Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

I Need A Drink


fanny

Recommended Posts

fanny Apprentice

Hello all,

I've been gluten free since April 2006. Summer is here and I want to go out and have a drink with friends, does anyone know what alcoholic brinks are gluten-free?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



fanny Apprentice
HI, Join the club!!!!! I´ve just posted a similar question under the title gluten-free booze?

Apparently wine and distilled alcohol is OK but I want a beer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

yeah but what is distilled alcohol? what brands are distilled alcohol?

I'm don't like beer to much I like coctails or mixed drinks

VegasCeliacBuckeye Collaborator

Most liquor is distilled liquor (vodka, gin, rum, whiskey, tequila, etc)

I usually stay with the "clear" liquors.

I like vodka so I drink pretty much all of them. Some people are still sensitive to ones made from grain, so they usually drink Smirnoff (made from corn) or potato vodkas (chopin, blue ice, glacier bay, llelowosa).

Get a screwdriver or cape cod (vodka cranberry) or vodka tonic or vodka-seven or whatever mixer you like with vodka.

CarlaB Enthusiast

Okay, distilled alcohol is liquor like vodka, rum, gin, etc. Some whiskeys might add the sour mash back in during their processing, so would not be gluten-free, so unless you research the whiskey you like, stick to the others. So, you can have mixed drinks, but be sure the mixers are gluten-free -- I usually stick to Coke or 7-Up.

Rum, tequila, and potato vodka are not made with grains that have gluten, so they are okay. Theoretically, the distillation process removes the gluten, but some of us still have a reaction to liquors made with those grains.

Be careful of margaritas if you're casein free -- the bar across the street from my house has a mix they use that has milk solids in it. I know Cointreau is gluten-free, so I request that be used in my margarita if I order one out or make them at home (I use Jose Cuervo mix).

Most liquor is distilled liquor (vodka, gin, rum, whiskey, tequila, etc)

I usually stay with the "clear" liquors.

I like vodka so I drink pretty much all of them. Some people are still sensitive to ones made from grain, so they usually drink Smirnoff (made from corn) or potato vodkas (chopin, blue ice, glacier bay, llelowosa).

Get a screwdriver or cape cod (vodka cranberry) or vodka tonic or vodka-seven or whatever mixer you like with vodka.

I usually drink the clear ones, too. I just don't want to chance a reaction to whatever the use to color it since many are made in other countries.

Didn't know that about Smirnoff, but vodka rips me up anyway ... don't know why, I tried Chopin. It's unfortunate, too, because I love cosmopolitans!

Girl Ninja Newbie

Hope this helps. :)

Almaden Wines (000.000.0000) (vw=05/30/02) (www.almaden.com/faqs/FAQ.htm)

Alpine Spiced Cider (Continental Mills) (800.457.7744) (vp=09/05/02)

Drink Mixes

Arbor Mist Frozen Wine Blenders (Arbor Mist) (1-800-836-9463 x 35700) (Consumer.affairs@cwine.com) (ve=05-20-2003)

All are gluten free.

Armagnac (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Bacardi (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

All rums

Bargetto Wines (Bargetto) (800- 4-BARGETTO) (Open Original Shared Link) (ve=05/19/2004)

All varieties

Bartles & Jaymes (E&J Gallo) (www.bartlesandjames.com) (ve=03/26/04)

Wine Based Coolers NOTE: Bartles & Jaymes MALT-Base Coolers contain gluten

Boone’s & Boone’s Farm Coolers (E&J Gallo) (209-341-3111) (ve=03/26/04)

Wine Based Products are gluten-free. NOTE: Some are MALT Based beverages and contain gluten

Brandy (00/00/00)

Calvados, Grand Marnier, AVOID VSOP!

