Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Candy


chloeb

Recommended Posts

chloeb Newbie

sorry if one of these are already posted but i dont know what happened but the computer went to another screen while i was still writing.so i was at the pool one day with my friend and my sister and my friend said lets have some air heads and i said that i didnt know if i could have them because it had modified food starch. so if any body knows if there gluten free please tell me . thank you, chloe b. :rolleyes:


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



jerseyangel Proficient

Hi Chloe--

Yep, Airheads are gluten-free!

Enjoy :)

chloeb Newbie

thank you . oh and i hope i do enjoy them!

morganb Newbie

Chloe's not on the computer right now so she asked me to find out if air heads are also dairy free. She has just recently started eating no dairy, so she now has to find out, again, if all her favorite treats are ok.

BeckyW Contributor

Does anyone know if airheads are also soy free?

Thank you!

Beth

guitarplayer4God Explorer
Does anyone know if airheads are also soy free?

Thank you!

Beth

Sorry I posted on my mom's username I didn't realize she was logged on.

  • 2 weeks later...
KaitiUSA Enthusiast

Yep they are fine:) enjoy


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • 1 month later...
kadilee04 Newbie

what other candy is gluton free....

CarlaB Enthusiast
what other candy is gluton free....

There are a lot, what do you like? Smarties and m&m's both are. You might want to start a new thread on this!!

Welcome to the board!

Yep they are fine:) enjoy

Were you answering the gluten-free question, or also the soy and dairy question?

lorka150 Collaborator
There are a lot, what do you like? Smarties and m&m's both are. You might want to start a new thread on this!!

Welcome to the board!

Were you answering the gluten-free question, or also the soy and dairy question?

CarlaB!

In Canada, Smarties are NOT gluten-free... We call what you call Smarties "Rockets". I just want to clear that up in case she is Canadian! In Canada, Smarties are like M&Ms, but they have wheat.

gf4life Enthusiast
Chloe's not on the computer right now so she asked me to find out if air heads are also dairy free. She has just recently started eating no dairy, so she now has to find out, again, if all her favorite treats are ok.

Here is a list that I put together 2 years ago when my kids were also dairy free. Most of it should still be accurate. Just double check the labels before you buy.

I had gotten a copy of that list a few weeks ago. I took the liberty of modifying it to work with a gluten and dairy free diet. Make sure you always read the labels though since manufacturers change ingredients all too often.

GLUTEN FREE & DAIRY FREE SUGGESTIONS:

� Airheads (January 2004)

� Allan Brand Candy Canes

� Altoids - gluten will be listed on label as wheat, rye, barley, or oats (Kraft product)

� ANDI Bars (Gluten Free and Casein Free) available through www.glutenfreepantry.com

� Astro Pops

� Bazooka Gum (August 2004)

� Beechnut: Peppermint, Spearmint, Cinnamon flavors (September 2003)

� Big League Chew Gum (Original, Grape, Strawberry)

� Bottle caps

� Breath savers Mints (Sugar Free, Iced Mint, Mint Cinnamon, Peppermint, Spearmint, Vanilla Mint, WinterGreen)

� Bubbilicious Gum (April 2003)

� Bubble Yum Gum

� Candy Corn by Goelitz (October 2003) is also VEGETARIAN. Verified: 10/22/03

� Carefree Gum (September 2003)

� Certs Mints

� Charms: Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy September -2003)

� Charms: Squares, Pops, Blow Pops, Super Blow Pops Zip A Doo Da, Family Fun, Super Sour Balls, Pops Galore (October 2003)

� Chicklets - regular and tiny size (January 2004)

� Chick-O Stick

� Clorets Gum

� Clorets Mints

� Crows by Tootsie (March 2004)

� Dentyne Gum all September 2003

� Dots by Tootsie - Regular, Tropical, or Wild Berry are gluten-free (March 2004)

� Double Bubble Gum (October 2003)

