Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Soymilk Products


Shelley Gunn

Recommended Posts

Shelley Gunn Newbie

:angry: I purchased some soymilk last weekend to use in smoothies. By the 2nd day of use I had a bad stomach ache and spent half of my working day in the bathroom. There was no gluten or wheat listed on the soymilk container. Later I found out that wheat was included under the category of "natural flavoring". Now what part of natural flavoring would allow me the knowledge to know that it contained gluten. I sent the company an e-mail and have not received a response from them at all. I also e-mailed a couple other companies that I knew sold soymilk products in my area. I received the following responses:

1. Organic Valley. None of our soy milks contain any wheat. Organic Valley Soy is gluten, cholesterol, and lactose - dairy free.

2. Silk. The products listed below are gluten-free (no rye, oats, wheat, malt or barley). In addition, we do not use casein in any of our products or ingredients. Silk gluten-free Product List:

Soymilk

Silk Organic Plain

Silk Vanilla

Silk Very Vanilla

Silk Enhanced

Silk Light Plain

Silk Light Vanilla

Silk Light Chocolate

Silk Chocolate

Silk Coffee Soylatte

Silk Mocha

Silk Chai

Silk Spice Soylatte

Silk Unsweetened

Silk Nog

Silk Exclusively Formulated for Starbucks®

Silk Original Creamer

Silk French Vanilla Creamer

Silk Hazelnut Creamer

Silk Cultured Soy: All flavors are gluten-free

Silk live! Smoothies:

Mango, Peach, Raspberry, Strawberry

Tofu: Hard Tofu (Tidal Wave), Organic Soft Tofu (Water Pack), Extra Firm Tofu, Organic Firm Tofu (Water Pack), Fat Reduced Tofu

Tempeh, Tempeh Original Soy, Tempeh Soy Rice

I don't know if this posted anywhere on the website but I wanted to share it with anybody that is interested.

Thanks


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Ursa Major Collaborator

Shelley, natural flavouring MIGHT contain gluten, but on the other hand, it might not. We shouldn't eat anything that includes it as an ingredient just in case it does contain gluten.

You may just be intolerant to soy! Soy will cause a reaction in intolerant people that is very much like being glutened.

psawyer Proficient

Hi, Shelley, and welcome to the site.

Natural flavor can hide gluten, but more often than not it is okay. You should contact the manufacturer to find out (see below, though).

There are a number of companies that will not hide gluten, but will clearly disclose it with the words wheat, rye, barley and/or oats. You don't need to call them--if you don't see one of those words, there is no hidden gluten.

The list I have is:

Aunt Nelly's, Balance, Baskin Robbins, Ben & Jerry, Betty Crocker, Blue Bunny, Breyers, Campbells, Cascadian Farms, Celestial Seasonings, Country Crock, Edy's, General Mills, Good Humor, Green Giant, Haagen Daz, Hellman's, Hershey, Hormel, Hungry Jack, Jiffy, Knorr, Kozy Shack, Kraft, Libby's, Lipton, Martha White, McCormick, Nabisco, Nestle, Old El Paso, Ortega, Pillsbury, Popsicle, Post, Progresso, Russell Stover, Seneca Foods, Smucker, Stokely's, Sunny Delight, T Marzetti, Tyson, Unilever, Wishbone, Yoplait, Zatarain's.

mmaccartney Explorer

Hold on.

If the product contained Wheat, and it was hidden in Natural Flavorings...

If you are in the USA, they are in violation of the new food labeling laws (Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (FALCPA)) that took effect Jan 1, 2006. The product would have to be manufactored on or after Jan 1, however with soymilk I would suspect it was.

If I were you I would

1) Use Silk Soymilk (Its the best anyway! go with the vanilla fortified)

2) Obtain from the company the fact that Wheat is hidden in natural flavors in writing.

3) Keep the container that you have, and find out from the company when it was produced.

4) If it was produced in 2006, and you are in the USA, and Wheat was the hidden ingredient, TAKE ACTION!!

It would take some research to find out how to take action, and I don't know of any civil penalties that can be awarded to you (not that I'm a sue happy person), but if they've broken the law, make them pay!!! While most of us celiacs encounter non life threatening symptoms, someone with a severe wheat allergy could die from that type of contamination... that is why the law was passed!!!!!!!!!

Here is some info:

Is there a penalty for non-compliance with FALCPA?