Bushmill's (bushmills@qualitycustomercare.com) (ve=01/09/2004)

ALL whiskies including Malt whiskeys are gluten-free. This is a very smooth Irish whiskey, all products triple distilled, says manufacturer

Campari (000.000.0000) (ve=05/30/02)

Captain Morgan (000.000.0000) (ve=06/04/02) (www.rum.com)

Original Spiced Rum; Silver Spiced Rum; Parrot Bay; Private Stock

Champagne (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Chaucer's Mead (Bargetto) (800- 4-BARGETTO) (Open Original Shared Link) (ve=05/19/2004)

Regular, Raspberry, Olallieberry

Cider (00/00/00)

Hornsby (NOT Draft Cider),

Wyder’s Ciders (Wyder’s) - (ve=05-20-2003) .

The Pear and Raspberry Ciders DO contain gluten. The Peach and Apple Ciders, however, contain no gluten.

Ciders (00/00/00)

Woodchuck, Cider Jack, Woodpecker, Strongbow (all made from fermented apples and made with gluten-free ingredients)

Cognac (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Corbett Canyon Wines (The Wine Group) (209.599.4111) (00/00/00)

All varieties

Coastal Cellars (Bargetto) (800- 4-BARGETTO) (Open Original Shared Link) (ve=05/19/2004)

All varieties

Crown Royal products (ve=2-5-03)

from the company: “Please be advised that Crown Royal products, which have been distilled, do not contain glutens or gluten residues. However, as this relates to a medical condition, may we suggest you consult your own physician concerning the consumption of alcohol beverage products?”

Cruzan (Todhunter Imports) (www.cruzanrum.com) (ve=2-21-03)

All Rums including flavored onesare gluten-free.

DeKuyper (www.DeKuyper.com) (ve=9-23-04)

Our cordials are made with distilled spirits that are primarily made from a corn base. They may also from time to time, contain small amounts of small grains such as wheat or rye. It is known that Gluten can be found in the small grains such as rye, barley, oats, etc. However, it is generally accepted that the process of distillation excludes gluten in the finished product.

Diageo (800.767.3123) (from the ListServ 07/14/02)

"After calling customer service at 800 767-3123, I received the following list from Diageo on its gluten-free brands

GINS:

Booths

Gordons

Gordons Citrus

Gordons Wildberry

Popov

READY-TO-DRINK COCKTAILS:

T.G.I. Friday's On The Rocks

• Censored on the Beach

• Long Island Ice Tea

• Margarita

• Mudslide

• Pina Colada

• Strawberry Daiquiri

• White Russian

The Club Cocktails

• Brass Monkey

• Censored on the Beach

• Gin Martini

• Long Island Ice Tea

• Manhattan

• Margarita

• Mudslide

• Pina Colada

• Screwdriver

• Tom Collins

• Vodka Martini

• Whiskey Sour

NEW: SMIRNOFF ICE

BLENDERS:

Jose Curevo Blenders

• Authentic Margarita Mix

• Lime Margarita Mix

• Strawberry Margarita Mix

T.G.I. Friday's Blenders

• Amaretto Mudslide

• Margarita

• Mudslide

• Orange Dream

• Pina Colada

• Strawberry Shortcake

• Raspberry Chiller

• Vanilla Caramel Swirl

LIQUEURS AND SPECIALITIES:

Black Haus Blackberry Schnapps

Rumple Minze Peppermint Schnapps

RUM

Appleton Estate V/X

Appleton Estate 12 Year

Appleton Estate 21 Year

Appleton Special

Malibu Caribbean Rum

TEQUILAS:

Cuervo 1800 Reposada

Cuervo 1800 Añejo

Cuervo 1800 Coleccion

Cuervo 1800 Single Barrel

Jose Cuervo Especial

Jose Cuervo Tradicional

Reserva de la Familia de Jose Cuervo

VODKAS:

Gordons

Popov

Relska

Smirnoff

Smirnoff Black

Smirnoff Citrus Twist

Smirnoff Orange Twist

Smirnoff Raspberry Twist

Smirnoff Vanilla Twist

WINES:

CALIFORNIA

• Beaulieu Vineyard

• Blossom Hill Winery

• Glen Ellen

• M. G. Vallejo

CHILE

• Casa Lapostolle

• Cuvee Alexander

FRANCE

• Chateau De Sancerre

• Piat D’Or

ITALY

• Ruffino

Diasronno Originale (Imported by Bacardi from Italy) (Open Original Shared Link) (ve=06/24/03)

