for us to label this as gluten free. Attached is some information on this wheat fiber. If you have any questions or concerns, please let me know.

what do you guys think? safe???

Wow--that's a new one to me! Hopefully someone here is familiar with that. Personally, I would not eat it. I'm super sensitive, and just would not take the chance. Sorry I could not have been more help! :)

jkmunchkin Rising Star
I just bought the Pacific Food brand Organic French Onion soup (in the cardboard container) and it claims that it is Gluten Free. I am always extra careful so I went home and checked on the Pacific Foods website and it says that it is Gluten Free but not Wheat Free. Is this even possible? Has anyone had any problems with this brand before? I called the customer service department and emailed them but I still have not heard back from them. Any information would be welcomed!

Well now I'm hesitant to eat it, but if you try it let us know how it is. I bought it also and love french onion soup. I used to love the Campbell one in the can.

kaciemarie Contributor

You were a help to me! My boyfriend and I both have Celiac Disease (I know weird!) and we are both very sensitive so I am probably not going to eat this. Anyways, this is what his attached document said :

"Gluten-Free

According to the Codex Standard „Codex Stan 118“ of the Codex Alimentarius Commission of

1983 as well as the „Draft Revised Standard for Gluten-Free Foods“ of the Codex Commitee of

2000 foodstuffs can be labelled as „gluten-free“, if they do not exceed a gluten level of 20 mg/

kg.

VITACEL® Wheat Fibres produced by J. Rettenmaier & Söhne demonstrably fall below a

gluten level of 10 mg/ kg.

On the basis of these particulars we recommend a labelling as „Wheat Fibre (gluten-free).“

I've never heard of this before!!

jerseyangel Proficient
You were a help to me! My boyfriend and I both have Celiac Disease

How about that! Both of you are Celiac--at least you both know and understand what the other is going through! Well, I'm glad you found us here--feel free to post anytime--it was nice to "meet" you :D

CarlaB Enthusiast

Why isn't it listed as an ingredient? Is it part of one of the flavorings? I wouldn't eat it.

penguin Community Regular

Here's a link to this bizarre vitacel stuff:

Open Original Shared Link

Is it in all of the pacific foods stuff? :huh:

Here's another link and text:

Open Original Shared Link disease=4

Wheat fiber VITACEL

kaciemarie Contributor

Thanks! It was nice to "meet" all of you too! I have a feeling I will be on here a lot more now. This is such a great way to interact with other Celiacs!! Having a boyfriend that has Celiac disease too makes things a lot easier!!!

On the soup:

I don't think we are going to eat it tonight! It seems kind of risky to me! If my boyfriend decides to take a chance I will let you know if he had a reaction!

I don't know if it is any of their other products. It makes me nervous though because they seem like a company who understands what Gluten Free means and they still put this Wheat Fiber in their products and call it gluten free. I don't know what to do about buying their other products. I also have been using their Low Fat Rice Milk too! I wonder if it is safe! AHHHH I'm so confused!

jerseyangel Proficient

Thanks Chelsea--that was interesting. I don't see why they can't use another binding agent in a supposedly gluten-free food. It makes no sense to me :blink:

penguin Community Regular
Thanks Chelsea--that was interesting. I don't see why they can't use another binding agent in a supposedly gluten-free food. It makes no sense to me :blink:

You'd think they could use chicory inulin or something instead if they wanted a highly modified, high fiber starch. Chicory is definitely gluten-free.

kaciemarie Contributor

I wanted to let everyone know that I didn't try this last night. Instead I gave it to one of my non-Celiac friends. Let me know if anyone else trys it! Thanks for everyone's help yesterday!!

jerseyangel Proficient

Kaciemarie--I was wondering how you did with it last night. Glad to hear you didn't take the chance--I wouldn't have either :D