� Eclipse Gum by Wrigleys (is also vegetarian) (August 2003)

� EnjoyLifeFoods BIG Cookies -available through www.glutenfreepantry.com (Check ingredients to make sure the flavor you buy is dairy free)

� EnviroKidz Cereal Bars (except Chocolate flavored:contains milk) (marked gluten-free) (September 2004)

� Extra Gum by Wrigleys (is also vegetarian) (August 2003)

� Farley: Candy Corn, Harvest Mix, Jellybird Eggs, Holiday Creams (Christmas Easter) (September 2003)

� Farley: Banana Chips, Pineapple Wedges, Fruit Snacks (September 2003)

� Farley candies: Fruit Flavored Jells & JuJu & Bears, Giant Jellies, Gummy Bears, Jelly Bird Eggs, Jelly Rings, JuJu Coins, Jumbo Jelly Beans, Orange & Lemon Slices, Speckled Bird Eggs, Tiny Jelly Eggs

� Ferrara Pan: all, including Red Hots, Lemonheads, Jaw Busters, Boston Baked Beans, Atomic Fireballs, Black Forest Gummies, Grape Heads, Jellybeans (March 2003)

� Freedent: peppermint, spearmint, winter fresh (September 2003)

� Fresh Fruit, Of course!!!!

� Fruit Stripe gum - all (September 2003)

� Fun Dip

� General Mills general statement: read label. Wheat, rye, barley, oats will be listed

� Glennys Potato Crisps and Soy Crisps (assorted flavors are gluten free and can be found at www.GlutenSolutions.com)

� Gobstoppers

� Goldenberg's Peanut Chews by Just Born

� Honey Acres candies: Honey Gummies (are also vegetarian), and Honey Mints (are also vegetarian) (September 2003)

� Hot Tamales (February 2004)

� Ice Breakers Gum

� Jelly Belly (All flavors of Jelly Beans EXCEPT: Cafe Latte, Buttered Toast, Caramel Corn, Buttered Popcorn, Chocolate Cherry Cake, Chocolate Pudding, Strawberry Cheesecake) Do not get bags of assorted due to cross contamination from these flavors.

� Jolly Rancher Lollipops

� Jolly Ranchers (Hershey's product. Check label. Gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley or oats)

� Just Born: Valentines Day Mike and Ike, Valentines Day Peep Hearts, Easter Peeps, Eggs, Bunnies, Easter Mike and Ike, Jelly Beans, Halloween Pumpkins, Ghosts, Cats, Christmas Trees, Snowmen, Teenie Beanie Holiday Mix (February 2004)

� Kettle Valley brand Fruit Leather (apple, Tropical Blend, Watermelon, Strawberry, Raspberry, WildBerry) available at www.allergygrocer.com

� Kraft will list major allergens

� Laffy Taffy by Willy Wonka (October 2003)

� Lifesavers general statement: gluten will be listed on label as wheat, rye, barley or oats (Kraft product)

� Lifesavers Gummies

� Marvel Candy Sticks (marked as gluten-free) and found at some Wal-Mart stores

� Mega WarHeads (June 2003)

� Mike and Ike (February 2004)

� Nabisco general statement: read label. Wheat, rye, barley, oats will be listed

� Necco Brands (Candy Stix, Mary Janes, Mary Janes Peanut Butter Kisses, Wafers, Talking Pumpkins, Wintergreen Lozenges, Conversation Hearts (September 2003)

� Nerds by Willy Wonka (October 2003)

� Orbit Gum by Wrigleys (is also vegetarian) (August 2003)

� Pez (June 2004)

� Pixie Sticks

� Pretzel Packs made by Ener-G Foods or Glutino (specially marked gluten free) and are available at www.GlutenSolutions.com