Amaretto

E. & J. Gallo Winery, of Modesto, California (Comsumerrealtions@carlorossi.com)(ve=04-12-2004)

All of the wines and champagnes are completely free of gluten or any gluten by-products

Gin (00/00/00)

Club Gin & Tonic, Cocktails for Two Gin Martini, Hublein Gin Martini, Milshire Gin 80%, Popov Gin 80%. Look for Korn (a German Potato Gin)

Hornsby (E&J Gallo) (209-341-3111) (ve=03/26/04)

None are considered gluten-free

Irish Mist (000-000-0000) (ve=04/30/04)

Jack Daniels (www.jackdaniels.com) (ve=01/09/2004)

Jack Daniel's Black Label Tennessee Whiskey has absolutely no carbohydrates (sugar or starch), gluten, fats or cholesterol, as these are removed during the distilling process.

Madeira (www.premiumport.com) (00/00/00)

If from the Portuguese island of Madeira it is gluten-free because of the regulations with making Madeira in that country - otherwise check with the manufacturer

Margarita Mix (00/00/00)

Jose Cuervo; Mr. & Mrs. T

Marinade & Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes; Mr. & Mrs. T (EXCEPT Bloody Mary Mix) (00/00/00)

Martini (00/00/00)

Club Extra Dry martini, Club Vodka Martini

Mead (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Distilled from honey and is usually gluten-free

Mistico (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Jose Cuervo Mistico (agave & cane)

Mixes (00/00/00)

Club Tom Collins (corn), Diamond Jim's Bloody Mary Mystery, Holland House (EXCEPT Teriyaki

Motts (Motts Cadbury Schwepps) (800-426-4891) (Open Original Shared Link) (vp=06/19/03)

Motts Cooking Wines (all varieties)

Ouzo (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

A clear, aromatic alcohol distilled from grapes and flavored with aniseed (anise). Anise belongs to the parsley family and has a licorice-like flavor. Anise is one of the earliest aromatic plants to be mentioned in history and originates in the Mediteranian.

Pat O'Brien's Hurricane Cocktail Mix (Franco's Cocktail Mixes) (800-782-4508) (www.francoscocktailmixes.com) (vp=9-24-03)

The modified starches they use are sourced from the USA and are corn based but they do not manufacture those ingredients themselves so cannot guarantee that they are totally gluten free. None of the natural flavors are from wheat, rye, barley or oats

Port (www.premiumport.com) (00/00/00)

If from Portugal it is gluten-free because of the regulations with making Port in that country - otherwise check with the manufacturer

Ramapo Valley Brewery gluten-free beer (vp= 11-03) (845-369-7827).

Remy Martin Congnac (ve=1-27=03) (www.remy-cointreau.com)

Remy Martin Congnac products are all grain free/gluten free.

Rose's Natural Infusions Cocktail Mixes, Rose's Brand (they also bring you Rose's Lime Juice and are part of the Motts/Cadbury/Schweppes Group)

1-800-696-5891 www.rosesinfusions.com (vp & ve 08/20/2004)

Rum (00/00/00)

Rum is distilled from sugar cane. Light rums should be free of gluten; however, the heavier spiced rums may contain gluten. If you prefer spiced rums please contact the company to make sure that any spices used are gluten-free. Otherwise it is safest to trust only white rums.

Sake (00/00/00)

May contain gluten from barley enzyme from some of the ingredients used during processing.

Sam Adams (Open Original Shared Link) (ve=07/30/03)

Sam Adams Hard Core Cider

Sherry (00/00/00)

Some use grains. Gallo Cocktail pale dry sherry of California

SKYY Spirits (000.000.0000) (ve=05/30/02)

SKYY Vodka and SKYY Citrus Vodka

Smirnoff Ice (diageo brands) (www.diageo.com) (02/02/05)

USA: Smirnoff Ice (any variety) is a malted beverage and NOT gluten-free.

