Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Cereals And Labeling, Kind Of Confused


kenyonsmommy

Recommended Posts

kenyonsmommy Rookie

I was looking at the ingredients on some mainstream cereals today and a few, such as captain crunch superman edt. did not list wheat or gluten as an allergy. If it lists malt, would not this be considered a hidden gluten? Are the manufacturers supposed to take into account those hidden sources such as malt, natural/artifical flavorings? I also looked at the rice krispie treats cereal, which does not list wheat, but has malt in it. <_<


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



AndreaB Contributor

I believe they need to list wheat as an allergen if it has it, but malt comes from barley. I don't believe they have to list whether it is gluten free or not. I think they have to list wheat if it is "hidden" in an ingredient but am not 100% sure. Someone else will probably jump on this and clarify.

psawyer Proficient

Under FALCPA, in the USA, wheat must be disclosed on the label as such, but the same is not true of the other gluten sources. Barley can still be listed as other names, such as the ubiquitous "malt flavor," or other forms with the word malt. I've never known rye or oats to be hidden, but in theory they could be.

If you see malt listed, assume it is barley, and therefore gluten.

kenyonsmommy Rookie

That really stinks... I got so excited over a cereal. Who knew this would be my source of excitement these days. I guess the moral of the day for me would be if it looks to good to be true, it really is. Thanks for the clarification.

mart Contributor

Kenyonsmommy, have you looked at the new Trix and Cocoa Puffs? They've been talking a lot about this on a recent thread in this forum. Also, a new cereal called Dora the Explorer, which I've not yet been able to find but others say is quite good. Just be sure to read the labels to ensure you are getting the ones without gluten. My son is quite happy to eat these mainstream cereals again. He's extremely sensitive, but we've had no problems whatsoever with them.

kenyonsmommy Rookie
Kenyonsmommy, have you looked at the new Trix and Cocoa Puffs? They've been talking a lot about this on a recent thread in this forum. Also, a new cereal called Dora the Explorer, which I've not yet been able to find but others say is quite good. Just be sure to read the labels to ensure you are getting the ones without gluten. My son is quite happy to eat these mainstream cereals again. He's extremely sensitive, but we've had no problems whatsoever with them.

I have, I actually bought the trix cereal, but I can not seem to find the dora cereal. he tried the Trix, he is extremely picky, and he has eaten a few bites. getting him to try something new is very hard, myself, husband and daughter all sat down one evening and had a bowl of trix with my son. he ate it, but I just wish I could give him a better variety. he hates the gorilla crunch, and he also won't eat chocolate. We'll keep trying, Thanks for your help.

Guest imsohungry

I'm a cereal eater myself.... cocoa pebbles are my favorite for breakfast. (It's something I can eat quickly before the baby wakes up and needs to be fed). ;)

I was once again looking at the labels tonight and remain SO FRUSTERATED that the only thing keeping me from eating many "mainstream" cereals is that malt is used. It can't be that necessary an ingredient because they do make some cereals without it.

I'm glad to hear about Trix. I haven't tried that before; It will be nice to have something different. I do sometimes buy the "Enviro" cereals, but they are a little expensive for my limited budget.

Good luck finding the Dora cereal...let me know where you find it and if it's any good!

-Julie


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



2Boys4Me Enthusiast
I was once again looking at the labels tonight and remain SO FRUSTERATED that the only thing keeping me from eating many "mainstream" cereals is that malt is used. It can't be that necessary an ingredient because they do make some cereals without it. -Julie

Which makes me wonder why Wendy's can find a fake malt for their frosties, but Kellogg's and everyone else can't find fake malt for cereal.

Everyone with or related to someone with Celiac should be bombarding the R&D departments to research fake malt. We don't have any gluten cereal in the house anymore, and it's all because of one little boy. When one person has Celiac, the whole family changes and won't buy the product anymore. (IMO)

eKatherine Apprentice

I cook everything, and I never once needed to use malt for anything during my wheat-eating days.

Except maybe beer-making...

I'dratherbecycling Rookie

They do not have to list gluten on labels. A new law went into effect January 1 that requires manufacturers to identify the presence of ingredients that contain protein derived from milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, or soybeans in the list of ingredients or to say "contains" followed by name of the source of the food allergen after or adjacent to the list of ingredients.

However, barley, rye, and products derived from them do not have to be noted on the labels. Thus, us celiacs still get to memorize long lists of ingredients and additives that might contain gluten but do not come from wheat - malt included. For those who are very sensitive, there's also the risk that something does not contain a gluten-containing ingredient and does not contain wheat protein, but could be contaminated with barley or rye or other non-wheat source of gluten within the facility.

Idahogirl Apprentice

Did I hear correctly? Are there gluten free Trix and Cocoa Puffs? If that is true, I think I will buy 20 boxes of each before they change their mind and start adding wheat or malt again. Someone please clarify-is it only certain varieties or old boxes or something????? I'm getting excited here..... :D

kenyonsmommy Rookie

I was told that the new boxes of Trix are gluten free, what ever that means. I saw some different looking boxes big lots one day, these boxes did not look like the one I bought, they were not as coloful I guess. We dont eat cocoa puffs, but I did find the Dora the explorer cinnamon stars today that are gluten-free as well. they were pretty good. I'd get it while you can, you never know when they will change it.

