Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Jell-o Instant Pudding


Green12

Recommended Posts

Green12 Enthusiast

I have a recipe for a fruit dip I was going to make the family for the 4th that has jell-o instant pudding as one of the ingredients. I did a search to see if it was gluten-free and all of the celiac websites list jell-o instant pudding as a main item to avoid. I am confused because I thought Kraft was really good at labeling main allergens on their products.

Is there a debate as to the source of modified food starch?

Comments/suggestions anyone??


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Franceen Explorer

Cut and paste from the KraftFoods website which has a document about gluten-free foods they produce: Link to that document is:

Open Original Shared Link

"Food Starch and Modified Food Starch: When listed in the ingredient statement of Kraft products, “food starch” and “modified food starch” often refer to corn starch. Our ingredient suppliers assure us that the corn starch we use in our products does not contain gluten. If a Kraft product uses food starches from a gluten- containing source, such as wheat starch, the source will always be identified in the ingredient statement."

According to the label of Jell-O Instant Chocolate Pudding Mix: Mod. Food Starch is listed, but no allergens are listed, indicating it is from Corn. Kraft is very diligent about any source of Gluten - see the link above for more about their policies.

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

Kraft will not hide anything and that is the maker of jell-o brand. Unless it says wheat, rye, barley, oats on the label then it is safe.

Green12 Enthusiast

Thanks :)

I still don't know why it is listed as what to avoid for celiacs. Maybe that is old info?

mmaccartney Explorer

Many of us have problems with casein as well as gluten, perhaps that is why. We eat Jell-o pudding all the time, but just the chocolate and vanilla non-instant kind. I find that the instant kind doesn't work well with soymilk.

lorka150 Collaborator

the sugarfree, fatfree instant pudding has dairy derivitaves.

nicki2222 Rookie

So I am confused? Do they contain gluten and are they safe for us to eat?

I have noticed that some manufacturers have already started labeling their products with "contains" etc. but some older products that may have been sitting on shelves do not. The law stated that they did not have to remove all old labels so I wonder when we are going to finally know.

I did hear that in 2008 gluten will have to be listed...not just wheat.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



penguin Community Regular
So I am confused? Do they contain gluten and are they safe for us to eat?

I have noticed that some manufacturers have already started labeling their products with "contains" etc. but some older products that may have been sitting on shelves do not. The law stated that they did not have to remove all old labels so I wonder when we are going to finally know.

I did hear that in 2008 gluten will have to be listed...not just wheat.

Jell-o pudding, as long as there is not wheat, barley, rye, or oats on the label, it's safe. Most of them are indeed safe, the one I can think of off the top of my head that isn't safe is the oreo flavor.

With Kraft, their modified foodstarch is always corn unless stated otherwise. They aren't the only company that does this, but I don't have a list right here of who else does. If it's not a trusted company, then you have to call re: modified foodstarch.

When in doubt, don't eat it and call the company. Even with the new labelling law, it only refers to wheat, not barley, rye, or oats.

  • 1 year later...
tgsnod Newbie

Hi. I am new to all this (just been on the diet for a couple of weeks). Can someone tell me if the jello pudding mix will make/gel with soy or rice milk rather than dairy? Thanks!

  • 7 years later...
hotmomma1978 Newbie

I'm not sure on soy or rice milk but I've used lactaid and almond milk before and it worked just fine. Lactaid does set up more solid though.

kareng Grand Master

I'm not sure on soy or rice milk but I've used lactaid and almond milk before and it worked just fine. Lactaid does set up more solid though.

Just an FYI - These posts are from 2006-2007. Most of these posters haven't been on in years.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,651
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Joanne Jordan
    Newest Member
    Joanne Jordan
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • misslemon
      Hi, I'm hoping to get some advice on how to handle Mass as a new Catholic.  I'm looking to take the Mass for the first time in March.  I've been told that the church has a "low gluten" option that is 0.01% gluten.  Is this safe, especially to do every week?   I also read that taking the wine instead could be more of a problem if it gets contaminated with regular crumbs.   I found this information online:  "The Benedictine Sisters of Perpetual Adoration in Clyde, Missouri, have developed a Communion host that is extremely low in gluten. The host is made from gelatinized wheat starch. The Sisters report the hosts test to a level of 0.01% gluten. At that level, the lowest that could be tested, no gluten was detected. This means that there is less than 0.01% gluten in one of these hosts. The Secretariat for the Liturgy of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops has stated that these hosts meet the requirements of the Code of Canon Law (924 §2) and may be validly used at the celebration of the Eucharist with permission of the person's pastor. The Catholic with celiac disease can now fully participate in Holy Communion with the whole parish family. Catholic celiacs may choose to receive consecrated wine at a regular communion station if their parish offers communion under both species. There is greater risk for contamination using this option. The fraction rite may allow small, yet dangerous crumbs to be in the cup." Thank you for any guidance!
    • Jenn D
      My son was diagnosed with Celiac Disease is April 2023. His ttg antibody was over 100 at the time of diagnosis. Now it is at 3 (which is considered negative), but his endomysium antibody iga is still coming up positive. There is no specific number just positive or negative so I'm not sure if he's getting better or not. I'm getting nervous that something else is going on and I was just looking for some advice or an understanding what this "postive" actually means. He gets tested every 6 months. Thank you so much for any responses😊 Attached is a picture of his bloodwork from August 2024
    • trents
      @JenFur, if this is microwave popcorn you are using, check for added ingredients that could be causing a reaction such as flavorings which might be hidden sources of gluten.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @mark w! Did you hit the "Submit Reply" button before you finished typing your post? The thought seems incomplete and there is no punctuation to terminate it at the end of the sentence. Are you stating that you believe the odd episode of being "glutened" is responsible for your ongoing fatigue or are you asking the question of could it be due to that?
    • mark w
      Hi I have been diagnosed celiac for 2 years still very bad fatigue,  the odd error with gluten over time
×
×
  • Create New...