CANADA, Smirnoff Ice (all varieties) is made with distilled vodka and is gluten-free

SOGONO DI SORRENTO LEMONCELLO (Cive Importing Co., Boston, MA) - liquor (617-227-3193) (ve=03-13-2003). Alcohol used in production is made from beets.

Sutter Home wines (Trinchero Family Estates) (ve=11/12/03)

All our wines are gluten free.

Taylor Marsala Wine (800-487-3417) (vp-3-3-05)

We DO NOT put any gluten in our wines, however, since we do not TEST for gluten, we can not say that it is gluten free!

Tequila (00/00/00)

El Tosoro, Herradura, Jose Cuervo Traditional & White, Matador White, Sauza Commeritivo, Sauza

Tito's Vodka (Open Original Shared Link ) v? 9-23-04)

Made from 100% corn and the product is distilled 6 times.

Tres Generationes (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Beware of dark Tequila using caramel food color

Vodkas (00/00/00)

Bellevedere (one from potato - not from rye); Black Death (beet); Bushman's (Australia) (100% cane); Chopin (potato); Hamptons Vodka (made in USA is made from corn -- 877-937-5951); Jinro Soju (a Korean vodka made entirely from sweet potatoes); Kamchatka Vodka 80% (California only - corn); Luksusowa (from potato); Glacier Teton Vodka (made with 100% Idaho potatoes); Milshire Gin 80 proof; Monopolowa (Potato); Popov Citrus & Tangerine; Relsk Vodka 80% (corn); Popov 80%; Smirnoff 80% & 100%; Smirnoff Silver 90.4%; Smirnoff Vodka 80% (corn); Smirnoff Citrus Twist 70%; also see Zodiac.

Tito's Vodka (Open Original Shared Link ) v? 9-23-04)

Made from 100% corn and the product is distilled 6 times.

Williams Sonoma apple martini mixer and lemon drop mixer (www.williamssonoma) (Feedback@williams-sonoma.com) (ve=3-31-05)

The 4830808 Lemon Drop Mix and 6124119 WS Cktl Mix Apltni. These items do not contain gluten.

Wine and Wine Coolers (00/00/00)

Most are gluten-free: Soleo Wine Cooler; E&J Brandies (the cask and cream liquor) , Also see individual listings

Zodiac Vodka (000.000.0000) (vp=05/30/02) (www.zodiacvodka.com)

CarlaB Enthusiast

That's a great list, thanks for posting it!!

fanny Apprentice
Hope this helps. :)

Almaden Wines (000.000.0000) (vw=05/30/02) (www.almaden.com/faqs/FAQ.htm)

Alpine Spiced Cider (Continental Mills) (800.457.7744) (vp=09/05/02)

Drink Mixes

Arbor Mist Frozen Wine Blenders (Arbor Mist) (1-800-836-9463 x 35700) (Consumer.affairs@cwine.com) (ve=05-20-2003)

All are gluten free.

Armagnac (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Bacardi (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

All rums

Bargetto Wines (Bargetto) (800- 4-BARGETTO) (Open Original Shared Link) (ve=05/19/2004)

All varieties

Bartles & Jaymes (E&J Gallo) (www.bartlesandjames.com) (ve=03/26/04)

Wine Based Coolers NOTE: Bartles & Jaymes MALT-Base Coolers contain gluten

Boone’s & Boone’s Farm Coolers (E&J Gallo) (209-341-3111) (ve=03/26/04)

Wine Based Products are gluten-free. NOTE: Some are MALT Based beverages and contain gluten

Brandy (00/00/00)

Calvados, Grand Marnier, AVOID VSOP!

Bushmill's (bushmills@qualitycustomercare.com) (ve=01/09/2004)

ALL whiskies including Malt whiskeys are gluten-free. This is a very smooth Irish whiskey, all products triple distilled, says manufacturer

Campari (000.000.0000) (ve=05/30/02)

Captain Morgan (000.000.0000) (ve=06/04/02) (www.rum.com)

Original Spiced Rum; Silver Spiced Rum; Parrot Bay; Private Stock

Champagne (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Chaucer's Mead (Bargetto) (800- 4-BARGETTO) (Open Original Shared Link) (ve=05/19/2004)

Regular, Raspberry, Olallieberry

Cider (00/00/00)

Hornsby (NOT Draft Cider),

Wyder’s Ciders (Wyder’s) - (ve=05-20-2003) .

