Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Warning Imodium Liquid Is Not Gluten Free


ms-sillyak-screwed

Recommended Posts

ms-sillyak-screwed Enthusiast

WARNING IMODIUM liquid is NOT GLUTEN FREE

I was reactive to the liquid IMODIUM so I called IOpen Original Shared Link and guess what-- Imodium liquid is NOT free of GLUTEN. BEWARE! It has GLUTEN, SOY in it also has corn and SPLENDA in the liquid.

The woman was very very nice I spoke with, and told me that CORN is what they use as a binder in the pills. And corn is also used in the liquid too.

So for us celiacs that are at the stage of the disease with seconary food allergies to CORN. (Don't kid yourself -We all over time will develop them. It's a fact.) This product although we think it is helping us, we might be doing more unseen damage to our body with the corn.

AND The liquid had GLUTEN! BEWARE!!!

CALL the number yourself and speak up.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



mart Contributor

Thanks, this is good to know. I'd called last year about the children's liquid Imodium and they were in the process of testing it. Hope my kids don't get D. :angry:

ms-sillyak-screwed Enthusiast

I'm so troubled by this...

Think about it. Imodium is for many of us what we believe as a life saver. I have trusted them for the last 10-years of my life, and now I find out I'm making myself sicker not knowing. We must stop the madness these big companies are causing us!

This could be the reason we don't get better or we think we do until a relaps...

This is all the more reason why we need to get ingredient labeling on everything! Anything over the counter, Imodium, toothpaste, cosmetics, skin care, the dyes in our pillls, the list goes on.

ms-sillyak-screwed Enthusiast

I want to keep this threat alive. Or perhaps I'm obsessing; I just can't get this off my mind. This is posted on another thread - but I'm going to clearify what my finding were here too.

Open Original Shared Link. I asked the lady the ingredients in the Imodium liquid and then the pills.

She looked up the liquid and said

LIQUID IMODIUM - CONTAINS GLUTEN (from wheat and grains) she said there is also a flavoring that contains gluten. And SPLENDA is the sweetener they use and it IS CROSS CONTAMINATED with SOY.

PILLS IMODIUM - CONTAINS CORN. That was as far as I got. I didn't ask about SOY I was so upset.

I used my time with her educating her on the simple things important to know. And, I went deeper in hopes my converstation was recorded and logged into the "EARS". I asked her to write down a title of a book, that the brains in their labs should read called "DANGEROUS GRAINS..." I told her of a large grass roots movement happening around the USA of people with celiac disease, their families and friends to provoke change and awareness to big business, drug companies and our government.

And how we are going to demand ingredient labels like on food, but for drugs, beauty products, skin care and everything else... just like us not knowing IMODIUM LIQUID has GLUTEN in it.

I spoke to her about how millions and millions of people with celiac disease rely on Imodium, and how we have believe their product to be a safe drug to use with celiac disease when in fact they are making us sick(er).

Think about this long and hard.

Think of the impact this has had on our health.

Tomorrow I'm going to call my compound RX guy and ask if he can make it, caps or liquid without the poison in IMODIUM. Or what else we can take?

Judyin Philly Enthusiast

I've been badgering them since the liquid went 'thicker mint green' took the plain color liquid for 10 years. then they changed to the 'green' called to ask if it was gluten free...they said they hadn't ck'd on that yet as they were busy 'doing the marketing anaylasis of sales. I was livid and said ...why did you change it...

answer..to make it look more like pepto.... :ph34r: Told them i thought their time would be better spent researching the ingred contents rather than marketing stratigies..

I couldn't figure out why after the change to 'mint' green my 'D' was worse after taking it...

she said the tablets were gluten-free...but of course this was before the labeling laws in 2006.

i think we need to really stay on top of this and get the word out b/c many of us use this product all the time as needed....

thanks so much for the post.

judy in philly

ms-sillyak-screwed Enthusiast

You are very welcome...

I'm upset and can't get over it - how we trust them, and they are making it worse.

My experience this time has been with the clear cherry/mint liquid Imodium. I took some Imodium because of a loose stool about 2 TBS in the little cap cup. I noticed within 30 minutes, for me I had the awful smell of steatorrhea (diarrhea) that is how I know I have had wheat gluten in my system. Then within minutes I had the rash of celiac DH, all over my torso, it iched and didn't go away for days it was so bad I changed my body soap. The Imodium worked and bound me up. But the rash I questioned myself on it. I keep a food/body journal and I write eveything down and retraced it to that. So, another set back in my recovery... now I know better!

Judyin Philly -- You are so right we need to tell everyone.

gfp Enthusiast

Personally I have no problems with corn, after all they need some food grade binder to make tablets and if it wasn't corn based it would be another food deriviative which is potentially going to upset someone.

However the easiest thing is to try and find other loperamide manufacturers that use something you are not intolerant to.

Its a shame they can't just put this on the packets?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Ursa Major Collaborator

Well, another reason why Immodium made me so much sicker last summer! I took the pills, and I am intolerant to corn (all grains).

