Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Incorrect Information


tanyad

Recommended Posts

tanyad Rookie

Hello Fellow Celiacs,

I was doing a search on a couple of items for my celiac friend... I did a google search (this is almost as common as calling manufacturers and such)... I came across this website list... and I think that a lot of information is incorrect.

I've been working at this diet for a couple of years, but not everyone has...

Open Original Shared Link

I was looking to find butterscotch chips (in the past I have used Hershey's, but I was looking for anything else that may be gluten free) and also York Peppermint patties... I personally have read the label and thought they were safe, but before I tell others, I always like to double check.

Anywho... When someone like myself, comes across inaccurate information on the web... what should I do? And are York Peppermint Patties gluten-free? What about HErshey's Butterscotch chips? Any other butterscotch chips?

Thank you for any feedback!

Tanya in Chicago


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



penguin Community Regular

York peppermint patties are gluten-free, and hershey will always label gluten clearly in their products as wheat, barley, rye or oats.

This list contains a bunch of inaccuracies!!! I preface my critique of this list that you should always read labels and check ingredients before consumption...

Beverages - Ovaltine (rich chocolate flavor only is gluten-free), malted milk, ale, beer, gin, whiskey (distilled beverages are usually ok unless mash is added back in), flavored coffee (you have to check, but most are ok), herbal tea with malted barley

Milk - Malted milk, some commercial chocolate milk, some nondairy creamers

Meat, Fish, Poultry - Prepared meat containing wheat, rye, oats, or barley; tuna canned in vegetable broth (I've never seen one with gluten)

Cheese - Any cheese product containing oat gum, some veined cheeses (bleu, stilton, roquefort, gorgonzola)

Potato (totally safe) or Other Starch - Regular noodles, spaghetti, macaroni, most pachaged rice mixes, seminola, spinach noodles, frozen potato products with wheat flour added

Cereals - All cereals containing wheat, rye, oats, or barley; bran; graham; wheat germ; durum; kaska; bulgar; buckwheat; millet; (these are safe) triticale; amaranth (safe); spelt; teff; quinoa (safe); kamut

Breads - All breads containing wheat, rye, oat, or barley flours and grains listed above

Flours and Thickening Agents - Amaranth (safe), wheat germ, bran, wheat starch; all flours containing wheat, rye, oats, or barley; buckwheat (safe); spelt; quinoa (safe); teff; kamut; millet

Vegetables - Creamed vegetables (I know DelMonte is safe), vegetables canned in sauce, some canned baked beans, commercially prepared vegetables and salads (many are gluten-free, and all fresh veggies and salads are gluten-free)

Fruits - Thickened or prepared fruits; some pie fillings; raisins and dried dates that have been dusted with flour

Fats - Some commercial salad dressings, wheat germ oil, nondairy cream substitutes (most are gluten-free), most commercial gravies and sauces

Soups - Most canned soups and soup mixes, bouillon and bouillon cubes with hydrolyzed vegetable protein

Desserts - Commercial cakes, cookies; pies made with wheat, rye, oats, or barley; millet, amaranth (safe), buckwheat (safe), spelt, teff, quinoa(safe), kamut; prepared mixes; puddings; ice cream cones; Jell-O instant pudding (most flavors are safe); cream fillings; products made with brown rice syrup (safe)

Sweets - Commercial candies dusted with wheat flour, butterscotch chips; flavored syrups (often ok); sweets containing malt/malt flavorings; some brown rice syrup; some corn syrup (never seen one with gluten)

Miscellaneous - Curry powder (most are safe, mc cormick is one), dry seasonings mixes (many are gluten-free[/b]), gravy extracts, meat sauces, catsup (heinz is gluten-free), mustard (heinz is gluten-free), horseradish (this comes from a root like ginger), chip dips (many are safe), most soy sauce, some distilled white vinegar (distilled vinegars are safe), instant dry baking yeast (never seen one with gluten), some cinnamon (most is safe), condiments made with wheat-derived distilled vinegars (distilled vinegar is safe), communion wafers/bread, some alcohol-based flavoring extracts

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,070
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Sashley
    Newest Member
    Sashley
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Scott makes a good point about the prednisone. It has a general suppressing effect on the immune system. Don't misunderstand me. In view of your husband's several autoimmune afflictions, it would seem to be an appropriate medication therapy but it will likely invalidate endoscopy/biopsy test results for celiac disease.
    • Scott Adams
      I also want to mention that using prednisone would likely also make the endoscopy results invalid. This steroid will cause gut healing and could mask the damage caused by celiac disease. 
    • Jess270
      This sounds to me like histamine intolerance. Some foods have more or less histamine. processed or aged meats, fermented food like yoghurt or kimchi and bread (yeast), spinach, eggplant and mushroom are high in histamine. Other foods like tomatoes are histamine liberators, they encourage your mast cells to release histamine, which can also trigger the reactions you describe, flu like symptoms, joint pain, urinary tract irritation, rash, stomach upset, nausea, diarrhoea & fatigue. I had liver pain like you describe, as part of the intolerance is usually a sluggish liver that makes processing all the histamine difficult. There are multiple possible root causes of histamine intolerance, usually it’s a symptom of something else. In my case, leaky gut (damaged gut wall)caused by undiagnosed celiac, but for others it’s leaky gut caused by other things like dysbiosis. Some people also experience histamine intolerance due to mould exposure or low levels of DAO (the enzyme that breaks down histamine in the gut). I’d try a low histamine diet & if that doesn’t improve symptoms fully, try low oxalate too. As others have suggested, supplements like vitamin d, b, l-glutamine to support a healthy gut & a good liver support supplement too. If you’re in a histamine flare take vitamin c to bowel tolerance & your symptoms will calm down (avoid if you find you have oxalate intolerance though). Best of luck 
    • trents
      @GeoPeanut, milk is one of the better sources of iodine. Iodine is known to exacerbate dermatitis herpetiformis. Many people find that a low iodine diet helps them avoid dermatitis herpetiformis outbreaks. So, maybe the fact that you have limited your dairy intake of late is helping with that.
    • GeoPeanut
      Hi, I'm new here. Sorry for your troubles.herenis a thought to mull over. I recently was diagnosed with celiac disease,  and hashimoto's and dermatitis herpetiformis after getting covid 19. I eat butter, and 1/2 cup of Nancy's yogurt daily. I stopped all other dairy and  dermatitis herpetiformis is gone! I also make grass fed beef bone broth to help with myopathy that has occurred. 
×
×
  • Create New...