The Pear and Raspberry Ciders DO contain gluten. The Peach and Apple Ciders, however, contain no gluten.

Ciders (00/00/00)

Woodchuck, Cider Jack, Woodpecker, Strongbow (all made from fermented apples and made with gluten-free ingredients)

Cognac (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Corbett Canyon Wines (The Wine Group) (209.599.4111) (00/00/00)

All varieties

Coastal Cellars (Bargetto) (800- 4-BARGETTO) (Open Original Shared Link) (ve=05/19/2004)

All varieties

Crown Royal products (ve=2-5-03)

from the company: “Please be advised that Crown Royal products, which have been distilled, do not contain glutens or gluten residues. However, as this relates to a medical condition, may we suggest you consult your own physician concerning the consumption of alcohol beverage products?”

Cruzan (Todhunter Imports) (www.cruzanrum.com) (ve=2-21-03)

All Rums including flavored onesare gluten-free.

DeKuyper (www.DeKuyper.com) (ve=9-23-04)

Our cordials are made with distilled spirits that are primarily made from a corn base. They may also from time to time, contain small amounts of small grains such as wheat or rye. It is known that Gluten can be found in the small grains such as rye, barley, oats, etc. However, it is generally accepted that the process of distillation excludes gluten in the finished product.

Diageo (800.767.3123) (from the ListServ 07/14/02)

"After calling customer service at 800 767-3123, I received the following list from Diageo on its gluten-free brands

GINS:

Booths

Gordons

Gordons Citrus

Gordons Wildberry

Popov

READY-TO-DRINK COCKTAILS:

T.G.I. Friday's On The Rocks

• Censored on the Beach

• Long Island Ice Tea

• Margarita

• Mudslide

• Pina Colada

• Strawberry Daiquiri

• White Russian

The Club Cocktails

• Brass Monkey

• Censored on the Beach

• Gin Martini

• Long Island Ice Tea

• Manhattan

• Margarita

• Mudslide

• Pina Colada

• Screwdriver

• Tom Collins

• Vodka Martini

• Whiskey Sour

NEW: SMIRNOFF ICE

BLENDERS:

Jose Curevo Blenders

• Authentic Margarita Mix

• Lime Margarita Mix

• Strawberry Margarita Mix

T.G.I. Friday's Blenders

• Amaretto Mudslide

• Margarita

• Mudslide

• Orange Dream

• Pina Colada

• Strawberry Shortcake

• Raspberry Chiller

• Vanilla Caramel Swirl

LIQUEURS AND SPECIALITIES:

Black Haus Blackberry Schnapps

Rumple Minze Peppermint Schnapps

RUM

Appleton Estate V/X

Appleton Estate 12 Year

Appleton Estate 21 Year

Appleton Special

Malibu Caribbean Rum

TEQUILAS:

Cuervo 1800 Reposada

Cuervo 1800 Añejo

Cuervo 1800 Coleccion

Cuervo 1800 Single Barrel

Jose Cuervo Especial

Jose Cuervo Tradicional

Reserva de la Familia de Jose Cuervo

VODKAS:

Gordons

Popov

Relska

Smirnoff

Smirnoff Black

Smirnoff Citrus Twist

Smirnoff Orange Twist

Smirnoff Raspberry Twist

Smirnoff Vanilla Twist

WINES:

CALIFORNIA

• Beaulieu Vineyard

• Blossom Hill Winery

• Glen Ellen

• M. G. Vallejo

CHILE

• Casa Lapostolle

• Cuvee Alexander

FRANCE

• Chateau De Sancerre

• Piat D’Or

ITALY

• Ruffino

Diasronno Originale (Imported by Bacardi from Italy) (Open Original Shared Link) (ve=06/24/03)