jenvan Collaborator

Weirdness... I use their broths and other soups...never tried the french onion. Seems like the products that contain the vitacel are listed as having wheat ingredients at the end of the statement, like the french onion did. Since that is the labeling law now. I woudn't try that particular soup either. ...But I will stick with the others for now.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,028
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    toyatang
    Newest Member
    toyatang
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • cristiana
      Hi @Karmmacalling I'm very sorry to hear you are feeling so unwell.  Can you tell us exactly what sort of pain you are experiencing and where the pain is?  Is it your lower abdomen, upper abdomen etc?  Do you have any other symptoms? Cristiana
    • trents
      The NIH article you link actually supports what I have been trying to explain to you: "Celiac disease (celiac disease) is an autoimmune-mediated enteropathy triggered by dietary gluten in genetically prone individuals. The current treatment for celiac disease is a strict lifelong gluten-free diet. However, in some celiac disease patients following a strict gluten-free diet, the symptoms do not remit. These cases may be refractory celiac disease or due to gluten contamination; however, the lack of response could be related to other dietary ingredients, such as maize, which is one of the most common alternatives to wheat used in the gluten-free diet. In some celiac disease patients, as a rare event, peptides from maize prolamins could induce a celiac-like immune response by similar or alternative pathogenic mechanisms to those used by wheat gluten peptides. This is supported by several shared features between wheat and maize prolamins and by some experimental results. Given that gluten peptides induce an immune response of the intestinal mucosa both in vivo and in vitro, peptides from maize prolamins could also be tested to determine whether they also induce a cellular immune response. Hypothetically, maize prolamins could be harmful for a very limited subgroup of celiac disease patients, especially those that are non-responsive, and if it is confirmed, they should follow, in addition to a gluten-free, a maize-free diet." Notice that those for whom it is suggested to follow a maize-free diet are a "very limited subgroup of celiac disease patients". Please don't try to make your own experience normative for the entire celiac community.  Notice also that the last part of the concluding sentence in the paragraph does not equate a gluten-free diet with a maize-free diet, it actually puts them in juxtaposition to one another. In other words, they are different but for a "limited subgroup of celiac disease patients" they produce the same or a similar reaction. You refer to celiac reactions to cereal grain prolamins as "allergic" reactions and "food sensitivity". For instance, you say, "NIH sees all these grains as in opposition to celiacs, of which I am one and that is science, not any MD with a good memory who overprescribes medications that contain known food allergens in them, of which they have zero knowledge if the patient is in fact allergic to or not, since they failed to do simple 'food sensitivity' testing" and "IF a person wants to get well, they should be the one to determine what grains they are allergic to and what grains they want to leave out, not you. I need to remind you that celiac disease is not an allergy, it is an autoimmune disorder. Neither allergy testing nor food sensitivity testing can be used to diagnose celiac disease. Allergy testing and food sensitivity testing cannot detect the antibodies produced by celiac disease in reaction to gluten ingestion.  You say of me, "You must be one of those who are only gluten intolerant . . ." Gluten intolerance is synonymous with celiac disease. You must be referring to gluten sensitivity or NCGS (Non Celiac Gluten Sensitivity). Actually, I have been officially diagnosed with celiac disease both by blood antibody testing and by endoscopy/positive biopsy. Reacting to all cereal grain prolamins does not define celiac disease. If you are intent on teaching the truth, please get it straight first.
    • Bebygirl01
      Perhaps you would still like to answer the questions I posed on this topic, because that is all I asked. I am curious to know the answers to those questions, I do not care about the background of Dr. Osborne as I am more aware of the situation than you are, and he is also one of the best known authors out there on Celiac disease. But did you even bother to read the three Research Papers I posted by NIH? You must be one of those who are only gluten intolerant and not yet reacting to all glutens aka grains, but I AM one of those who react to ALL the glutens, and again, that is one of the two questions I originally posted on this matter. NIH sees all these grains as in opposition to celiacs, of which I am one and that is science, not any MD with a good memory who overprescribes medications that contain known food allergens in them, of which they have zero knowledge if the patient is in fact allergic to or not, since they failed to do simple 'food sensitivity' testing. I started with the failed FDA explanation of what Gluten Free is and I stayed sick and got even sicker. It wasn't until I came across NIH's papers and went off all grains that I realized that in fact, I am Celiac and reacting to all the glutens. IF a person wants to get well, they should be the one to determine what grains they are allergic to and what grains they want to leave out, not you. Those who are just getting started with learning about grains etc., can take it easy by just being "grain free' and eating a lot of meat, vegetables, etc. or whole foods as God has intended, without buying so called gluten free garbage out there that is making them sick and the whole reason they are not better. I tried the stupid gluten free garbage and it didn't work, and that will make anyone want to give up, it is better to teach the entire truth and let the patient decide, rather than give them misinformation and lies.
    • Nicola McGuire
      Thank you so much I will speak to the doctor for dietician apt . Thank you for your advice Beth much appreciated 
    • Scott Adams
      Oh no, I'm sorry to hear about the accidental gluten! This article, and the comments below it, may be helpful:    
×
×
  • Create New...