Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Are Starbucks 'tangerine Juice Blend Frapiccino's' Gluten-free?


amber-rose

Recommended Posts

amber-rose Contributor

I drank one today and are hoping they are gluten-free!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lorka150 Collaborator

yes

DingoGirl Enthusiast

Is this really true? I"ve looked at all the ingredient bottles/containers at Starbucks (well not all, but many!) and everything had gluten.....

lorka150 Collaborator

i was there witha friend last week and asked. i don't know where you would see a container for these, but they are gluten-and-casein free, with the ol' ass covering comment about the same facility as other products with these ingredients. i did not have one, and nor would i, however, this is what they told me.

DingoGirl Enthusiast

oh wow, I asked to see the containers at three different Starbucks.....they pulled things out of the refrigerators, so I read them myself and found "wheat derivatives" or "may contain wheat" on almost every label. :( I think there ARE some things we can drink, just haven't tried it yet.....

amber-rose Contributor

So in the Tangerine Juice Blend Frap there is? I havent had any problems yet! so cross your fingerse!

DingoGirl Enthusiast
So in the Tangerine Juice Blend Frap there is? I havent had any problems yet! so cross your fingerse!

Oh, I don't know for sure, didn't check that specific one out! But good news, if you don't have problems then it's probably okay, and you'd know by now.....I'm goign to try one! :)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lapetit8 Explorer
So in the Tangerine Juice Blend Frap there is? I havent had any problems yet! so cross your fingerse!

I e-mailed Starbucks a few weeks ago to ask them which of their products are gluten free. They responded by telling me that ALL Starbucks beverages are gluten free with the EXCEPTION of Frappucinos that contain Java Chips, Vanilla Powder, and/or Malt Powder.

I would assume, therefore, that the Tangerine Juice Blend Frappucion is gluten free too. If you want to double-check there phone # is: 1-800-23-Latte.

amber-rose Contributor

Thank you everyone! :D

DingoGirl Enthusiast
I e-mailed Starbucks a few weeks ago to ask them which of their products are gluten free. They responded by telling me that ALL Starbucks beverages are gluten free with the EXCEPTION of Frappucinos that contain Java Chips, Vanilla Powder, and/or Malt Powder.

I would assume, therefore, that the Tangerine Juice Blend Frappucion is gluten free too. If you want to double-check there phone # is: 1-800-23-Latte.

I am not sure Starbucks knows what they're talking about, just go in and ask to read the labels yourself, because I did and everything I saw contained wheat derivatives.....I think some people in business actually just look at the labels/ingredients on things, and if it doesn't SAY gluten, then oh, they think it doesn't HAVE gluten.....I am going to call them!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,736
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    bradenr20
    Newest Member
    bradenr20
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • cristiana
      You are most welcome, Marie.  Thank you for getting in touch, because this sort of post will be seen by other parents who find themselves in this position, I am sure there are many.   And as I say, in the long run, I am sure your daughter will be sorry for what she said.  I remember having a go at my dear Mum when I was in my twenties about something and then apologising, saying, "I don't know how you put up with me."  I can't remember her exact words but it was something along the lines of, "I used to say things like to my Mum.  Now it's my turn [to be on the receiving end]!"    😂  Although it isn't very nice to be on the receiving end, it is good your daughter feels safe to say these things to you. We look forward to hearing from you again in due course.  
    • Wheatwacked
      Are You Confused About Your Celiac Disease Lab Results? Some people test negative but have a positive biopsy, others test positive but negative biopsy.  This is why it can take years and misdiagnosis of other diseases that Celiac Disease can mimic. The above link is a good read with real life examples. Something I find interesting is that in 1980 or so a new diagnosis was created, Non Celiac Gluten Sensitivity, only 10 years after Norman Borlaug won the Nobel Peace Prize for creating our modern wheat and the Green Revolution.    
    • trents
      @Steve-n-Portland, there is a difference in the requirements to use the label "Gluten Free" and the label "Certified Gluten Free". "Gluten Free" is governed by FDA regulations and has a ceiling of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is a labeling convention used by the GFCO, an independent international third party certifying group that uses 10 ppm as its standard.
    • trents
      We have had numerous reports from forum participants experiencing gluten reactions from Trader Joe "gluten-free" products. It seems it's not a good place for the celiac/gluten sensitive community to shop.
    • Steve-n-Portland
      Also, a class action lawsuit was launched in 2024 against Trader Joe's re: their " gluten free" everything bagels. They tested at 269ppm. (Personally, I am not sure they will win. The FDA says that the *ingredients* have to be less than 20ppm for a company to label something "gluten-free."  In order to be certified as gluten-free by the GFCO, the *final product* needs to be less than 20ppm. That said, the lawsuit is arguing that most people read that label and assume the final product is safe for people with celiac. Thus, many people were made sick. And being sick can have costly consequences in regard to work or school, depending when one becomes ill.)
×
×
  • Create New...