Amaretto

E. & J. Gallo Winery, of Modesto, California (Comsumerrealtions@carlorossi.com)(ve=04-12-2004)

All of the wines and champagnes are completely free of gluten or any gluten by-products

Gin (00/00/00)

Club Gin & Tonic, Cocktails for Two Gin Martini, Hublein Gin Martini, Milshire Gin 80%, Popov Gin 80%. Look for Korn (a German Potato Gin)

Hornsby (E&J Gallo) (209-341-3111) (ve=03/26/04)

None are considered gluten-free

Irish Mist (000-000-0000) (ve=04/30/04)

Jack Daniels (www.jackdaniels.com) (ve=01/09/2004)

Jack Daniel's Black Label Tennessee Whiskey has absolutely no carbohydrates (sugar or starch), gluten, fats or cholesterol, as these are removed during the distilling process.

Madeira (www.premiumport.com) (00/00/00)

If from the Portuguese island of Madeira it is gluten-free because of the regulations with making Madeira in that country - otherwise check with the manufacturer

Margarita Mix (00/00/00)

Jose Cuervo; Mr. & Mrs. T

Marinade & Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes; Mr. & Mrs. T (EXCEPT Bloody Mary Mix) (00/00/00)

Martini (00/00/00)

Club Extra Dry martini, Club Vodka Martini

Mead (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Distilled from honey and is usually gluten-free

Mistico (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Jose Cuervo Mistico (agave & cane)

Mixes (00/00/00)

Club Tom Collins (corn), Diamond Jim's Bloody Mary Mystery, Holland House (EXCEPT Teriyaki

Motts (Motts Cadbury Schwepps) (800-426-4891) (Open Original Shared Link) (vp=06/19/03)

Motts Cooking Wines (all varieties)

Ouzo (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

A clear, aromatic alcohol distilled from grapes and flavored with aniseed (anise). Anise belongs to the parsley family and has a licorice-like flavor. Anise is one of the earliest aromatic plants to be mentioned in history and originates in the Mediteranian.

Pat O'Brien's Hurricane Cocktail Mix (Franco's Cocktail Mixes) (800-782-4508) (www.francoscocktailmixes.com) (vp=9-24-03)

The modified starches they use are sourced from the USA and are corn based but they do not manufacture those ingredients themselves so cannot guarantee that they are totally gluten free. None of the natural flavors are from wheat, rye, barley or oats

Port (www.premiumport.com) (00/00/00)

If from Portugal it is gluten-free because of the regulations with making Port in that country - otherwise check with the manufacturer

Ramapo Valley Brewery gluten-free beer (vp= 11-03) (845-369-7827).

Remy Martin Congnac (ve=1-27=03) (www.remy-cointreau.com)

Remy Martin Congnac products are all grain free/gluten free.

Rose's Natural Infusions Cocktail Mixes, Rose's Brand (they also bring you Rose's Lime Juice and are part of the Motts/Cadbury/Schweppes Group)

1-800-696-5891 www.rosesinfusions.com (vp & ve 08/20/2004)

Rum (00/00/00)

Rum is distilled from sugar cane. Light rums should be free of gluten; however, the heavier spiced rums may contain gluten. If you prefer spiced rums please contact the company to make sure that any spices used are gluten-free. Otherwise it is safest to trust only white rums.

Sake (00/00/00)

May contain gluten from barley enzyme from some of the ingredients used during processing.

Sam Adams (Open Original Shared Link) (ve=07/30/03)

Sam Adams Hard Core Cider

Sherry (00/00/00)

Some use grains. Gallo Cocktail pale dry sherry of California

SKYY Spirits (000.000.0000) (ve=05/30/02)

SKYY Vodka and SKYY Citrus Vodka

Smirnoff Ice (diageo brands) (www.diageo.com) (02/02/05)

USA: Smirnoff Ice (any variety) is a malted beverage and NOT gluten-free.