  • 2 weeks later...
Dangerkitten Newbie

For about 2 months I started eating Capt Crunch Peanut butter flavor, thinking it was gluten free. The label lists nothing at all suspicious. My health deteriorated to the point that I was ready to call my rheumatologist for an emergency appt. My RLS was at its worst, migraines lasting days, arthritis had me pretty much chair bound again, nausea was constant. Flashback to 2 years ago when I started to think wheat might be a problem.

I went through my diet and pantry, looking for any changes. I remembered that I had started eating that cereal at the same time I started going downhill. I contacted Quaker Oats and sure enough. The cereal is not gluten-free. It is contaminated through processing, from the farm onward. I complained to them that a "not a gluten free cereal" label should be included, just as the peanut warning is.

So.....the new labeling laws only go so far. You need to make sure the company is willing to commit to the product being gluten free. I dont ever want to go through that again. It's only a couple weeks since I went off the cereal and I'm slowly returning to my pre-cereal health.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - Jess270 replied to AnnaNZ's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      29

      Bitters for digestion?

    2. - cristiana commented on Jefferson Adams's article in Origins of Celiac Disease
      7

      Why Bananas No Longer Cure Celiac Disease

    3. - trents replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      23

      Vaccines

    4. - GeoPeanut replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      23

      Vaccines

    5. - trents replied to KRipple's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      1

      Celiac or Addison's complications? Can someone share their experience?


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,057
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Glutard007
    Newest Member
    Glutard007
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jess270
      This sounds to me like histamine intolerance. Some foods have more or less histamine. processed or aged meats, fermented food like yoghurt or kimchi and bread (yeast), spinach, eggplant and mushroom are high in histamine. Other foods like tomatoes are histamine liberators, they encourage your mast cells to release histamine, which can also trigger the reactions you describe, flu like symptoms, joint pain, urinary tract irritation, rash, stomach upset, nausea, diarrhoea & fatigue. I had liver pain like you describe, as part of the intolerance is usually a sluggish liver that makes processing all the histamine difficult. There are multiple possible root causes of histamine intolerance, usually it’s a symptom of something else. In my case, leaky gut (damaged gut wall)caused by undiagnosed celiac, but for others it’s leaky gut caused by other things like dysbiosis. Some people also experience histamine intolerance due to mould exposure or low levels of DAO (the enzyme that breaks down histamine in the gut). I’d try a low histamine diet & if that doesn’t improve symptoms fully, try low oxalate too. As others have suggested, supplements like vitamin d, b, l-glutamine to support a healthy gut & a good liver support supplement too. If you’re in a histamine flare take vitamin c to bowel tolerance & your symptoms will calm down (avoid if you find you have oxalate intolerance though). Best of luck 
    • trents
      @GeoPeanut, milk is one of the better sources of iodine. Iodine is known to exacerbate dermatitis herpetiformis. Many people find that a low iodine diet helps them avoid dermatitis herpetiformis outbreaks. So, maybe the fact that you have limited your dairy intake of late is helping with that.
    • GeoPeanut
      Hi, I'm new here. Sorry for your troubles.herenis a thought to mull over. I recently was diagnosed with celiac disease,  and hashimoto's and dermatitis herpetiformis after getting covid 19. I eat butter, and 1/2 cup of Nancy's yogurt daily. I stopped all other dairy and  dermatitis herpetiformis is gone! I also make grass fed beef bone broth to help with myopathy that has occurred. 
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @KRipple! Sorry to hear of all your husband's health problems. I can only imagine how anxious this makes you as when our spouse suffers we hurt right along with them. Can you post the results from the Celiac blood testing for us to look at? We would need the names of the tests run, the numeric results and (this is important) the reference ranges for each test used to establish high/low/negative/positive. Different labs use different rating scales so this is why I ask for this. There aren't industry standards. Has your husband seen any improvement from eliminating gluten from his diet? If your husband had any positive results from his celiac blood antibody testing, this is likely what triggered the consult with a  GI doc for an endoscopy. During the endoscopy, the GI doc will likely biopsy the lining of the small bowel lining to check for the damage caused by celiac disease. This would be for confirmation of the results of the blood tests and is considered the gold standard of celiac disease diagnosis. But here is some difficult information I have for you. If your husband has been gluten free already for months leading up to the endoscopy/biopsy, it will likely invalidate the biopsy and result in a false negative. Starting the gluten free diet now will allow the lining of the small bowel to begin healing and if enough healing takes place before the biopsy happens, there will be no damage to see. How far out is the endoscopy scheduled for? There still may be time for your husband to go back on gluten, what we call a "gluten challenge" to ensure valid test results.
    • kate g
      Ive read articles that there is stage 2 research being conducted for drugs that will limit damage to celiacs through cross contamination- how close are they to this will there be enough funding to create a mainstream drug? 
×
×
  • Create New...