Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Contamination Info


FaithInScienceToo

Recommended Posts

FaithInScienceToo Contributor

Maybe you'll find something new here, to help protect yourselves...

From: Open Original Shared Link

Beware List For Gluten-Free Diet

printable version

"Wheat-free" does not necessarily mean "gluten-free."

"Gluten-free" does not necessarily mean "gluten-free."

BAD advice from health food store workers, friends, relatives, and even doctors! DO YOUR HOMEWORK!

Many rice and soy beverages (i.e., Rice Dream) use barley malt or enzymes for flavorings.

Mass-marketed rice and corn-based cereals almost all contain malt flavoring or some gluten-containing ingredient(s).

Contamination among the flours and grains in open bins in the bulk section of the market. It’s the scoops. Flour in the air in a bakery can contaminate previously gluten-free food.

Contaminated baking ovens, counters and utensils. Wheat-bread crumbs left in butter, jams, toaster, counter, etc. Don’t just take the croutons off the salad; never put them on. There may be enough crumbs left to set off a reaction.

Grills in restaurants can be contaminated with gluten.

Fried restaurant foods such as French fries can be contaminated with gluten if fried in the same oil with breaded things.

Lotions, creams and cosmetics, more of a problem for those with dermatitis herpetiformis.

Stamps, envelopes or other gummed labels.

Toothpaste and mouthwash.

Medicines--over-the-counter and prescription medications many contain gluten. Most contain corn starch for binding. Laxatives such as Metamucil are not gluten-free.

Some brands of rice paper and rice noodles. Imported brands do not have to adhere to the US labeling laws. Japanese and Chinese imports, for example, do not need to list an ingredient if it comprises less than 2% of the total content.

Anything with a sauce or gravy such as canned soups or packaged sauces.

Oriental soy sauce and other sauces usually have wheat in them unless you get gluten-free brands.

Catsup, mustard and salad dressings unless you get gluten-free brands or make your own.

Ice cream usually has a gluten-containing thickening agent.

Mixed or ground spices - wheat flour is sometimes used to prevent clumping.

Potato chips sound innocent enough but the mass-produced ones seem to use flour to separate them even if it's not on the label!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



katrinamaria Explorer

wow, i hadn't thought of some of those things...thanks for the heads up!

kms

p.s. i love your picture! :) it's adorable.

penguin Community Regular

That is by and large a good list, with some misnomers:

- Ice cream without any gluten containing ingredients (such as cake or cookies) is usually gluten-free. Of course, always read the label and check, but ice cream is one of the easiest prepared things to find gluten-free.

- Metamucil (except for the wafers) is gluten-free, it's made from psyllium husks, not gluten related at all.

- Most ketchups and mustards are gluten-free. Famously, Heinz ketchup and mustard are both gluten-free. The heinz organic ketchup is not gluten-free.

- The potato chip separating with flour thing is a celiac urban legend, I've never heard of a brand that uses that practice. As of 1/1/2006, any wheat has to be listed, as it is a top 8 allergen.

- Anything sold in the US has to comply with labelling laws, but yes, you have to be more careful with imports.

- The majority of spices are fine, and McCormick clearly labels.

:)

lovegrov Collaborator

The list is really good until you get near the end, but then some bad or old info creeps in. Most have already been pointed out, but:

--Toothpaste and mouthwash

I've heard of just one toothpaste that supposedly had gluten and even that might have been a distilled alcohol flavoring extract thing.

--Laxatives such as Metamucil are not gluten-free.

As already noted, Metamucil is gluten-free.

--Catsup, mustard and salad dressings unless you get gluten-free brands or make your own.

Catsup is almost universally gluten-free. Same with mustard except a couple (can't remember the brands) but the wheat is clearly labeled. You have to check salad dressings a little more carefully but a large number are gluten-free.

--Ice cream usually has a gluten-containing thickening agent.

Ice cream NEVER has a gluten-containing thickening agent. As noted by another poster, pretty much all ice cream is gluten-free except obvious stuff, like cookies n cream.

--Mixed or ground spices - wheat flour is sometimes used to prevent clumping.

I'd always check spice mixes just because wheat could always be part of the recipe, but have never found a basic ground spice that has wheat. Wheat flour would ruin the taste of the spice.

--Potato chips sound innocent enough but the mass-produced ones seem to use flour to separate them even if it's not on the label!

Not true.

richard

FaithInScienceToo Contributor

THANKS!!!! I'm thrilled to find out what's what! I will copy and paste that add'l info.

Good to see you still active on here, Richard!

Nice to meet you, Katrina and Penguin :-)

Gina

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,986
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Vickie Clancy
    Newest Member
    Vickie Clancy
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Okay, it does make sense to continue the gluten challenge as long as you are already in the middle of it. But what will change if you rule it out? I mean, you have concluded that whatever label you want to give the condition, many of your symptoms improved when you went gluten free. Am I correct in that? According to how I understand your posting, the only symptom that hasn't responded to gluten free eating is the bone demineralization. Did I misunderstand? And if you do test positive, what will you do different than you are doing now? You have already been doing for years the main thing you should be doing and that is eating gluten free. Concerning how long you should stay on the gluten challenge, how many weeks are you into it already?
    • WildFlower1
      I mean that I will be re-taking the celiac blood test again while I am currently on the gluten challenge right now, but not sure how many weeks more to keep going, to ensure a false negative does not happen. Thank you.
    • WildFlower1
      Thank you for your help, I am currently in the middle of the gluten challenge. A bit over 6 weeks in. At 4 weeks I got the celiac blood tests and that is when they were negative. So to rule out the false negative, since I’m in the middle of the gluten challenge right now and will never do this again, I wanted to continue consuming gluten to the point to make sure the blood tests are not a false negative - which I did not receive a firm answer for how many weeks total.    My issue is, with these blood tests the doctors say “you are not celiac” and rule it out completely as a potential cause of my issues, when the symptoms scream of it. I want to rule out this 30 year mystery for my own health since I’m in the middle of it right now. Thank you!
    • trents
      I am a male and had developed osteopenia by age 50 which is when I finally got dx with celiac disease. I am sure I had it for at least 13 years before that because it was then I developed idiopathic elevated liver enzymes. I now have a little scoliosis and pronounced kyphosis (upper spine curvature).  All of your symptoms scream of celiac disease, even if the testing you have had done does not. You may be an atypical celiac, meaning the disease is not manifesting itself in your gut but is attacking other body systems. There is such a thing as sero negative celiac disease. But you still have not given me a satisfactory answer to my question of why do you need a differential dx between celiac disease and NCGS when either one would call for complete abstinence from gluten, which you have already been practicing except for short periods when you were undergoing a gluten challenge. Why do you want to put a toxic substance into your body for weeks when, even if it did produce a positive test result for celiac disease, neither you or your doctors would do anything different? Regardless of what doctors are recommending to you, it is your body it is affecting not theirs and they don't seem to have given you any good justification for starting another gluten challenge. Where you live, are doctors kings or something?
    • WildFlower1
      Sorry to put it clearly, at 15, infertility started (tried to word it nicely) meaning menstruation stopped. Which is in correlation to celiac I mean. Thank you. 
×
×
  • Create New...