CANADA, Smirnoff Ice (all varieties) is made with distilled vodka and is gluten-free

SOGONO DI SORRENTO LEMONCELLO (Cive Importing Co., Boston, MA) - liquor (617-227-3193) (ve=03-13-2003). Alcohol used in production is made from beets.

Sutter Home wines (Trinchero Family Estates) (ve=11/12/03)

All our wines are gluten free.

Taylor Marsala Wine (800-487-3417) (vp-3-3-05)

We DO NOT put any gluten in our wines, however, since we do not TEST for gluten, we can not say that it is gluten free!

Tequila (00/00/00)

El Tosoro, Herradura, Jose Cuervo Traditional & White, Matador White, Sauza Commeritivo, Sauza

Tito's Vodka (Open Original Shared Link ) v? 9-23-04)

Made from 100% corn and the product is distilled 6 times.

Tres Generationes (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Beware of dark Tequila using caramel food color

Vodkas (00/00/00)

Bellevedere (one from potato - not from rye); Black Death (beet); Bushman's (Australia) (100% cane); Chopin (potato); Hamptons Vodka (made in USA is made from corn -- 877-937-5951); Jinro Soju (a Korean vodka made entirely from sweet potatoes); Kamchatka Vodka 80% (California only - corn); Luksusowa (from potato); Glacier Teton Vodka (made with 100% Idaho potatoes); Milshire Gin 80 proof; Monopolowa (Potato); Popov Citrus & Tangerine; Relsk Vodka 80% (corn); Popov 80%; Smirnoff 80% & 100%; Smirnoff Silver 90.4%; Smirnoff Vodka 80% (corn); Smirnoff Citrus Twist 70%; also see Zodiac.

Tito's Vodka (Open Original Shared Link ) v? 9-23-04)

Made from 100% corn and the product is distilled 6 times.

Williams Sonoma apple martini mixer and lemon drop mixer (www.williamssonoma) (Feedback@williams-sonoma.com) (ve=3-31-05)

The 4830808 Lemon Drop Mix and 6124119 WS Cktl Mix Apltni. These items do not contain gluten.

Wine and Wine Coolers (00/00/00)

Most are gluten-free: Soleo Wine Cooler; E&J Brandies (the cask and cream liquor) , Also see individual listings

Zodiac Vodka (000.000.0000) (vp=05/30/02) (www.zodiacvodka.com)

Thank for the list. It looks like I'm having a girls night out this weekend.

cheers.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



penguin Community Regular

Boy howdy, you mean the Boone's Farm coolers are gluten-free?!? :P:lol::rolleyes:

Makes me want to drink out in a field after the football game :rolleyes:

  • 2 weeks later...
Corkdarrr Enthusiast

This has probably been one of the most helpful threads I've happened upon.

I'm 24 and a bartender, and was just diagnosed a little over a week ago. Everytime a regular offered to buy me a shot, I just cringed - especially that first nite before I'd done more research. (Not many people are up for straight vodka...)

Does anyone know about Jameson? It's a malt whiskey (their website was under construction when I checked earlier this week, so they didn't even have a contact button) I don't understand the whole distillation process and how many times it should go through said process before it's considered okay.

Also, I've read a lot that vodka is okay in general. I've seen Smirnoff mentioned specifically quite often, but never Stoli or Absolut. Are those no-nos, or is it because the vodka market is overly saturated and it would be ridiculous to list every brand?

~ Courtney

tarnalberry Community Regular
Also, I've read a lot that vodka is okay in general. I've seen Smirnoff mentioned specifically quite often, but never Stoli or Absolut. Are those no-nos, or is it because the vodka market is overly saturated and it would be ridiculous to list every brand?

Stoli and Absolut are both distilled from wheat. So, for those of us who are on the "distillation does render it gluten free" side of the camp, we're going to say they're safe. Ironically, I'm in that camp, but would steer you towards Ciroq, which is grape based so couldn't have gluten in it, merely because it's much better than even Stolichnaya, though not available in flavors. Some people have reactions to some alcoholic beverages regardless of gluten status, of course, so always listen to your body.