Yes. A company and its management may be subject to civil sanctions, criminal penalties, or both under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act if one of its packaged food products does not comply with the FALCPA labeling requirements. FDA may also request seizure of food products where the label of the product does not conform to FALCPA's requirements. In addition, FDA is likely to request that a food product containing an undeclared allergen be recalled by the manufacturer or distributor.

Resource / reference: Open Original Shared Link

Again, I'm not a sue happy person, but I have celiac, my children have life threatening food allergies. I'd like to see this law put to more good use!

eeyor-fan Contributor
:angry: I purchased some soymilk last weekend to use in smoothies. By the 2nd day of use I had a bad stomach ache and spent half of my working day in the bathroom. There was no gluten or wheat listed on the soymilk container. Later I found out that wheat was included under the category of "natural flavoring". Now what part of natural flavoring would allow me the knowledge to know that it contained gluten. I sent the company an e-mail and have not received a response from them at all. I also e-mailed a couple other companies that I knew sold soymilk products in my area. I received the following responses:

1. Organic Valley. None of our soy milks contain any wheat. Organic Valley Soy is gluten, cholesterol, and lactose - dairy free.

2. Silk. The products listed below are gluten-free (no rye, oats, wheat, malt or barley). In addition, we do not use casein in any of our products or ingredients. Silk gluten-free Product List:

Soymilk

Silk Organic Plain

Silk Vanilla

Silk Very Vanilla

Silk Enhanced

Silk Light Plain

Silk Light Vanilla

Silk Light Chocolate

Silk Chocolate

Silk Coffee Soylatte

Silk Mocha

Silk Chai

Silk Spice Soylatte

Silk Unsweetened

Silk Nog

Silk Exclusively Formulated for Starbucks®

Silk Original Creamer

Silk French Vanilla Creamer

Silk Hazelnut Creamer

Silk Cultured Soy: All flavors are gluten-free

Silk live! Smoothies:

Mango, Peach, Raspberry, Strawberry

Tofu: Hard Tofu (Tidal Wave), Organic Soft Tofu (Water Pack), Extra Firm Tofu, Organic Firm Tofu (Water Pack), Fat Reduced Tofu

Tempeh, Tempeh Original Soy, Tempeh Soy Rice

I don't know if this posted anywhere on the website but I wanted to share it with anybody that is interested.

Thanks

Some celiacs have trouble digesting soy and get stomach aches or sick in other ways (read the info on celiac at the celiac.com area). As far as labels go...I usually just call the company even if I don't think there is gluten in it. Soy has protein so it is good for the body, but some celiacs on here (won't mention a name) think soy is evil because some celiacs get sick from soy-- soy is like a lot of things; some celiacs can't tollerate it and some can. If you are one of the ones who can tollerate the gluten-free soy products out there then it is a good way to get protein if you don't eat a lot of maet, fish or eggs (like I do).

I myself like the soy veggie cheese (says gluten-free on packet), and 8th continant soy milk says they are gluten-free when you call the company (I've never had a problem with 8th Continant).

Hope this helps,

Bridge

Shelley Gunn Newbie
Hold on.

If the product contained Wheat, and it was hidden in Natural Flavorings...

If you are in the USA, they are in violation of the new food labeling laws (Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (FALCPA)) that took effect Jan 1, 2006. The product would have to be manufactored on or after Jan 1, however with soymilk I would suspect it was.

If I were you I would

1) Use Silk Soymilk (Its the best anyway! go with the vanilla fortified)

2) Obtain from the company the fact that Wheat is hidden in natural flavors in writing.

3) Keep the container that you have, and find out from the company when it was produced.

4) If it was produced in 2006, and you are in the USA, and Wheat was the hidden ingredient, TAKE ACTION!!

It would take some research to find out how to take action, and I don't know of any civil penalties that can be awarded to you (not that I'm a sue happy person), but if they've broken the law, make them pay!!! While most of us celiacs encounter non life threatening symptoms, someone with a severe wheat allergy could die from that type of contamination... that is why the law was passed!!!!!!!!!

Here is some info:

Is there a penalty for non-compliance with FALCPA?

Yes. A company and its management may be subject to civil sanctions, criminal penalties, or both under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act if one of its packaged food products does not comply with the FALCPA labeling requirements. FDA may also request seizure of food products where the label of the product does not conform to FALCPA's requirements. In addition, FDA is likely to request that a food product containing an undeclared allergen be recalled by the manufacturer or distributor.