� Running Rabbit Licorice (confirm gluten-free status) (Ingredients: corn syrup, turbinado sugar, cornstarch, dextrose, licorice root extract, tapioca dextrin, anise oil, salt, separating agents (mineral oil & bees wax). 5oz box (approx. 35 pieces) Free of: Wheat, Gluten, Dairy, Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Egg, Soy, Rice, Potato, Yeast, Sesame and is available at www.allergygrocer.com

� Runts

� Sees (Asst Sugar Sticks, Candy Canes) (January 2003)

� Sesame Seed Crunch (INGREDIENTS: Sesame Seeds, Corn Syrup, Sugar, Honey)

� Skittles (September 2003)

� Smarties Brand Smarties (October 2003)

� Smarties Double Lolly, Mega Lolly (October 2003)

� Sour Patch Kids by Trebor Allen Swedish Fish (Sepetmber 2003)

� Spangler LolliPops: Dum Dums, Astro Pops, Picture Pops (June 2004)

� Spangler: all candy canes, xmas shop pops (December 2003)

� Spree (February 2004)

� St. Claires Sweets (All are gluten, casein, nut, egg, GMO, soy, corn, peanut, shell fish free and they are certified organic. They have certifications from all their suppliers that they are gluten and all the other allergens free. And available through www.econturalsolutions.com.

� Starburst Fruit Chews (September 2003)

� Starburst JellyBeans (September 2003)

� Stretch Island 100% Fruit Snack (Apricot*, Berry, Blackberry, Great Grape, Rare Raspberry) (September 2004)

� Sunkist chewy candies - Fruit Gems, Jelly Beans, Orange & Cream Chews, Super Sour Stars October 2003)

� Sunkist Fruit Slices (April 2004)

� Swedish Fish by Trebor Allen (September 2003)

� SweetTarts (February 2004)

� Tangy Taffy

� Tart N Tiny

� TicTacs (April 2003)

� Topps: all are gluten-free, (but read labels for dairy), including Ring Pops, Push Pops, Baby Bottle Pops, Juicy Drop Pops and Chews, etc. (August 2004)

� Trident Gum all (June 2004)

� Trolli Gummi: Peachie O's, Squiggles, Sour Bite Crawlers, Octopus (September 2003)

� Tropical Source 100% Gluten Free & Dairy Free chocolate bars (available at Whole Foods and other healthfood stores) Open Original Shared Link

� Welchs Fruit Snacks all (April 2004)

� Wonka: check label. Gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley or oats

� Wrigleys Gum (all are gluten-free June 2004)

� Zours made by JustBorn (February 2004)

rbh Apprentice

Hi -- I'm still new at this. I'd like to contact the company that makes airheads directly to check to see if the artificial ingredients they use are gluten-free. Does anyone know how to contact them? I couldn't find a U.S. contact. Or, has anyone talked directly to them or is the info about the gluten free status coming from other boards? Thanks so much!

Kassie Apprentice

they are gluten free for sure.

  • 1 month later...
rbh Apprentice

I talked to a rep today. She said that the regular airheads and the airhead sours do not contain ingredients containing gluten. However, the airhead extreme and the airhead fruit spinners DO contain wheat. She said that the products containing wheat were processed on separate lines from the others. THe phone number is 859.283.1234.

  • 11 months later...
nzgirl Newbie

Hey

If anyone is travelling always check food labels even if you can eat it where you live

In new zealand we cant eat m&m's or smarties!

And some Snickers bars you can eat but the fun size ones you cant?(I think thats right! check the label before eating :) )

Different countries have different ingredients!