Guhlia Rising Star

Does anyone know about the little prepackaged Kahlua brand mudslides, white russians, B-52's, etc? I'm dying to have something pre-packaged to drink for an outdoor party. I can't get any of the gluten free beers here where I live.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - Jess270 replied to AnnaNZ's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      29

      Bitters for digestion?

    2. - cristiana commented on Jefferson Adams's article in Origins of Celiac Disease
      7

      Why Bananas No Longer Cure Celiac Disease

    3. - trents replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      23

      Vaccines

    4. - GeoPeanut replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      23

      Vaccines

    5. - trents replied to KRipple's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      1

      Celiac or Addison's complications? Can someone share their experience?


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,061
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Cynthia Glover
    Newest Member
    Cynthia Glover
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jess270
      This sounds to me like histamine intolerance. Some foods have more or less histamine. processed or aged meats, fermented food like yoghurt or kimchi and bread (yeast), spinach, eggplant and mushroom are high in histamine. Other foods like tomatoes are histamine liberators, they encourage your mast cells to release histamine, which can also trigger the reactions you describe, flu like symptoms, joint pain, urinary tract irritation, rash, stomach upset, nausea, diarrhoea & fatigue. I had liver pain like you describe, as part of the intolerance is usually a sluggish liver that makes processing all the histamine difficult. There are multiple possible root causes of histamine intolerance, usually it’s a symptom of something else. In my case, leaky gut (damaged gut wall)caused by undiagnosed celiac, but for others it’s leaky gut caused by other things like dysbiosis. Some people also experience histamine intolerance due to mould exposure or low levels of DAO (the enzyme that breaks down histamine in the gut). I’d try a low histamine diet & if that doesn’t improve symptoms fully, try low oxalate too. As others have suggested, supplements like vitamin d, b, l-glutamine to support a healthy gut & a good liver support supplement too. If you’re in a histamine flare take vitamin c to bowel tolerance & your symptoms will calm down (avoid if you find you have oxalate intolerance though). Best of luck 
    • trents
      @GeoPeanut, milk is one of the better sources of iodine. Iodine is known to exacerbate dermatitis herpetiformis. Many people find that a low iodine diet helps them avoid dermatitis herpetiformis outbreaks. So, maybe the fact that you have limited your dairy intake of late is helping with that.
    • GeoPeanut
      Hi, I'm new here. Sorry for your troubles.herenis a thought to mull over. I recently was diagnosed with celiac disease,  and hashimoto's and dermatitis herpetiformis after getting covid 19. I eat butter, and 1/2 cup of Nancy's yogurt daily. I stopped all other dairy and  dermatitis herpetiformis is gone! I also make grass fed beef bone broth to help with myopathy that has occurred. 
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @KRipple! Sorry to hear of all your husband's health problems. I can only imagine how anxious this makes you as when our spouse suffers we hurt right along with them. Can you post the results from the Celiac blood testing for us to look at? We would need the names of the tests run, the numeric results and (this is important) the reference ranges for each test used to establish high/low/negative/positive. Different labs use different rating scales so this is why I ask for this. There aren't industry standards. Has your husband seen any improvement from eliminating gluten from his diet? If your husband had any positive results from his celiac blood antibody testing, this is likely what triggered the consult with a  GI doc for an endoscopy. During the endoscopy, the GI doc will likely biopsy the lining of the small bowel lining to check for the damage caused by celiac disease. This would be for confirmation of the results of the blood tests and is considered the gold standard of celiac disease diagnosis. But here is some difficult information I have for you. If your husband has been gluten free already for months leading up to the endoscopy/biopsy, it will likely invalidate the biopsy and result in a false negative. Starting the gluten free diet now will allow the lining of the small bowel to begin healing and if enough healing takes place before the biopsy happens, there will be no damage to see. How far out is the endoscopy scheduled for? There still may be time for your husband to go back on gluten, what we call a "gluten challenge" to ensure valid test results.
    • kate g
      Ive read articles that there is stage 2 research being conducted for drugs that will limit damage to celiacs through cross contamination- how close are they to this will there be enough funding to create a mainstream drug? 
×
×
  • Create New...