I agree, ALL medications, over-the-counter as well as prescription should have ALL ingredients listed, whether they are active or inactive (as in binders) makes no difference (and I mean, even very small amounts).

ravenwoodglass Mentor

This made me want to cry. I lived off multiple daily doses of the stuff for 15 years. I had to to be able to work. The last 5 years I needed it just to go to the store. Sometimes I wonder, cynic that I am if they put this stuff in stomach preperations on purpose. It gets rid of the symptoms temporarily but insures you'll need it again in a couple day. And my doctor wonders why I refuse all meds.

ms-sillyak-screwed Enthusiast

Yes, I do believe it is a conspiracy.

Look at the billions spent every year on di·ar·rhe·a -- what does it tell us. They want us to be sick and keep coming back. They'll learn when someone sues then like the families did to Mc Donalds for being liars about what was really in the product.

This is why many of us are getting sicker, and not better unknowingly -talking Imodium.

Open Original Shared Link Medical Breakthroughs. I watched it at 3 a.m. it was worth it. He had on several types of brains in the medical community. Worth reading the transcripts. They have found a link to a high fiber diet and colon cancer. Hello celiac disease! They talked about breastfeed babies don't get di·ar·rhe·a, hello again!

  • 2 months later...
DOCKLEARFAN Apprentice

I just got a perscription for Loperamide Caplets manufactured by Mylan.

Has anyone checked these caplets out to see if there gluten free? I read another thread

here and she said that it was gluten free EXCEPT it was from a DIFFERENT manufacturer:(

I guess my only recourse is to email Mylan and hope for a response.

Moongirl Community Regular
I just got a perscription for Loperamide Caplets manufactured by Mylan.

Has anyone checked these caplets out to see if there gluten free? I read another thread

here and she said that it was gluten free EXCEPT it was from a DIFFERENT manufacturer:(

I guess my only recourse is to email Mylan and hope for a response.

If my memory serves correctly, Mylan Pham. does not make any meds that contain gluten....

DOCKLEARFAN Apprentice
If my memory serves correctly, Mylan Pham. does not make any meds that contain gluten....

Can anyone confirm this? I need to be positive...

btw thanks moongirl!!

penguin Community Regular
Can anyone confirm this? I need to be positive...

btw thanks moongirl!!

The only way to confirm is to call the company yourself. You never know when other people called or what they were calling about.

DOCKLEARFAN Apprentice

I just called Mylan and they said the following.

"ALL products manufactured by Mylan are Gluten Free. There isn't Wheat, Oats, Barley, Rye, Spelt in the manufacturing process."

So to recap Loperamide (generic for Imodium) is GLUTEN FREE !!!!!!!!

mle-ii Explorer
I just called Mylan and they said the following.

"ALL products manufactured by Mylan are Gluten Free. There isn't Wheat, Oats, Barley, Rye, Spelt in the manufacturing process."

So to recap Loperamide (generic for Imodium) is GLUTEN FREE !!!!!!!!

On that note, I have have yet to see any confirmation that Imodium contains gluten. Where did someone find this information?

ravenwoodglass Mentor
On that note, I have have yet to see any confirmation that Imodium contains gluten. Where did someone find this information?

I confirmed it by calling the company when I first read this post. The answer from the immodium rep on the phone was that yes it had gluten and the other products other than the caplets had not been tested yet. I told her how much I appretiated their product containing this poison, and I am afraid I wasn't very nice. When I asked her if they realized that they were making gluten intolerant folks who relied on their product sick her response was that "We don't know of any instances of our product causing problems" Perhaps others might want to email or call the company also.

mle-ii Explorer
I confirmed it by calling the company when I first read this post. The answer from the immodium rep on the phone was that yes it had gluten and the other products other than the caplets had not been tested yet. I told her how much I appretiated their product containing this poison, and I am afraid I wasn't very nice. When I asked her if they realized that they were making gluten intolerant folks who relied on their product sick her response was that "We don't know of any instances of our product causing problems" Perhaps others might want to email or call the company also.

Very strange indeed. As I called them and they said that all products were gluten free. The only one that they didn't know about was the new formula liquid imodium. They didn't say it did or did not contain gluten only that it hadn't been tested yet, so he recommended going to the tablet version.

I guess I'll have to call again.

ravenwoodglass Mentor
Very strange indeed. As I called them and they said that all products were gluten free. The only one that they didn't know about was the new formula liquid imodium. They didn't say it did or did not contain gluten only that it hadn't been tested yet, so he recommended going to the tablet version.

I guess I'll have to call again.

I think with the issue with the liquid calling again may be the way to go. I called in July because I wanted to take a dose before a long car ride. Body didn't need it but my mind did :( If the product does or did contain gluten I would imagine they would be working to remove it. The more calls with questions the more quickly they will do this. The rep did state that they are now in the process of clinically testing their products and at that point could only tell me for sure that the AD caplets were okay. I expect testing would be completed on the others perhaps by now.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,797
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    JuneRose
    Newest Member
    JuneRose
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...