Alena

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,685
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Janahawk
    Newest Member
    Janahawk
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Thanks for the additional information. I was thinking of asking you if your daughter was taking methylated vitamins since she has the MTHFR gene but you beat me to it. To answer the question you posed in your original post, as I explained, celiac disease does not damage the colon but the lining of the small bowel. If the damage is pronounced enough and the doc doing it is experienced, yes, the damage done to the lining of the small bowel can be spotted with the naked eye.
    • cameo674
      I could not locate the correct Gary Brecka video where he explains the methylation process and specifically states things about how people with the MTRR homozygous gene mutation are known to suffer from heartburn due to a weakened valve/sphincter where the esophagus and the stomach connect.  My brother had the youtube video sent to him from 10x health which is probably why I cannot locate it.     I will have read up on mast cell activation.  I do not know anything about it.  Tums is my preferred gerd treatment.  I always figured a little extra calcium could not hurt me.  
    • cameo674
      Trents: Due to a genetic mutation, my daughter has inherited from both parents she cannot process the Folic Acid provided in the fortified American grains.   An MD told her to avoid eating fortified grains.   My daughter makes the assumption that unless she makes the food item, that the baker used a fortified grain so she has been limiting her gluten intake since 2020.   Her Psychiatrist was who tested her for MTHFR gene issue because she suffers from depression and severe anxiety. The Psychatrist also instructed my daughter to supplement with a methylated version of folate once she knew my daughter was homozygous, because the methylated version bypasses the mutated gene step so her body can absorb it.  Low folate absorption impacts serotonin and dopamine production.  My husband and I also both have two other homozygous gene mutations that interfere with vitamin absorption: MTRR and VDR taq.  The first interferes with B-12 absorption which requires us to take a methylated B-12 vitamin and the second with Vitamin D absorption so we have to take higher doses to stay within normal levels.   My brother, who has the exact same gene mutations, went through 10x health genetic testing for vitamin supplements (paid by his employer) and received a huge report saying the same things about which types of supplements had to be taken.  Gary Brecka does videos on how these gene mutations impact the vitamin absorption pathways.       If my brother had not gotten his testing through work, he would never would have started his supplement journey.  His testing is what triggered my getting functional health testing that tested similar biomarkers to his.  Again the celiac testing was an add-on test that I did off the cuff.  
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @growlinhard1! If eliminating gluten from your diet makes significant improvement in your symptoms then there are two possibilities. Either you have celiac disease (aka, gluten intolerance) or NCGS (Non Celiac Gluten Sensitivity, aka, gluten sensitivity). The difference is that celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder that creates inflammation and, over time, damages the lining of the small bowel which inhibits nutrient absorption whereas NCGS does not damage the lining of the small bowel. They share many of the same symptoms. At the end of the day, the antidote for both is to abstain from foods that contain wheat, barley or rye, the three gluten-containing grains. Some countries supply stipends and healthcare benefits for those with an official celiac diagnosis. If you live in the USA that does not apply. The main reasons for seeking an official celiac diagnosis are psychological and social. Many people have a hard time not falling off the gluten free bandwagon without an official diagnosis. They find it easy to rationalize it all away as being temporary or due to something else. When you have an official diagnosis, you tend to take gluten-free eating more seriously. Socially, family and friends are more likely to respect and attempt to comply with your need to eat gluten free if you have an official diagnosis of celiac disease. Your physician is more likely to take you seriously as well if you have an official diagnosis because there are typically other health problems that are spinoffs which develop from celiac disease in time. One autoimmune disease invites others. There are no tests for NCGS. Celiac disease must first be ruled out. We do have specific tests for celiac disease. By the way, some experts believe that NCGS can transition into celiac disease. If your endoscopy/biopsy is only a month away, I would encourage you to stick it out and go back on gluten to get an official diagnosis. You still have time to get a valid test result if you start back on gluten now, 10g of gluten daily which is about the amount found in 4-6 slices of wheat bread.
    • BoiseNic
      I have the same problem. No matter what I eat, I seem to get a break out every 1 to 2 months. I do not do oats, citrus fruits, apples, onions and other foods also, as those cause reactions. The only time I have zero problems is when I fast. The only staple grain I have is quinoa, as that doesn't seem to cause me issues. I have linked mine to a microbiome imbalance. I am currently on month 3 of Skinesa. It's supposed to take 3 months before seeing results. I guess we'll see.
×
×
  • Create New...