Resource / reference: Open Original Shared Link

Again, I'm not a sue happy person, but I have celiac, my children have life threatening food allergies. I'd like to see this law put to more good use!

Thank you everyone. I am glad to have so many knowledgable people to give me advice. I have not heard back from the company yet but I am going to send them another message. I have a feeling that they don't want to talk about it and they are ignoring me. I will let you know if I find out anything and what steps I can take to pursue this further.

Thanks again.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - Jess270 replied to AnnaNZ's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      29

      Bitters for digestion?

    2. - cristiana commented on Jefferson Adams's article in Origins of Celiac Disease
      7

      Why Bananas No Longer Cure Celiac Disease

    3. - trents replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      23

      Vaccines

    4. - GeoPeanut replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      23

      Vaccines

    5. - trents replied to KRipple's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      1

      Celiac or Addison's complications? Can someone share their experience?


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,061
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Cynthia Glover
    Newest Member
    Cynthia Glover
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jess270
      This sounds to me like histamine intolerance. Some foods have more or less histamine. processed or aged meats, fermented food like yoghurt or kimchi and bread (yeast), spinach, eggplant and mushroom are high in histamine. Other foods like tomatoes are histamine liberators, they encourage your mast cells to release histamine, which can also trigger the reactions you describe, flu like symptoms, joint pain, urinary tract irritation, rash, stomach upset, nausea, diarrhoea & fatigue. I had liver pain like you describe, as part of the intolerance is usually a sluggish liver that makes processing all the histamine difficult. There are multiple possible root causes of histamine intolerance, usually it’s a symptom of something else. In my case, leaky gut (damaged gut wall)caused by undiagnosed celiac, but for others it’s leaky gut caused by other things like dysbiosis. Some people also experience histamine intolerance due to mould exposure or low levels of DAO (the enzyme that breaks down histamine in the gut). I’d try a low histamine diet & if that doesn’t improve symptoms fully, try low oxalate too. As others have suggested, supplements like vitamin d, b, l-glutamine to support a healthy gut & a good liver support supplement too. If you’re in a histamine flare take vitamin c to bowel tolerance & your symptoms will calm down (avoid if you find you have oxalate intolerance though). Best of luck 
    • trents
      @GeoPeanut, milk is one of the better sources of iodine. Iodine is known to exacerbate dermatitis herpetiformis. Many people find that a low iodine diet helps them avoid dermatitis herpetiformis outbreaks. So, maybe the fact that you have limited your dairy intake of late is helping with that.
    • GeoPeanut
      Hi, I'm new here. Sorry for your troubles.herenis a thought to mull over. I recently was diagnosed with celiac disease,  and hashimoto's and dermatitis herpetiformis after getting covid 19. I eat butter, and 1/2 cup of Nancy's yogurt daily. I stopped all other dairy and  dermatitis herpetiformis is gone! I also make grass fed beef bone broth to help with myopathy that has occurred. 
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @KRipple! Sorry to hear of all your husband's health problems. I can only imagine how anxious this makes you as when our spouse suffers we hurt right along with them. Can you post the results from the Celiac blood testing for us to look at? We would need the names of the tests run, the numeric results and (this is important) the reference ranges for each test used to establish high/low/negative/positive. Different labs use different rating scales so this is why I ask for this. There aren't industry standards. Has your husband seen any improvement from eliminating gluten from his diet? If your husband had any positive results from his celiac blood antibody testing, this is likely what triggered the consult with a  GI doc for an endoscopy. During the endoscopy, the GI doc will likely biopsy the lining of the small bowel lining to check for the damage caused by celiac disease. This would be for confirmation of the results of the blood tests and is considered the gold standard of celiac disease diagnosis. But here is some difficult information I have for you. If your husband has been gluten free already for months leading up to the endoscopy/biopsy, it will likely invalidate the biopsy and result in a false negative. Starting the gluten free diet now will allow the lining of the small bowel to begin healing and if enough healing takes place before the biopsy happens, there will be no damage to see. How far out is the endoscopy scheduled for? There still may be time for your husband to go back on gluten, what we call a "gluten challenge" to ensure valid test results.
    • kate g
      Ive read articles that there is stage 2 research being conducted for drugs that will limit damage to celiacs through cross contamination- how close are they to this will there be enough funding to create a mainstream drug? 
×
×
  • Create New...